Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What more could you want?
Moloko's 3rd album is definitely their best yet & perfect to introduce someone to their music. Nearly all the songs are great, with the singles Pure Pleasure Seeker & The Time Is Now standing out. The band have mixed a lot of different styles- Absent Minded Friends sounds like a pop r&b track. Most of the songs are upbeat and dance-ish, with Being Is Bewildering & A Drop...
Published on 9 May 2002 by tom@londonuk.org

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different!
I rediscovered this in my CD collection recently having not listened to it in quite some time. There are a few good tracks on it, namely Pure Pleasure Seeker, Absent Minded Friends, Indigo and Time is Now but generally isn't the most memorable album ever made. If you're a big Moloko fan then it may be worth you purchasing this - but otherwise I'd give it a miss.
Published on 26 Dec. 2009 by The Goose


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Krazy with a 'K', 24 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
I got hold of this album a couple of days ago and it is one of the maddest things I've ever heard. The tunes range from beautiful foot-tappers like "the time is now" to quasi-andrew llyodd webber chanting and general madness. There are some pure 1980s moments but in a strange way they seem really up-to-date. The farty-buzzing noise has been retained from their earlier stuff, which is always nice. On top of all this Roisin's voice is to die for. By the way, if you're more of a fan of 'Sing it Back' and the 'Time is Now' you should check out Roisin's appearance on the Handsome Boy Modelling school "So...How's Your Girl" LP...the tune is called "The Truth" and it's lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Now for something completely different, 7 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
I'm late in discovering how good this band are, their first album is superb with some bluesy rythms and 'original' lyrics, the latest is similar with superb tracks such as the laid back and masterful 'Being is Bewildering', the refreshing 'Pure Pleasure Seeker' and more quality vocals from Roisin in 'Sing it Back'. However, avoid the droaning 'Absent Minded Friends' and definitely dodgy 'Remain the same'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mad but great!, 14 April 2000
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
I bought this on a whim not having been a fan of "Sing It Back" (it annoyed me on holiday!) but it really surprised me. From the moment the sax honked in at the start of "Pure Pleasure Seeker" I was hooked, until the madness that is "If You Have A Cross To Bear..." If you want an album which defies definition, give this a whirl - I did and I love it. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome surprise., 8 May 2000
By 
rachel chambers (Streatham, London Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
Sorry! I am one of those saddos who bought the album purely for its Ibiza-style pop tunes but the rest of the album just adds to the fun of it all. The eclectic choice of tracks keeps you listening/toe tapping throughout and appreciative of the energy in such diversity. So, to those who are dismissive of the pop tunes on this album - loosen up and enjoy yourselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making and doing, 19 July 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
UK dancepop duo Moloko are in fine form in "Things to Make And Do," their third blend of acid jazz and trippy electronica. The talented Roisin Murphy and Mark Brydon create a charmingly erratic dance album that sounds like nothing else, yet never fails to draw you in.

It opens with a peculiar piano solo, before kicking into the sexy sax-keyboard of "Pure Pleasure Seeker," and the ominously trippy "Absent Minded Friends." A darker note enters with songs like "Being Is Bewildering," which is technically a more "normal" song, a slow and rather melancholy song based on acoustic guitar and organ. Same with the lower-key pop song "The Time is Now."

There are also some more experimental songs, such as the nonsensical funk of "Indigo" or the creepy psycho-vocals of "If You Have A Cross To Bear You May As Well Use It As A Crutch." "Remain the Same" is perhaps the most experimental, with the vocal sampling and sound of the organ being overwhelmed and sunk by the electronic bleeps.

In this release, Moloko downplays the outright weirdness in favor of a more subtle sound. Call it experimental ultraquirk acid-jazz-funk-house-trip-hop. That more or less describes it. It's not just a fun album, but a richly engaging one with some deceptively simple-sounding songwriting.

Roisin (no, it doesn't rhyme with "raisin") Murphy has an excellent voice for this type of music -- it sounds clear and flexible, while being strong enough to rise over powerful music that could have overwhelmed her. And she brings depth to certain songs like "Mother," where she lashes out at her mother in a restrained manner: "I know somehow somewhere I'll be bumping into you/you see I'm blameless/I had a mother who was shameless/no wonder my life collapsed!" Elsewhere the songwriting is just deliciously bizarre.

Mark Brydon takes charge of the musical backdrop for Roisin's voice. And a fine job he does too, blending organic instrumentation like piano, acoustic guitar and rippling strings with some vocal sampling and deliciously wacked-out beats, sounding like anything from a DJ on acid to the funkier twin of Portishead.

Erratic it may be, but "Things to Make And Do" is also fun, wild and extremely eclectic, switching styles the way most musicians do instruments. It may not be their best album, but it is a wonderfully engaging, trippy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shut the door, crank up the volume and smile, 15 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
I'm no great music critic but i know what i like and i would be happy to be shut in a dark room with this playing constantly for the rest of my life! 'Mother' 'The Time is Now' and 'Pure Plesure Seekers' are fantastic - spine chilling vocals and fantastic sexy mixed up sounds. Definately and album to buy, wear out and buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A baptism of relief in a sterile pop Britain, 24 Jun. 2000
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
The pure, obsessive need for hi-fidelity perfection and originality glisten with perfectly produced joy from things to make and do, like the 2 proceeding albums Roisin Murphys voice slips between vocal styles, sounding like to many different ppl to mention, whilst retaining a melodic, psychotic, haunting and sexy individual sound of her own.
Moloko utilise the beauty of 100 years of the best music styles and methods, if a god ever eq'd a kit it was for this album and they were having a good day. **Despite sounding like so many things moloko retain their individuality and originality with some vocoder styles and machine and live instrument manipulation so tightly composed I could sob with jealousy.
If you were one of the rare few to enjoy a Chakk track (ten days in an elevator is still one of the few reasons left I have for breaking out mr twirly)- Or you've shifted Y ass to "get off your ass and jam"-funkadelic then there's going to be a few gems from any Moloko album you can put your hands on, Or just get it to play guess the similarities to ppl like Jefferson Airplanes Grace Slick. Grace Jones, Annie Lennox, Madonna/William Orbit.etc forever...a must own, but hey what do I know :)
I expect to be rocking on my Zimmer frame in the next 40 yrs to this album and there's few releases over the past 6 yrs that can carry that can and play it in an intro :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Off kilter catchy modern jazzy pop, 14 April 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
Moloko have come up with with a more accessible side to their quirky first two albums.Don't expect a bunch of pulsating "Sing It Back" clones, this is a vibrant but subtle update on the Moloko sound.Not to every ones taste but i found it is a perfect blend of the future and the past.Wonderful.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just 'cos YOUR bands don't know what experimentation is..., 18 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
If you don't like this, you don't like it. Nothing I can say will change that. What I will say is this:
It's one of the greatest albums ever made by a quirky band who actually experiment. If you want a band you'll like straight away, but get insanely bored of very quickly, search under "Hear'say" or "Westlife" or "Disposable pop".
If you are going to say that you like experimental music, then fine, but don't expect easy listening. I always hate the things I like for the longest. I couldn't bear this CD when I first heard it, but I put it on one day and haven't looked back since. Each song grows and grows and grows.
Good experimental music is different, by its very nature. If you don't have the time to get past the initial "erk!", don't buy this. If, however, you're prepared to put the effort in, Things To Make And Do will pay dividends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beauty, 11 April 2000
By 
M. J. A. Doens (netherlandia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Things To Make And Do (Audio CD)
ok, it's true, you should be warned: it's either great or pretty bad. you have to like it. to me, this album is simply GROOVY, FUNKY and MELLOW. There's a lot of variety & it makes you dance strange. This album has SOUL. It's definitely worth the bucks. Let the summer arrive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Things To Make And Do
Things To Make And Do by Moloko (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews