Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
This film has, as of August 2012, been voted the best film of all time by the British Film Institute's Sight and Sound magazine in its 10 yearly poll where a panel of distributors, critics and academics vote. This is the first time in 50 years when this honours has not been bestowed on Citizen Kane.

James Stewart was one of those rare Hollywood stars who...
Published on 2 Aug. 2012 by Numinous Ugo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing happens till about 10 mins at the end.
Dull.very slow,don't waste your time,i can see why it bombed at the box office.If this was any other director it would have been forgotten years ago.
Best movie of all time???come on.
Published 11 days ago by Mj


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
Excellent just what I wanted. A great price and fast shipping form an excellent seller. Highly recommended A +++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!, 16 Dec. 2013
One of the finest films ever made and made me happy when I watched it in Blu ray. Defiantly worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking for this film for a long time. Very good purchase. Matched perfectly my expectations. Arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent item and fast delivery. This film just as good now as year if production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting a brand new wrapped copy! Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING....., 24 July 2012
By 
Onibaba (Planet Earth... Somewhere between north & south.) - See all my reviews
I'm in my 40's and have seen all manner of films including a few hitchcocks,
I have been aware of Vertigo forever but never got round to seeing it.
It was recently on tv and shown in HD on ITV1 HD
Myself and wife have just seen it.
I Was commenting all through on how amazing the backdrops looked and how well they framed the film, how gorgeous the colour looked and how clean, clear and sharp it looked for an old movie.
The acting, story and direction were superb.
(Most films i just watch from beginning to end, say "That was ok" and then move on. But this movie really is something quite special.
I immediately decided that i had to have it on Blu-Ray so jumped online to buy it to find it not released yet.
(How can this be shown in HD on tv before it's available on disc ?)
I've signed up to be told when it's available. when it is, I'll grab a copy,
I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising, hypnotic!!, 7 Dec. 2002
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
This movie works on so many levels, right down to the clever choices of colours for the actors costumes. Hitchcock created a tour de force showcase for Jimmy Stewart (only Rope ranks has a better performance) and the simply beautiful beyond words Kim Novak. The pace is mesmerising, slowly drawing you deeper and deeper into the complex study of man and fears and his obsessions.
Just does not get any better than this! You might also check out Bell, Book and Candle which teams Stewart and Novak (even more beautiful then) in another charming tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the masterpiece it's made out to be, 15 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
A cult film, this, and its many adoring fans will find criticism of it repugnant and blasphemous. Nevertheless there are flaws. First, as Hitchcock himself ruefully acknowledged, James Stewart was a trifle too old for the part of hero. Greying and slightly jowly and 50 years old when the film was made, he makes an unlikely suitor for the charms of the mainly cold and expressionless Kim Novak - how Hitch loved statuesque wooden blondes! Confined for much of the time behind the wheel of his car, he resorts to pulling faces - of astonishment, frustration, disbelief and infatuation - but there's a limit to which face-pulling can be regarded as a substitute for acting. Not one of his better roles, to put it mildly. Then there's the plot, which is far-fetched almost beyond belief. By the time the denouement comes along, one has grown tired of the increasingly unlikely intricacies, and the ending itself must be one of the weakest ever devised by Hitchcock. There are some absolutely wonderful moments, especially in the first quarter of the film, where the cinematography in all kinds of subtle ways brilliantly conveys the notion of vertigo. Moreover the restoration of the print has been excellently done, and at times it is very difficult to believe that this film is 50 years old. But Vertigo is not the masterpiece that it is often made out to be. I myself prefer Rear Window and North by Northwest (in which Cary Grant, older than James Stewart, nevertheless reveals a vigour and athleticism that makes him seem far younger than his years). When it came out, Vertigo was a resounding flop at the box office, and I think I can see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vertigo [DVD]
Vertigo [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2005)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews