Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Blu-Ray
There a million reviewers out there who can do more justice to reviewing the film itself than I can, suffice to say that for me it is a superb film, and this is the consensus among most people that see it. I want to use this review to point out what a great Blu-Ray this is. As usual Warner Bros. has upgraded to Blu-Ray with love and attention to detail. First of all...
Published 21 months ago by heavy_t

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray is no better than my Dvd.
I bought this thinking they would have done some work in the transfer to bluray but i am very disappointed, no work on it at all it just looks the same as my region 1 dvd when played in my bluray player and the sound is DTS just the same as my dvd so that does not sound any better either. infact my dvd seems to show the colours more brighter than the bluray so all in all...
Published 20 months ago by Atomspheres


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie of many levels, 11 May 2008
By 
Egor (Australia) - See all my reviews
Though this movie is from our past it portrays two possible futures. The civilisation that explores or the civilisation that fails through its own folly. This is a great film, nostalgic because it was made when it seemed we were destined to become that exploring civilisation. If you have ever wondered why project SETI has been unsuccessful then think about Ankor Wat, the Mayans, Babylon and the Krell. The film "Solyent Green" now seems prophetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie and excellent Blu-Ray transfer, 24 Jan 2011
By 
El Fanegas (Reus, Tarragona Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If only all the Blu-Ray transfers were done with this care and professionality.
I was quite surprised when i tested this movie on my player. It looks beautifully restored. Colours, sounds, all in great quality. For moments it doesn't look like it was released in 1956 at all. It's surprisingly good.
A great transfer for a great movie. One Sci-Fi Masterpiece, the foundation of more than one sci-fi production in years to come. It doesn't look strange that the crew of the Earth Ship looks a lot like the Federation crew of Star Trek. Forbidden Planet it's source of inspiration for years to come. And it also has Robbie the Robot, a very nice character.
The extra content is quite entertaining, and on quantity. Documentaries about the '50s Sci-fi movie-making style, deleted scenes, production documentaries, even a TV episode and a 1957 "sequel" featuring Robbie is included too.
In all, a great Blu-Ray for a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Planet, 10 Feb 2011
I have been waiting a long time to get this on Blu-ray all i can say its absolutly fantastic worth every penny and more ,the picture is crystel clear and top sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic SiFi, 4 Dec 2013
By 
JTG (San Jose, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A pretty good transfer of the standard print run length. Only the usual extras, but most people are only really interested in the Classic film itself. I don't know how old I was when I first saw this film but it remains a favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great classic movie, 24 Nov 2013
By 
b. hibbins (Canberra, Act Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
been looking for this movie on bluray as its one that i loved
for awhile as robbie is a wonder of the age.
its a classic movie not to be over looked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lovely HD so aslong as you know how to watch a Blu Ray film on good equipment you wont go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old, but classic, 13 Feb 2011
By 
AJR "cynical" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film was made before I was born. I think I first saw it on TV, but it wasn't until DVD that I saw it in wide-screen.

It is amusing to see Leslie Nielsen as the handsome young starship captain (not unlike Captain Kirk). Walter Pidgeon makes a superb tortured genius Morbius.

The special effects are primitive, but you have to expect that in a movie made this long ago.

This is the first movie to feature Robbie the Robot. He was so popular that he appeared in other films, and they included one of them on this disc - that's cool.

Make sure you pay attention to the prologue - it's amusing to see when they think we got to the Moon...

This is an example of classic science fiction. See this one so you understand all the references to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC!, 25 Jan 2011
This is my favorite 50s sci-fi flick. Nothing beats it. If you have never seen this, SEE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Planet DVD, 14 Jan 2011
Has to be the best Sci~Fi film pre Star Trek. No guessing where ST special effects originated. Great Story,Dramatic Effects. [ Who wouldn't like a Robbie Robot around the house ]. Buy it....great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Planet, 6 Dec 2010
By 
Goth Girl (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
Another all time classic scifi that is still great today as it ever was!
A must see for all those scifi buffs out there!The effects,for the day,very inspiring.Up there with The War of The Worlds(George Pal 1956).
Alchemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forbidden Planet [DVD] [1956] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
22.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews