Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally gripping.
This is one of the most emotionally gripping albums I've ever listened to. This should not be compared to Godspeed as it sounds nothing like them, although there are tape drones and field recordings. The band consists of members from Godspeed: Efrim-piano; Sophie-violin; and Thierry-bass, and together they make an album that fits its title as the music really does bring...
Published on 31 May 2001 by swinnerton@freeuk.com

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moments of beauty amid the ordinary
Bought this as the reviews sounded like the sort of thing I'd like but was dissapointed.
Yes some parts are very good in low key / off key kind of way. But others are uninvolving. In particular the first two tracks are - for me - ruined by an annoying spoken voice sample that runs through them. If the music was consistently as good as the best parts e.g.track 3 this...
Published on 8 Nov 2002 by Lendrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally gripping., 31 May 2001
By 
This review is from: He Has Left Us Alone But Shafts Of Light Sometimes Grace The Corner Of Our Rooms (Audio CD)
This is one of the most emotionally gripping albums I've ever listened to. This should not be compared to Godspeed as it sounds nothing like them, although there are tape drones and field recordings. The band consists of members from Godspeed: Efrim-piano; Sophie-violin; and Thierry-bass, and together they make an album that fits its title as the music really does bring out loneliness and sadness. There are essentially two songs on the album made up of several parts. The second, 'the world is sickSICK (so kiss me quick), which features the last three songs, is unbelievable. '13 angels' is my favourite with a hamonious organ sounding like angels singing, a repetitive bass line, and a violin that swoons over the top in an almost prayer type manner. The singing on, 'movie(never made)', although not brillaint does act in contrast and helps bring a more human quality to their music. If you're into Godspeed, or any other Montreal based band you need this record, you won't regret it. It may take a while to get into because it's a little repetitive, but it's still just as good as anything Godspeed have ever done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 4 Sep 2001
This review is from: He Has Left Us Alone But Shafts Of Light Sometimes Grace The Corner Of Our Rooms (Audio CD)
I stumbled across this whilst looking for some Godspeed You Black Emperor, and decided to have a listen...
At its most basic, it's some of the most gripping music you are ever likely to hear. There's an incredible amount of tension running throughout the CD, and the atmosphere, (although not the sound by any means), is comparable to recent Radiohead material. The sound ~is~ reminiscent of Godspeed, but it's far closer to Do make say think and, somewhat surprisingly, Sigur Ros.
Primarily acoustic, with stunning use of strings and pianos, I don't think you could possibly be genuinely disappointed with this. At worst, you'll find it interesting but slightly long-winded; at best, it will blow your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing stuff, 9 Jan 2004
This review is from: He Has Left Us Alone But Shafts Of Light Sometimes Grace The Corner Of Our Rooms (Audio CD)
For anyone wondering about the content of this album, well, you gotta think that you're venturing on Constellation's territory. Of course, like a million times before, it gets compared to GYBE & I must admit it's getting a little annoying. You want some Godspeed, you buy some Godspeed. Now, if what you are looking for is music that speaks so loud & with such beauty it will make you cry, then I could never recommend any of the Silver Mt Zion enough.
Started as a side project by Efrim (piano, guitars, voice,...), Sophie (violin, voice) & Tierry (bass) from GYBE, they then expanded to a larger ensemble over the following 2 albums, which to me work as one piece (check out Constellation's website if u want to know more).
Of course, this is as remote to pop tunes as you could think. Instead, you get music that comes from pure hearts, tourmented at times, taking you along for a ride you will not forget. This is the kind of record that you'll be happy to have spent some of your life with, & probably still in 20years time. It's completely out of time, achingly beautiful, poetic & sad too. Listen to "13 angels standing gard..." & it will all make sense.
Buy all 3 albums in order & u'll will never regret it.
Simply amazing stuff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally amazing, 26 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: He Has Left Us Alone But Shafts Of Light Sometimes Grace The Corner Of Our Rooms (Audio CD)
This CD is amazing, and easily equals anything godspeed have done. It's not as dynamic as godspeed, but the melodies + general beauty are still there. i too cannot wait to see them in january : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like!, 18 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: He Has Left Us Alone But Shafts Of Light Sometimes Grace The Corner Of Our Rooms (Audio CD)
Bloody marvellous. Some of the best music I have heard this year, along with "Lift your Skinny Fists..." by Godspeed You Black Emperor!, there is some very god music coming out of canada these days, those two bands are the best of the lot from what I can see. I can't wait to see A Silver mt. Zion in January.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We are all different, some more tha others., 21 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not an album for everybody, but it is an album for me and for many others as well. Having worked my way through Can, Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk and the like over the years, this album sits very nicely in that mode, not that they are comparable as such, but there is a feeling about them, a sense of them, that allows them sit quite comfortably together in my record collection. Can I reccomend it, no, do I think you should get yourself a copy, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars atmosphere!, 27 Nov 2012
I thought the older work or Godspeed You Black Emperor! was good but I must say that A Silver Mt Zion has surpassed them in terms of atmosphere. You can clearly here that this is the work of some GYBE! members but it is different, darker in a way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing cd., 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: He Has Left Us Alone But Shafts Of Light Sometimes Grace The Corner Of Our Rooms (Audio CD)
I love the dark ambiance and sounds scapes from this Godspeed you black emperor side project. Brilliant album and a must have for someone who wants something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Silver Mnt Zion-Vinyl, 8 Nov 2011
This is their debut album. The whole album is dominated by an experimental mood, no lyrics ,just instrumental parts. Great compositions in duration, intense melancholy, silver mount zion lament the loss. Two songs in each side, more than 20 minutes each one. First side "Lonely as the Sound of Lying on the Ground of an Airplane Going Down" is a slow song that starts with piano,in the main theme stars the violin with a melody that is repeated in the rest of the song.Stately melody... nice. Second side with the nice title "The World Is SickSICK; (So Kiss Me Quick)!" is a too experimental song...Listen to that several times, and later maybe it will be unterstood...Hopelessness... In that song we found a few lyrics...!!!!
Not their best album, but here you can find some melodys that they used in their next albums.In my opinion, better start with an "easier" album(Horses in the sky), but if you are a fun, you know what to expect, and don't think it twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hard work!, 23 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: He Has Left Us Alone But Shafts Of Light Sometimes Grace The Corner Of Our Rooms (Audio CD)
This album, like all SMZ stuff, is hard work to listen to, inaccessible, jarring and the vocals are, basically, poor. HOWEVER, if you make the effort, you will start to connect with the intense emotional energy with which the music has been created, and the experience is a rewarding one. It's as if the artists deliberately make it this way to prevent anyone gaining enjoyment from a casual listen. Think of it as "anti-pop".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews