Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu ray
A great blu ray of a classics film ,story is evident to all with half an interest in films so will not review the film. Packed with extras Vertigo boasts an impressive 1080p/VC-1 encoded video .The results are terrific -- for the most part -- and there are only a few troubling shots that detract from the overall presentation, Colors are quite striking, fleshtones are...
Published 12 months ago by DJ

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Badly "restored".
It has been restored so badly that it actually looks photoshopped (badly) in some places.
I love this movie, but will not watch it again until I can get an unrestored copy.
Published 2 months ago by MorganScorpion


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vertigo DVD, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was in good condition but the box advertised more features than were actually on the DVD; in the wrong box?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING....., 24 July 2012
By 
Onibaba (Planet Earth... Somewhere between north & south.) - See all my reviews
I'm in my 40's and have seen all manner of films including a few hitchcocks,
I have been aware of Vertigo forever but never got round to seeing it.
It was recently on tv and shown in HD on ITV1 HD
Myself and wife have just seen it.
I Was commenting all through on how amazing the backdrops looked and how well they framed the film, how gorgeous the colour looked and how clean, clear and sharp it looked for an old movie.
The acting, story and direction were superb.
(Most films i just watch from beginning to end, say "That was ok" and then move on. But this movie really is something quite special.
I immediately decided that i had to have it on Blu-Ray so jumped online to buy it to find it not released yet.
(How can this be shown in HD on tv before it's available on disc ?)
I've signed up to be told when it's available. when it is, I'll grab a copy,
I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NlOT SO GREAT NOW, 4 April 2014
By 
A. Cooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dated very badly and only watchable for the gorgeous Kim Novak, so sllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllow with badly dated rear projection and what dialogue there is sppears very stilted. Unlike CITIZEN KANE (which can still be admired) this movie just fails to involve the viewer (this one anyway)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS is a masterpiece? (Beware spoilers), 17 Aug 2007
By 
Dennis Littrell (SoCal) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
Vertigo is considered one of the greatest films ever made and celebrated as Hitchcock's masterpiece. Perhaps it is. But I found myself bored as I watched it even though I had to admire the artistic intent. There are so many holes in the film it could qualify as cheesy. However, try telling that to those who love it. I think they love it as much for its flaws as for its perfections.

Perfections: the feel of the San Francisco Bay area, the sense of historical California, the great beauty of the ocean framed by Monterey cypresses, the redwoods, the Golden Gate Bridge as seen from below and off to the side, the Bautista Mission, the fifties interior decor, Madeleine's costumes, the angle of Scottie's fedora, the acting by the three stars, James Stewart, Kim Novak, and Barbara Bel Geddes. The musical score by Bernard Herrmann is also celebrated, but I found it a bit overbearing at times, and of course Hitchcock loved using music to direct our sensitivities, and one can tire of that.

Flaws:

Scottie hanging from the drainpipe railing, watching the cop trying to save him fly over to land several stories down, dead. What is not explained is how the cop was expected to pull him up with nothing to hold onto or how Scottie managed to survive. Apparently he fell but only broke his back because in the next scene he is in surgical corset unable to scratch certain itches.

The ersatz psychology. It was the fifties and psychoanalytic psychology was all the rage. One of the bestsellers of the day was The Fifty-Minute Hour: A Collection of True Psychoanalytic Tales by Robert Lindner in which a shrink relates tales told by his patients. Hitchcock loved this sort of thing (cf., Spellbound (1945) with Gregory Peck and Ingrid Bergman). Audiences also loved it. But the psychology is strictly bananas.

Driving on the wrong side of the road (about which Hitchcock is reported to have said when it was pointed out to him, "You drive your way. I'll drive mine.")

The plot. Oh, the plot. Never but never has there been a more elaborate and unlikely murder-your-rich-wife scheme. Judy Barton is hired, persuaded or, gee, maybe hypnotized into playing Gavin Elster's wife who is to commit suicide by jumping off the bell tower at the mission. First Gavin (Tom Helmore) has to establish that she's crazy and suicidal. This is done by having her drive dreamily around the Frisco Bay area looking for the haunts of her great grandmother who committed suicide. The key is to get Scottie to believe it so he can testify that she was suicidal. For this to work, (1) Madeleine has to fool a police detective--one might say mesmerize him, which she does, (2) Get him to the bell tower at the right time where he is afraid to go to the top--that works, but you have to buy the psychology, (3) Time it so that Madeleine appears to jump off, but in reality you throw the dead body of your wife off after having broken her neck (body kept warm perhaps in your car with the heater on?), (4) Hide with Madeleine at the top of the tower until the coast is clear (whenever that might be).

Although Kim Novak's performance is interesting it is unlikely that she could fool ex-detective Scottie into believing she was somebody else. When she reappears as Judy Barton in the brown hair and the different makeup, it really makes the audience do a double take before realizing that she and Madeleine are the same. But Scottie's take seems to be that she (and some other women at first glance) look like Madeleine--after all, he just got out of the nut house. It is only when he sees the necklace that he comes to his senses.

Another thing afficionados love about this movie is the way Hitchcock was able to subtly strip his stars of their glamour and make them look more or less human. James Stewart never played a part anything like this before. All the funny faces he has to make, perplexed while driving, terrified on the way up the bell tower, insane and terrified in the dream sequence, etc. It is said that Hitchcock blamed the lack of popular success of this movie (when it was belatedly released, not now) on Stewart looking too old, and therefore Hitchcock never worked with him again. But I think Stewart, after seeing the way he looked in this movie--so unheroic, so lost as a real human being--decided he was never going to let Hitchcock do THAT to him again, and that's probably why they never worked together again.

Kim Novak's curvy body and flopping you-know-whats are revealed in outfits that Grace Kelly would never wear. And poor Barbara Bel Geddes with those most unattractive glasses! How she pines for Scottie. One of the best scenes occurs when she shows Scottie her self portrait as the mysterious Carlotta with the glasses on (!) followed by her "Stupid, stupid, stupid!" self-flagellation after Scottie, who was offended at the grotesque sight, walks out.

But why is Scottie always hanging out at her place? And how they talk the plot in the beginning so that we might know that they were once a couple! But Hitchcock never worried about anything but the effect his movie might have on the audience. Improbilities, clumsy plot devices, etc., were secondary. And you know what, he was right, as P.T. Barnum was right. Hitchcock never overestimated the sophistication of his audience and that was one of his strengths. The audience just wants to be entertained, to be diverted, to live the fantasy for a while.

Somebody said that the real entertainment in watching this movie is in watching it again after you know the story. I think they're right. It's definitely a film buff's movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Gill Belbin (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice photography, 7 April 2014
By 
Brian S. Meredith "Brian" (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The three stars of this film are James Stewart, Kim Novak and San Francisco and they are all captured in the most luscious Technicolor photography which the Blu-ray release does full justice to. This movie looks good enough to eat. So why only two stars? Because the plot which ambles along tantalisingly for about an hour, suddenly leaves the road and drops off a cliff. It becomes so utterly implausible that the whole movie falls apart before your eyes. Intrigue and mystery turn sour as disappointment and disbelief take over and worst of all there's a whole second hour of this nonsense. This is Hitchcock trying to be so clever that the movie ends up in knots. The biggest mystery of all must be how it seems to have managed to leapfrog Citizen Kane as the critics' choice of best movie of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 25 Jun 2013
By 
JEAN "JEAN" (New York New york) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
One of Hitchcocks best; Jimmy Stewart superb as always --- He is a classic American treasure. Everyone should see this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars check if you need multi region player!!!, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DVD didn't work as

"it is listed correctly as Region 1 NTSC therefore a multi region player would be required for playback" ..... !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Do not look below!, 18 July 2008
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
Vertigo is a well chosen word for the atmosphere of this film. San Francisco detective Scottie (James Stewart) chases a suspect on the rooftops of the buildings, he slips and barely holds on the rain gutter of one building. Another policeman comes to his rescue but he slips and gets killed after falling down. Scottie is deeply affected from this experience and he resigns from the force to open up his own detective agency. One friend of his hires him to guard his wife. What from? Evil spirits that engulf her! Funny enough Scottie does not believe in heresy but once he focuses on the case he is deeply moved with the situation. The wife of his friend spends hours at a certain museum staring at the same portrait of an aristocrat woman who died a century ago. She imitates her life, even her suicide. Scottie tries to solve the puzzle that he faces and he nearly goes insane.

The film stands out for its making and psychological thriller atmosphere. The double character of Madeleine Elster (Kim Novak) deserves credit. Also we are accustomed to James Stewart more than ever. The vertigo effect throughout the film is very well given. So much so that this film is taught in academies of cinema art. As to the gripping effect of the film the end deserves credit. But there is a notion that distresses me about the film, it is the missing links that are not told in the film. As in a simple mystery police novel the author solves the case with an evidence never mentioned before. As for the final scene I personally think it not appropriate, somewhat unnecessary.

A film that has to be watched but I am not sure I will watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and haunting, unconvincing and slow, 4 Feb 2007
This review is from: Vertigo [DVD] (DVD)
The film seems so entirely concerned with the emotions of its two central characters that the unconvincing story and dangling loose-end don't seem to be a concern. Effectively builds up a haunting and otherworldly atmosphere, in the first half particularly. Undeniably beautiful to look at and listen to. The pace is sometimes infuriatingly slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vertigo [DVD]
Vertigo [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2005)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews