Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you actually get?
What the item description and the other reviews missed is a complete list of what you get content wise, so here goes :

The complete series, remastered from the video release.

Director's cut version of episodes 21,22,23,24.

A colour booklet.

You don't get the alternate ending contained in "End of Evangelion". So for the whole...
Published on 11 Mar 2007 by akmdw

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as i hoped
After a very positive review I rented the first 4 episodes. Although the animation was good, it wasn't great. The story line was very week and jumped along leaving me feeling that I had missed bits. You got no real feeling for the characters as the dialog was poor with little feeling behind the voice over, may have lost alot in translation.
But for manga fans it...
Published on 16 Jan 2006 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What do you actually get?, 11 Mar 2007
What the item description and the other reviews missed is a complete list of what you get content wise, so here goes :

The complete series, remastered from the video release.

Director's cut version of episodes 21,22,23,24.

A colour booklet.

You don't get the alternate ending contained in "End of Evangelion". So for the whole actual complete story, get this and "End of Evangelion".

And for those of you confused about the movies :

Death & Rebirth - Death is an hour long recap of the series, while Rebirth is alternate episode 25.

End of Evangelion - Alternate episodes 25 and 26 in movie format.

Revival of Evangelion - Contains Death (true 2), which is the 2nd edited version of Death, and End of Evangelion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series has never looked better!, 28 Nov 2006
The "Premium Collection" is a single metal box containing all DVD discs of the Platinum version of the Evangelion series. Now, I'll be honest - it's a simple affair containing a small folded package (DVDs clipped on) and a slip leaflet with information on the series. But who cares? That's not why you want to buy it! Let's talk about the DVDs!

And our top story today is that the platinum version is honestly worth it! The discs loads up very quickly and have a simple layout, allowing fast access to the episodes (audio is a selection of English dub or Japanese & subtitles). There is a modest amount of extras, but again you're not buying the box for that! The "re-mastering" was absolutely fantastic. There are absolutely no visual blemishes, the overall impression being that the anime could have been produced much later than it really was. The audio is crisp and clear, allowing you to hear distinct sounds which previously were indistinct or inaudible.

So, in short this is an excellent buy - your favourite anime as it should have been released on DVD years ago, at great value. As someone who enjoyed Evangelion without these enhancements, I can honestly say I do not regret buying the updated DVD set at all. And I cannot believe you would regret it either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 20 Aug 2003
By 
Ed (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Neon Genesis Evangelion: Collection 0.1, Episodes 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say that countless others have said before? Not much really, because Neon Genesis Evangelion is amazing, magnificent, awe-inspiring. But then you probably knew this already. I'm more or less an anime novice and have used the internet to sample episodes before I buy them on DVD and the very first episode of Evangelion sold me hook line and sinker. Never have I seen such a confident, impressive, twenty-five minutes of animation - and that was the first episode? So now as I begin my Evangelion DVD collection, here are my thoughts on the four episodes contained on this disc.
1. Angel Attack
Wow. What an amazing episode! Angel Attack will convert the unconverted in a second. Funny, dramatic, intense...there aren't enough adjectives to describe how good this episode is. It introduces us to the main character Shinji Ikari and NERV, all introduced with confidence. I especially like Misato. Great stuff all round.
2. The Beast
As good as, if not better than Angel Attack and boasting an absolutely stunning Eva/Angel fight that will leave your jaw hanging open in amazement. There's a lot of character development in this one, and it doesn't disappoint once. The beer in Misato's fridge is great!
3. A Transfer
More of an angsty episode, but that's no bad thing as Shinji goes back to school and gets beaten up. We meet more characters in this and see just how unstable Shinji actually is in the climatic Angel fight. The Angel is slightly disappointing, but don't let that detract from the awesome action scene as Shinji goes beserk in Eva 01 with Toji and Kensuke inside with him! An excellent episode by all means.
4. The Hedgehog's Dilemma
A much more quiet and subdued episode that focues mainly on Shinji. No action, but that hardly matters because this introspective piece is really very good indeed and the perfect counter-point to the three that proceeded it.
As excellent as these four episodes are, the DVD transfer isn't terribly good. The picture jumps at each cut, but this calms down and isn't really noticeable, so don't let that put you off buying this DVD because by episode eight it's totally gone. The picture quality and sound are great though. Yes, the extras are rubbish but it should be the episode you're buying this for.
A most worthwhile purchase all in all. Neon Genesis Evangelion Collection 1 is definately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great DVD with some minor niggles., 2 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Neon Genesis Evangelion: Collection 0.1, Episodes 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
So what do you get for your money ?
Well for a start episodes 1 - 4 of the excellent series Neon Genesis Evangelion. Specifically "Angel Attack", "The Beast", "A transfer" and "Hedgehog's Dilemma".
The series can be summed up as "young boy must use big robot to destroy big aliens". However this is really really unfair. Big robots fighting each other does play a part in the same way war plays a part in a film like Saving Private Ryan or Band of Brothers. Yes its there and plays a part but it is only a fraction of the story. The episodes on the disk are character driven focusing around Shinji Ikari, the main character.
The video can only be viewed in 4:3 i.e. not wide screen and the soundtracks are Dolby Digital Stereo only so no surround sound. However since this was originally a T.V. show this is understandable but I would have preferred the option of surround sound. You do get a choice of soundtrack though either English, Spanish or Japanese. There are optional English subtitles.
The episodes themselves serve as a nice introduction to the series with almost all the main characters introduced and some of the major plot themes started. If you are unfamiliar with the series its helpful to see these early episodes as the plot does get quite sophisticated later on. If you are familiar with the story then you might skip this one as a lot of introductions happen however there is a lot of other things going on that make it worthwhile if you have not seen it.
All the episodes on the disk are nicely drawn and the voice acting, in English, is good and gets better.
The disk also contains a few extras. A sort of postcard with an advert on the back is included in the box. On the disk there is character bios section with 6 entries. A bunch of trailers for "Sin : The Movie", "Samurai X", "Gasaraki" and "Martian Successor Nadesico". It also includes the opening and closing credits without subtitles. Once you have flicked though theses once you probably will never look at them again.
On the whole I give Evangelion 5 stars despite the poor extras and limited video an audio. If you have a home cinema setup you might want to take off a star for this but what you do get is great and more than makes up for these minor niggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great DVD with a few minor niggles., 2 Feb 2003
This review is from: Neon Genesis Evangelion: Collection 0.1, Episodes 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
So what do you get for your money ?
Well for a start episodes 1 - 4 of the excellent series Neon Genesis Evangelion. Specifically "Angel Attack", "The Beast", "A transfer" and "Hedgehog's Dilemma".
The series can be summed up as "young boy must use big robot to destroy big aliens". However this is really really unfair. Big robots fighting each other does play a part in the same way war plays a part in a film like Saving Private Ryan or Band of Brothers. Yes its there and plays a part but it is only a fraction of the story. The episodes on the disk are character driven focusing around Shinji Ikari, the main character.
The video can only be viewed in 4:3 i.e. not wide screen and the soundtracks are Dolby Digital Stereo only so no surround sound. However since this was originally a T.V. show this is understandable but I would have preferred the option of surround sound. You do get a choice of soundtrack though either English, Spanish or Japanese. There are optional English subtitles.
The episodes themselves serve as a nice introduction to the series with almost all the main characters introduced and some of the major plot themes started. If you are unfamiliar with the series its helpful to see these early episodes as the plot does get quite sophisticated later on. If you are familiar with the story then you might skip this one as a lot of introductions happen however there is a lot of other things going on that make it worthwhile if you have not seen it.
All the episodes on the disk are nicely drawn and the voice acting, in English, is good and gets better.
The disk also contains a few extras. A sort of postcard with an advert on the back is included in the box. On the disk there is character bios section with 6 entries. A bunch of trailers for "Sin : The Movie", "Samurai X", "Gasaraki" and "Martian Successor Nadesico". It also includes the opening and closing credits without subtitles. Once you have flicked though theses once you probably will never look at them again.
On the whole I give Evangelion 5 stars despite the poor extras and limited video an audio. If you have a home cinema setup you might want to take off a star for this but what you do get is great and more than makes up for these minor niggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start of something beautiful., 9 Mar 2003
This review is from: Neon Genesis Evangelion: Collection 0.1, Episodes 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD contains the first four episodes of Neon Genesis Evangelion, in my opinion the best Anime series to ever come out of Japan. The episodes are Angel Attack, Unfamiliar Ceiling/The Beast, A Transfer: The Phone That Never Rings and Rain, Escape And Afterwards/The Hedgehogs Delimma.
These opening episodes introduce usa to the world of EVA. The story is set in the year 2015AD. Mankind is under threat from the Angels, mammoth creatures posessing both incredible combat power and impenetrable defences. They can only be stopped by the Evangelions massive weapons that must be piloted by young children. In these opening episodes we are introduced to Shinji Ikari, the young pilot of EVA Unit-1, as he is foced into his first battle with an Angel.
These first episodes are much lighter in tone than the rest of the series as there are comic moments in the second and third episodes.
To the people who have never seen anime I say this, Buy It Now! You will not regret this decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing, 9 Aug 2004
This review is from: Neon Genesis Evangelion: Collection 0.1, Episodes 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Over the last year I have become enthralled by anime. It all started when I watched the animatrix which acted as a great introduction to the possibilities of animation. I then watched Ghost in the Shell which utterly blew me away. (In my opinion, the best anime FILM so far).
After subsequently experiencing the likes of Perfect Blue, Akira, Ninja Scroll and Metropolis to name but a few, I finally took the leap into Neon Genesis Evangelion.
Wow.........
At the time of writing this review, it is 4 days since I finished the series and the film End of Evangelion and I am still obsessed with coming to a conclusion as to how I should interpret the meaning of the work. OK, so I am a sci-fi fan and have a passion for innovative cinema; however, I cannot remember watching a film / TV series that has had such a profound effect within me. I wish I could convey to you how the enthralled I was by the series and the subsequent film End of Evangelion. Maybe it is simply that I have just experienced a film and TV series that is so completely unique within a medium that has become so boring and formulaic. On the other hand, maybe Neon Genesis is a piece of art that has evoked thoughts and emotions within me that have lain dormant for some time? I really don't know. Describing NGE as art is very controversial, Auteur theory and all that, but in terms of making you think and interpret meaning, similarities can certainly be drawn.
If you are curious about Neon Genesis, let me just say three things to help when you watch.
Firstly, the first half of the series is very infantile at times and titillating in a very puerile sense. Stick with it though, because by the end, the depth, passion and intellect that was employed within Neon Genesis will help you to understand why and make up for any early dissatisfaction.
Secondly, don't be taken in by those who dismiss the last two episodes. They are without a doubt the episodes that catapulted NGE into greatness. Furthermore, don't give credence to the theory that the animation style changes purely because of financial constraints, every frame of the last two episodes was created with purpose and meaning.
Thirdly, watch the series before the film End of Evangelion.
Lastly, NGE is not for most tastes; however, if you enjoy thought provoking sci-fi and appreciate the unique use and purposeful distortion of film, you may just find NGE to be as awesome as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing thing i have ever experienced!!!, 4 Jan 2007
By 
M. Phillips (Poole, Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Neon Genesis Evangelion is with out doubt the best anime i have ever seen and i have seen quite a few and have a pretty big collection myself. Not only is it the best anime, it's the best thing i have ever witnessed on any kind of screen. It is quite simply the most jaw-droppingly, thought-provoking, emotionally evocative visual experience of my life to date. I am writing this review having finished watching Neon Genesis Evangelion 2 days ago. I would have written this review earlier, but i have only just snapped out of my dazed confusion!

It starts out better than any other mecha anime i have seen, with really decent action scenes and some of the coolest looking characters in anime, in the Evangelions themselves. As the human characters are introduced and their personalities become apparent, the series evolves into a delicate emotional drama showcasing the social interplay between the troubled teen pilots and their guardians, friends and co workers. Towards the end of the series, you see the relationships of the main characters develop, as well as the intensely complex plotlines, before your psyche is thrown into a huge philosophical dilemma, which ultimately leaves you questioning your own reasons for living and why in fact you are alive at all!

If you thought Evangelion was only about giant robots fighting impossibly weird alien monsters, you were wrong! Watch it from the beginning to the very end! The last 2 episodes will blow your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Anime, 19 Jan 2003
This review is from: Neon Genesis Evangelion: Collection 0.1, Episodes 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! that is what best describes one of the most exiting and stimulating tv series ever. The story begins in 2015, 15 years after the world's population is wiped out by an explosion, causing the polar ice caps to melt. And to top that off, the survivors are under attack by mysterious beings known as the Angels. This DVD includes the first four episodes of the series, where a youny boy by the name of Shinji is recruited to pilot a large robotic lifeform called an Evangelion, which is the only thing capable of defending against the Angels.
The premise of the series seems quite simple if you haven't seen it before, but as you get deeper into the story and the characters develop more you will find that the series begins to deal with major philisophical, religious and pshycological issues relating to the future of humanity and Shinji's destiny as an Eva pilot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hideaki Anno's masterpiece, 25 Jan 2003
This review is from: Neon Genesis Evangelion: Collection 0.1, Episodes 1-4 [DVD] (DVD)
For anime fans who will have watched Gunbuster by the same studio Gainax, there's little I need to explain, Evangelion is an anime in much the same vein, except that it carries a more sombre and profound tone.
Like many mecha animes of the past, it's the end of world and man must battle to survive. However, this series carries a twist, that made Gunbuster such compelling viewing. What if your enemies appeared to be the morally superior beings? This places man in position that the Japanese faced in the pacific war. Anno had been taking a break from anime for a while when he spent time delving into Jungian pyschology and formulating this work. What the audience gets is what was in Gunbuster but with less bravado and more focus on the dilemas of the what man can do given the will to survive. And who is it that is more dangerous, the angels (whose names are correctly lifted from the dead sea scrolls -a group of people led by an apostle who believed the world was going to end and prophecised it in the scrolls found in the desert) or the humans?
Ignore all the imitating filth that followed this groundbreaking series and see why this is now the second most well known anime after Akira. For anyone who thinks that cartoons have a right to be intelligent and thought provoking and not just episodes of asurd unwitty humour. Oh and theres plently of fan service ^.^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neon Genesis Evangelion: Collection 0.1, Episodes 1-4 [DVD]
Used & New from: £6.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews