Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Town - the movie
On the Town - the movie

This is a story of three sailors (Gene Kelly, Frank Sinatra and Jules Munchin) and their escapades while on shore leave for 24 hours in New York - a much worked Hollywood theme! It was originally a Broadway hit with music by Leonard Bernstein and lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green, itself a reworking of a Jerome Robbins ballet...
Published on 22 Dec 2009 by Dr. H. A. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD
Hopefully it is OK but bought for a present and not yet seen. slightly concerned there was a lot of what looks like Chinese writing on it and although it says all regions, just hope that it is viewable.
Published 12 months ago by Anyay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On the Town - the movie, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
On the Town - the movie

This is a story of three sailors (Gene Kelly, Frank Sinatra and Jules Munchin) and their escapades while on shore leave for 24 hours in New York - a much worked Hollywood theme! It was originally a Broadway hit with music by Leonard Bernstein and lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green, itself a reworking of a Jerome Robbins ballet called Fancy Free. Gene Kelly directed and choreographed the film with Stanley Donen. Some of the Bernstein tunes were dropped in the film to be replaced by others composed by Roger Edens, Conrad Salinger and Lennie Hayton. But the rousing opening number, `New York, New York, It's a wonderful town' was retained as were some of the ballet sequences. In fact, the whole film was very balletic, which reflects its origins. The girls after whom the sailors chased were Vera-Ellen (`Miss Turnstiles'), Ann Miller (an anthropologist, would you believe), and Betty Garrett (as a lady cab driver). Though the storyline is somewhat overworked, the film as a whole is thoroughly entertaining for most of its 98 minutes. It was released in 1949 and is in Technicolor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more!, 11 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: On The Town [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Forget 'Singing in the Rain' for one moment and see Kelly and Sinatra at their freshest. Location filming for a musical for the first time blends fiction with reality and songs that will make you wonder why they don't make films like this any more. A Perfect cast in a perfect musical. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRANKIE, 25 Aug 2004
This review is from: On The Town [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I love this movie! frank and Gene are a great combo! Great songs, great stars and great story!! Buy it! I also recommend Take Me Out To The Ball Game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A complete musical triumph. The undoubted highlight for me is the reunion of top of the Empire State and the climax of New York, New York. The bursting out of the elevator at ground level is one of the greatest climaxes of any musical I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She loved the film, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for mum. She loved the film .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gift so Just OK for me, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie was actually a gift for someone so was ok for me as It was not actually for me. However, I have seen the film and it is one of the classic films that we no longer see on TV or around these days, hence the import version. Still a good film to while away a wet afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Check your rergion, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Town [DVD] [1949] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This DVD was unplayable as it was the wrong region. This was not clear for the non-technical of us - Very Disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for Christmas, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On The Town [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
I've always loved this film and bought it as a film that all the family can watch over Christmas - including 96 year old mother and 6 year old, tap-dancing mad, grandson. Very quick delivery and well packaged. Can't wait to all sit down and watch it on Christmas Eve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hopefully it is OK but bought for a present and not yet seen. slightly concerned there was a lot of what looks like Chinese writing on it and although it says all regions, just hope that it is viewable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was very hard to find this dvd but when I eventually got it through i have played it about 5 times just love my musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Town [DVD] [1949] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £1.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews