Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five stars for the Stones, but ...
The Stones are brilliant (even though they aren't really getting *all* the way down through most of it) but I'm frustrated by the filming, which seems pretty clueless as to who/what's worth focussing on. The eye candy gets a woeful overdose of attention - I found I was even closing my eyes at times in order to concentrate on the music, which kind of defeats the purpose...
Published on 12 Jan 2004 by clio

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking the 'I am there' feeling...
Compared to other live-recordings this DVD clearily lacks good surround sound. Yes, it is in Dolby Digital 5.1, but all you are getting from your back-speakers is the audience roaring. Turining your amplifier to Stereo makes it actually sound better... So if you after the ultimate Stones Sound Experience... this is not it!
Published on 4 Oct 2001 by Howki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five stars for the Stones, but ..., 12 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
The Stones are brilliant (even though they aren't really getting *all* the way down through most of it) but I'm frustrated by the filming, which seems pretty clueless as to who/what's worth focussing on. The eye candy gets a woeful overdose of attention - I found I was even closing my eyes at times in order to concentrate on the music, which kind of defeats the purpose of a DVD, doesn't it. Okay okay, Mick sure is something, but I want to see a *lot* more than just the front man.
Apart from that, and apart from the fact that the sound gets weirdly uneven in the last quarter of the disk, it's a fine show, and I'm glad to have it, but there have been much better-done Stones concert films before and since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rolling Stones Keep Rocking Undeterred, 3 Dec 2002
By 
Mr. N. Matera "Sober-Thinker" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Whoever says that the Stones in their Bridges to Babylon are tyred and trite must be suffering from personal problems, are not real music lovers and they're certainly not Stones fans. This concert recorded in St.Louis Missouri, during their 1998 Bridges to Babylon Tour is a masterpiece of technical ability, professionalism and raw rock music at its best. From the moment the star bursts out of the Oval screen with the opening chords of Satisfaction, you know that you're in for an entertating two hours of the highest magnitude. Even the new tracks from the same titled albums sound terrific, from Flip the Switch, a song that is a challenge and an affront to impending death, to Out of Control a fantastic and energetic anthem that shows Mick Jagger as a master of the harmonica and Ronnie Wood as the REAL stones guitarist that he is. For those of you who still argue that Mick Taylor was a better guitarist than Ronnie Wood, I beg you to listen carefully to what Ronnie has added to The Stones music. Sheer quality and drive. Saints of Me, will most certainly be the main track at my funeral, great lyrics, great song...electrifying performance. I could go on detailing every tracks on the DVD, but it would take too many superlatives and too much space to do justice to all of them. The highpoint of the concert is most certainly the masterstroke of having a small stage set up in the middle of the concert arena. This is where the Stones make their true statement of intent. Their absolute love and dedication to Rock 'n' roll. The ability to recreate the excitement of a small club in a huge arena with the focus 100% on the music. This is borne out in the upcoming 40 licks tour when the Stones will be playing small theatres for that more intimate and upfront experience somewhat lacking in big stadiums. The Stones once again confound their critics with a master performance of bravura and passion. Old? Geriatrics' Rock?...The Stones put to shame many young acts of today. Long Live Geriatric Rock. Long Live the Greatest Rock Band of all times. History in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking the 'I am there' feeling..., 4 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Compared to other live-recordings this DVD clearily lacks good surround sound. Yes, it is in Dolby Digital 5.1, but all you are getting from your back-speakers is the audience roaring. Turining your amplifier to Stereo makes it actually sound better... So if you after the ultimate Stones Sound Experience... this is not it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this - get a whole lotta 'Satisfaction'!, 6 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
AS a die-hard Stones fan (even though just 14 years old) I recently went to Twickenham to see them in concert and trust me, they are amazing, they truly lived up to there title as 'the greatest rock n' roll band in the world'.
Ofcourse, not everyone gets to see them live (I was very lucky) so to get the nearest experience to it possible Buy this DVD.
With fantastic camera work, stunning visuals and amazing sound this is ,in my opinion, the greatest live music DVD ever released. Jagger's vocals are excellent, Keith's just as cool as ever (if not cooler) and his playing is superb. Ronnie gives his usual energetic performance and Charlie (whilst still managing to keep a straight face) never misses a beat.
They play all their classics, 'Gimme Shelter' 'Brown Sugar' 'Honky Tonk Women' etc. and they are joined by Dave Matthews for an astounding version of 'Wild Horses'.
They also play some songs from the 'Bridges to Babylon' album including 'Saint of Me' and a larger than life version of 'Out of Control'. Keith does a fantastic version of 'I wanna hold you' from the 'Undercover' album.
The Stones give an umbelievably energetic and exciting performance for their ever increasing age (they were just the same when i saw them on the licks tour), in my opinion they get more and more cool as they get older.
With the best ever live recording of 'Satisfaction' to open up with,
just sit back, turn up the volume and let
the Rolling Stones rock your world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Ms. M. Bakalarz (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I love this band to the bits so I love this dvd too.I watch it almost every day now.The only one thing I miss is the lack of extras but the gig itself is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for dad, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
bought this for my dad cause he was at the gig and only had it on vhs he was very pleased and said was brill so am happy am in the good books for a change :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The masters of rock at their best, 16 Nov 2000
A wonderful record on film of the best rock band to ever exist. The concert was all the years of countless hits coupled with the expertise of the best live performers on the circiut. A must for any Stones fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great antics from Mick Jagger as usual and the band ..., 13 Aug 2014
By 
Dmtembo "Musonda" (Scotland,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Great antics from Mick Jagger as usual and the band are in their element.Good music from the yesteryears...if you are a rock fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A excellent DVD which shows the Stones at their very best, 20 Mar 2001
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Having just purchased this DVD I sat down and enjoyed 2 hours of classic Stones material and with the surround system cranked up high it was as if I was in the audience. Well done lads keep rockin!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lacklustre performance, 26 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this title having worn out my VHS copy of the Voodoo Lounge tour video. And how I wish I'd purchased a second copy of that title instead! No one can deny the quality of the tunes - even the newer tunes - on offer here. The problem is the performance. The band seem seem lifeless, as if bored of playing the tunes for the nth time, though they do seem to come to life a little more on the smaller stage. It really does seem as if the band have lost interest in playing the older songs and are doing so only for the money now. A disappointment.
Of lesser importance than the main feature are the extras. We get a song selection menu...... and that's it. Lazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD]
£20.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews