Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sex & Drags & Wreck & Roll (Part 1)
Not to be confused with this years Oscar winning sensation, you can't help but conclude that Crash 2005 must be referencing its older namesake with the opening dialogue... "We're always behind this metal and glass. I think we miss that touch so much that we crash into each other just so we can feel something." Crash 2005 is a blockbuster on the controversial subject of...
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by Adrian Stranik

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast Lane into a Cul-de-Sac
David Cronenberg has always been a challenging director but, in this film, there is little to focus on. The sexual stimulation of creating car crashes with its attendant excitement transferred to orgiastic sex sessions stretched credibility. What was left were depictions of voyeurism,sado-masochism and complete detachment from its participants.

Much was made in...
Published 1 month ago by droog


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sex & Drags & Wreck & Roll (Part 1), 19 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash [DVD] (DVD)
Not to be confused with this years Oscar winning sensation, you can't help but conclude that Crash 2005 must be referencing its older namesake with the opening dialogue... "We're always behind this metal and glass. I think we miss that touch so much that we crash into each other just so we can feel something." Crash 2005 is a blockbuster on the controversial subject of racial tensions in Los Angeles.
Crash 1996 was just plain... controversial.

A decade ago the British press ran a series of front page appeals for governmental pressure to ban a new film which they'd described as "Beyond the bounds of depravity."
The 1973 J.G Ballard novel, on which the film is based, had long been a favourite of mine but as the controversy raged on throughout the summer of `96' it became apparent that the film may never be shown in the U.K. Crash had already been released in France, so by the time this idiocy hit the point where an audience of paraplegics were invited for a special screening to see if they were offended or not, I had no choice but to leave for Paris where exactly one year later Ballard's `cautionary tale' of car crash celebrity deaths would reach an apotheosis of sorts in an underpass at the Pont D'Alma.

Described by its author as "the first pornographic novel about technology" the book is about a group of car crash survivors who, led by deranged T.V scientist Vaughn, see the car crash as a new form of sexual perversion. Vaughn's ultimate fantasy is to die in a head-on collision with the actress Elizabeth Taylor who, throughout the 60's and 70's was the Princess Diana of her day; constantly hounded by the press and ultimately crucified on the beam of her own celebrity.

The film adaptation, directed by David Cronenberg, avoids the heavy traffic of `serial bride' Liz's potential legititive clout and instead becomes `a futuristic love story set in the present'. James (James Spader) and Catherine (Deborah Kara-Ungar) are a married couple so filled with inertia that they are desperate for some emotional connection by any means necessary. After a series of extramarital encounters they find themselves attracted to a group of disturbed members of a bizarre car-crash sect who enact famous car crashes for kicks. The pair soon find themselves willing accomplices in a tableaux of violence and desire until finally they attain some provisional approximation of actual love.
Kara-Ungar's portrayal of Catherine exemplifies perfectly the icy detachment of a woman who appears to be observing herself from another galaxy. Unfortunately, the film hinges on a moment where the groups leader Vaughn, played by Elias Koteus who explains his philosophy of auto-geddon as a fertilising event rather than a destructive one to his disciple James. Koteus' delivery is addled and Spader (understandably) laughs; blowing the scene and almost the entire film with it.

Nevertheless Crash is, above all, a brave attempt to explore an almost un-bearable subject - the death of affect and our unconscious desire for violence. As we're bombarded with pseudo-events and war entertainment - designed to make us consume in ways that are of optimum benefit to multi-national conglomerates who really (forget governments) walk where the power is - Cronenberg's Crash is as much a road sign warning of our impending emotional bankruptcy as it is to the sexual ambiguity of the highway pile up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast cars, fast women., 20 April 2004
By 
R Jess "Raymond Jess" (Limerick, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crash [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I didn't know what to expect from previous reviews of this film, but I was pleasantly surprised. I was most impressed by the daring of the actors involved. In fact I think fans of James Spader won't be disappointed. This is a typical James Spader movie in which he plays a stereotypical cold and aloof James Spader (but that's why we like him). How many recognizable male Hollywood actors would put their carefully constructed image on the line by engaging in an erotic scene with another male actor? Not many. But fortunatley for us Spader doesn't put commercial limits on the parts he chooses to take.
Bisexuality seems to be a recurrent theme amongst Cronrnberg's most recent movies i.e. 'Dead Ringers', 'Naked Lunch' and 'Madame Butterfly'. It's an acknowledgement of that perennial Cronenberg theme, the dominance of the physical over the mental. The characters give free rein to their desires unburdened of society's restrictive mores and conventions. Their criteria for indulging in these rather eccentric pleasures is whether it excites them or not, society's prejudiced definitions of right and wrong don't enter the equation.
As for the idea that [adult relations] and cars go together, this has always been prevelant in our culture, "fast cars, fast women" as the saying goes. The thrill of stepping on the gas has conveyed an orgasmic high in countless films, books and songs. The auto industry readily endorses it if it can sell more cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, stimulating, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Crash [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Ballard may have been out to explore the "connections between sex and technology", but I have not read the book and would say the film is more concerned with the connection and contrast between sex and death. By risking their bodies and lives in car crashes, the Crash fetishists amplify their vulnerability in order to intensify their pleasure in sex. The film is slow, but this gives the viewer time to become absorbed in the fetish; as one's natural inclination is to dismiss it as repulsive, unlikely and absurd. I would suggest that anyone who is easily disturbed should not watch this film - it is not a "great" film, so why risk upsetting yourself? But if you're up for it, climb aboard for an intellectually stimulating dark ride. The film leaves us to ponder the attraction of such a fetish: facing/embracing death and so life, breaking out from the modern cosseted world, defining ones own reality, exploring vulnaribility...
Incidentally, if you enjoyed Videodrome you will probably enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exploration of the Senses, 31 Mar 2010
By 
J. Gould "cinema lover" (Downham Market, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash [DVD] (DVD)
I had read several of the books written by JG Ballard. He is a thought provoking author who can be relied upon not to fall into the trap of writing to a formula. Crash is one such novel. I had seen the film some years ago and following reading the novel decided to purchase the DVD. I must confess to enjoying performances by James Spader. His projection of urbanity in the face of situations which would provoke displays of emotion in any other actor, is masterful. The content of the film is designed to invoke interest, disgust or plain fascination, perhaps all three at the same time.
It is not a film for everybody and the subject matter would put some people off. The sex scenes were erotic and without them the story and the film would lose much of the impact. An adult film for adults. A fine example of jaded extremism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film that examines the need for danger in a 'safe' world, 23 July 2002
By 
L. Hennessy (Twickenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Crash [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Cronenburg always has a serious point to make in his films, and there's no point watching this film unless you are prepared to examine the reasons for making the film.
The film is set in the near future where society has enveloped itself with technology; the characters are made safe from any danger by this, but find themselves almost instinctively bored; they have a jaded attitude towards most things, and they seek refuge from the pervasive torpor that surrounds them by seeking thrills in more and more extreme ways, leading to the now-infamous car crash fetishism scenes; they derive a sense of being alive by experiencing the few seconds of mayhem that occur during the impact of vehicles.
So this film examines the need for danger and excitement in peoples' lives; forget the fuss caused by the censors back when it was released - this film is way above the level of 'pornography', as I believe Alexander Walker of'The Daily Mail' described it.
If you're prepared to make a leap in how you think about things at a basic level, then try this film; it's not perfect, but it's got something to say...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You may not like it, but it is still a masterpiece!, 20 Jan 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a wonderful film of Ballard's hardcore novel- the book is a speed complementary series of looping sexual acts and recurrent car crashes. Cronenberg, no stranger to impossible books to film (see 'Naked Lunch'), makes a wonderful film of the book- with imagery matching early films like 'Shivers' (very 'High Rise') and 'Scanners'...The camerawork and soundtrack are awesome; o.k., there appears to be just a series of sex-acts. But they are the narrative; sex is not sex as in silly Hollywood films like 'Basic Instinct'. Here it is other; very Baudrillardian...As with 'Requiem for a Dream' and 'Salo', it is a hard film to watch AND a hard film to avert your gaze from. Don't confuse your moral reaction to the film- fiction does not require morals. Moral equilibrium and 'normality' (meaning?) are just not applicable here. This film ought to be seen at least once, with an open mind. You may not want to watch it again- but you have to admire it! Up there with films like 'Weekend', 'Repulsion' and 'Mullholland Drive'. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece..., 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Cronenberg is one of my favourite directors, this is one of his best. Not to be confused with massively over rated oscar winner of the same name!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Seriously..., 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash [DVD] (DVD)
I like a quirky film as much as the next man, but not, it seems, if the next man is David Cronenberg. I know a lot of people who rave about this film, but I found little to like about it. And this is coming from a massive David Lynch fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fast Lane into a Cul-de-Sac, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: Crash (DVD)
David Cronenberg has always been a challenging director but, in this film, there is little to focus on. The sexual stimulation of creating car crashes with its attendant excitement transferred to orgiastic sex sessions stretched credibility. What was left were depictions of voyeurism,sado-masochism and complete detachment from its participants.

Much was made in the film of crippling injuries as the off-the-wall characters crashed their cars and bodies into each other,possibly to achieve the ultimate orgasmic death. The film's final words perhaps confirm this. The obsession with sex and death is not new either in life or in the cinema (e.g.' In the Realm of the Senses') and whilst Mr. Cronenberg gives his audiences a beautifully-edited helter-skelter ride to the depths of human sexuality, he is saying nothing new.

It was a gripping,uncomfortable film, well-presented and acted but, in the end, ultimately vacuous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sent promptly, exceptable quaility,, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash [DVD] (DVD)
Sent promptly, exceptable quaility, gets rid of ugly Staines, fun at parties, improves your sexxx appeal, promotes Anglo - Scottish relations, buffs up to a high gloss on Cars and Bikes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4d95648)

This product

Crash [DVD] [1997]
Crash [DVD] [1997] by David Cronenberg (DVD - 2000)
16.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews