Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting action with traditional Chinese overtones
As always Jet Li displays a tremendous amount of grace and precision in all his fantastic martial arts fight sequences. Although the action is mainly traditional and he is dressed in a bird outfit at one point - the film still delivers an awesome closing fight scene. There are various styles of fighting, bird, centipede and shaolin - but the film is worth watching alone...
Published on 6 April 2001

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Legend
This film demonstrates fantastic martial arts skills and has a quite good story line. The synopsis says he has to fight for his honour and this doesn't become apparent in the final battle. He fights alone, the cover of the dvd may give the impression he fights in an army. The cause for the final battle isn't as heroic as the synopsis claims. The film has english subtitles...
Published on 24 April 2005 by J. L. Carr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 24 April 2005
By 
J. L. Carr "Jim La" (Nr Oswestry, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Hero In China [DVD] (DVD)
This film demonstrates fantastic martial arts skills and has a quite good story line. The synopsis says he has to fight for his honour and this doesn't become apparent in the final battle. He fights alone, the cover of the dvd may give the impression he fights in an army. The cause for the final battle isn't as heroic as the synopsis claims. The film has english subtitles which in my opinion can often be frustrating but creates a more realistic martial feel to the film. This is good fun to watch although it isn't Jet Li's best film. That in my opinion has to be Twin Warriors with Michelle Yeoh. Good but not brilliant, should be bought at a cheap price. SN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting action with traditional Chinese overtones, 6 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Hero In China [DVD] (DVD)
As always Jet Li displays a tremendous amount of grace and precision in all his fantastic martial arts fight sequences. Although the action is mainly traditional and he is dressed in a bird outfit at one point - the film still delivers an awesome closing fight scene. There are various styles of fighting, bird, centipede and shaolin - but the film is worth watching alone for the finale. Reminiscent of the old chinese movies / styles this film is very enjoyable and comical at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jet Li masterful, 26 Jun 2011
This review is from: Last Hero In China [DVD] (DVD)
Jet Li brings all his skills to bear in this highly entertaining finale of the Wong Fei Hung series of films. if you suspend belief in Li dressed as a chicken fighting a plastic centipede and just enjoy the ride of what is a very under-rated Jet Li movie.
Li plays the hero brilliantly and is ably assisted by an great cast all whom play their part with tongue very much in cheek. From the ladies of the brothel to the wonderful end fight Last Hero in China is a well made film with humor wonderfully mixed with the straight laced Wong Fei Hung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chickens...........centipedes......??, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Hero In China [DVD] (DVD)
I'd have enjoyed this more if I could have read the subtitles which were mostly white text on a white back ground and whizzed off the screen as quickly as they appeared.

Something about Jet Li being defeated by an irritating, constantly cackling pantomime style villain, a flying lampshade that snatches women with a metal claw, for some purpose which escaped me, lots of wire work and impossible leaps,a silly sidekick with goofy teeth and a whole rack of gums and humour which, I must admit, did make me laugh at some points along the way.

Good job it was only a few pence, so I don't feel that I've wasted my money. And why was the trailer on the disc dubbed into English, but not the feature?

I like Jet Li, (hence the 3 stars) but this was a struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. J. P. Hoar (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Hero In China [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say that if you like Jet Li you'll love this, the Jet Li collection DVD is in very good quality and the subtitles are easy to read. This is part of the Once upon a time in China series which is mostly great and this is kind of like a spin off to that series. I really enjoyed this film, the story involves a corrupt evil goverment who keep woman hostage and sell them as prostitutes, Wong Fei-hung and his Kung fu protégés take on this goverment, Hung is originally defeated by people dressed as a centipede when he loses his hearing but he later recovers it. In the end he defeats the main villain dressed as a chicken, this happens because earlier in the film he sees chickens killing a centipede, despite the silliness of it, the end fight is very entertaining as Hung gets drunk and fights the villain. Overall I found the film to have a perfect blend of humour and seriousness and it really worked on the whole, this film deserves nicer reviews, hats off to Jet and the rest of the crew, good film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality! Some of the best fight scenes, 14 Oct 2000
By 
Ann Cody (Prestatyn, Denbighshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is one of the most exciting films i have been lucky enough to have seen. Brilliant fighting from the high flying master JET LI. This film takes quite some time to get going and the story line trails into the realms of weird. this is even though still up there as one of his best performances, but if you like jet li go for Tai Chi master or one of the Once upon a time in china's there are far better. All in all just Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent. good quality and fast delivery, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Hero In China [DVD] (DVD)
excellent.good quality and fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Hero in China [DVD] (DVD)
fantastic and very very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Last Hero In China [DVD] (DVD)
Good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Hero In China [DVD]
The Last Hero In China [DVD] by Woo-ping Yuen (DVD - 2000)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews