Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five stars for the Stones, but ...
The Stones are brilliant (even though they aren't really getting *all* the way down through most of it) but I'm frustrated by the filming, which seems pretty clueless as to who/what's worth focussing on. The eye candy gets a woeful overdose of attention - I found I was even closing my eyes at times in order to concentrate on the music, which kind of defeats the purpose...
Published on 12 Jan. 2004 by clio

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking the 'I am there' feeling...
Compared to other live-recordings this DVD clearily lacks good surround sound. Yes, it is in Dolby Digital 5.1, but all you are getting from your back-speakers is the audience roaring. Turining your amplifier to Stereo makes it actually sound better... So if you after the ultimate Stones Sound Experience... this is not it!
Published on 4 Oct. 2001 by Howki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five stars for the Stones, but ..., 12 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
The Stones are brilliant (even though they aren't really getting *all* the way down through most of it) but I'm frustrated by the filming, which seems pretty clueless as to who/what's worth focussing on. The eye candy gets a woeful overdose of attention - I found I was even closing my eyes at times in order to concentrate on the music, which kind of defeats the purpose of a DVD, doesn't it. Okay okay, Mick sure is something, but I want to see a *lot* more than just the front man.
Apart from that, and apart from the fact that the sound gets weirdly uneven in the last quarter of the disk, it's a fine show, and I'm glad to have it, but there have been much better-done Stones concert films before and since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rolling Stones Keep Rocking Undeterred, 3 Dec. 2002
By 
Mr. N. Matera "Sober-Thinker" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Whoever says that the Stones in their Bridges to Babylon are tyred and trite must be suffering from personal problems, are not real music lovers and they're certainly not Stones fans. This concert recorded in St.Louis Missouri, during their 1998 Bridges to Babylon Tour is a masterpiece of technical ability, professionalism and raw rock music at its best. From the moment the star bursts out of the Oval screen with the opening chords of Satisfaction, you know that you're in for an entertating two hours of the highest magnitude. Even the new tracks from the same titled albums sound terrific, from Flip the Switch, a song that is a challenge and an affront to impending death, to Out of Control a fantastic and energetic anthem that shows Mick Jagger as a master of the harmonica and Ronnie Wood as the REAL stones guitarist that he is. For those of you who still argue that Mick Taylor was a better guitarist than Ronnie Wood, I beg you to listen carefully to what Ronnie has added to The Stones music. Sheer quality and drive. Saints of Me, will most certainly be the main track at my funeral, great lyrics, great song...electrifying performance. I could go on detailing every tracks on the DVD, but it would take too many superlatives and too much space to do justice to all of them. The highpoint of the concert is most certainly the masterstroke of having a small stage set up in the middle of the concert arena. This is where the Stones make their true statement of intent. Their absolute love and dedication to Rock 'n' roll. The ability to recreate the excitement of a small club in a huge arena with the focus 100% on the music. This is borne out in the upcoming 40 licks tour when the Stones will be playing small theatres for that more intimate and upfront experience somewhat lacking in big stadiums. The Stones once again confound their critics with a master performance of bravura and passion. Old? Geriatrics' Rock?...The Stones put to shame many young acts of today. Long Live Geriatric Rock. Long Live the Greatest Rock Band of all times. History in the making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking the 'I am there' feeling..., 4 Oct. 2001
By 
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Compared to other live-recordings this DVD clearily lacks good surround sound. Yes, it is in Dolby Digital 5.1, but all you are getting from your back-speakers is the audience roaring. Turining your amplifier to Stereo makes it actually sound better... So if you after the ultimate Stones Sound Experience... this is not it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this - get a whole lotta 'Satisfaction'!, 6 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
AS a die-hard Stones fan (even though just 14 years old) I recently went to Twickenham to see them in concert and trust me, they are amazing, they truly lived up to there title as 'the greatest rock n' roll band in the world'.
Ofcourse, not everyone gets to see them live (I was very lucky) so to get the nearest experience to it possible Buy this DVD.
With fantastic camera work, stunning visuals and amazing sound this is ,in my opinion, the greatest live music DVD ever released. Jagger's vocals are excellent, Keith's just as cool as ever (if not cooler) and his playing is superb. Ronnie gives his usual energetic performance and Charlie (whilst still managing to keep a straight face) never misses a beat.
They play all their classics, 'Gimme Shelter' 'Brown Sugar' 'Honky Tonk Women' etc. and they are joined by Dave Matthews for an astounding version of 'Wild Horses'.
They also play some songs from the 'Bridges to Babylon' album including 'Saint of Me' and a larger than life version of 'Out of Control'. Keith does a fantastic version of 'I wanna hold you' from the 'Undercover' album.
The Stones give an umbelievably energetic and exciting performance for their ever increasing age (they were just the same when i saw them on the licks tour), in my opinion they get more and more cool as they get older.
With the best ever live recording of 'Satisfaction' to open up with,
just sit back, turn up the volume and let
the Rolling Stones rock your world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, classic tour footage with the definitive live version ..., 8 Dec. 2014
By 
JONAH8208 "jonah8208" (St Martins, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant, classic tour footage with the definitive live version of Sympathy for the Devil. Nothing before or since comes close to the quality of this recording. Video is a bit ropey but I didn't buy it to watch I bought it to rip the HD Audio and encode it lossless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The masters of rock at their best, 16 Nov. 2000
A wonderful record on film of the best rock band to ever exist. The concert was all the years of countless hits coupled with the expertise of the best live performers on the circiut. A must for any Stones fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Ms. M. Bakalarz (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I love this band to the bits so I love this dvd too.I watch it almost every day now.The only one thing I miss is the lack of extras but the gig itself is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for dad, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
bought this for my dad cause he was at the gig and only had it on vhs he was very pleased and said was brill so am happy am in the good books for a change :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great antics from Mick Jagger as usual and the band ..., 13 Aug. 2014
By 
Dmtembo "Musonda" (Scotland,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Great antics from Mick Jagger as usual and the band are in their element.Good music from the yesteryears...if you are a rock fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the stones at their best, 13 Feb. 2011
By 
Michelle Storey "jakey" (lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD] (DVD)
i have got Shine a Light, and Biggest Bang. But out of them all this is the best Stones in concert DVD. the sound is great. i have it on with surround sound at full blast, much to the annoyance of my neighbours - along my street! -, Bridges To Babylon is one of my favourite Stones albums, so i love all the tracks on this DVD. I would recommend any Stones fans to buy this DVD, they won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rolling Stones: Bridges To Babylon Tour [DVD]
£20.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews