Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kick-ass, original, indie thriller..!
I first saw this late one night on Channel 4, and immediately realised i was seeing an incredibly original, quirky, intelligent thriller, of the kind that had - to my mind - been absent since the early '90's heyday of Man Bites Dog, True Romance and Reservoir Dogs.
I won't go into the plot, as it'll spoil it, but suffice to say, it keeps you gripped to the end. (...
Published on 25 Feb 2008 by Lexx

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
Another lesson in the art of filming variables.

It sits somewhere between the tedium of Groundhog Day and the love theme in Sliding Doors.

It's okay but not a film you'd want to watch more than once.
Published 24 days ago by Critic Al


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kick-ass, original, indie thriller..!, 25 Feb 2008
By 
Lexx (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I first saw this late one night on Channel 4, and immediately realised i was seeing an incredibly original, quirky, intelligent thriller, of the kind that had - to my mind - been absent since the early '90's heyday of Man Bites Dog, True Romance and Reservoir Dogs.
I won't go into the plot, as it'll spoil it, but suffice to say, it keeps you gripped to the end. ( People who are currently reading about certain branches of Quantum Physics may want to take a look ).
Of course, this is the film which kick-started Franka Potente's career, and she makes a truly engaging heroine here. In fact, you could say that this film has overshadowed her career so far, and not even great lead roles in The Bourne Identity and indie chiller Creep have eclipsed the fiery Lola in this movie.
For the price listed here, I'm even tempted to buy it all over again just to dish out to my mates. An absolute bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning modern classic, 17 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is a real modern classic - beautifully directed and bursting with originality. The story is fairly simple: Lola's boyfriend Manni has accidentally left a carrier-bag full of money from a mob deal on the Metro, and he is meeting his boss to hand over the cash. His last chance is to phone Lola to tell her that she has 15 minutes to get 100 000 marks and save his life. This leads to lots of wonderful, cinematic shots of Lola running around Berlin to try and find the money and get to Manni before it's too late. The story is told three times, each time with a small change at the beginning which results in the story unfolding in a very different way. (In this sense, the film is very much an exploration of the idea of conditionality.) This is a real gem of a film from one of Europe's most gifted contemporary directors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a film!, 27 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This sort of "What if..." scenario has been done before in movies like Groundhog Day, Sliding Doors, etc, but Run Lola Run outshines them all, highlighting how the smallest of changes in certain starting conditions can have profound effects in the outcome.
The pacing, soundtrack and direction is just perfect in this film. It's a classic.
By the way, the DVD seems to default to the English dubbed version. DO NOT WATCH IT LIKE THIS! Switch the language to the original German and the subtitles on. It's much much better.
Reasonably good extras on the DVD too, with a director's commentary, cast profiles, and a music video by Franka Potente.
All in all highly recommended. Buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent arty stylish adventure story., 16 April 2000
This review is from: Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is packed with content and meaning, good script, great plot and storyline/s. It's the epitome of what film making is all about because every aspect of the film is of high standard, music, acting, editing, and photography all come together to make for a great experience. What is wonderful about this film is its sense of time, going from moments of great stillness to moments of hectic pace and then back again. Oh and if your tired of Hollywood's idea of good looks the two leading performers in this film are stunning in a very central European sort of way. The menu system for subtitles and language is very awkward and you simply must watch in German with subtitles. The dubbed versions are awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly innovative cinematic masterpiece, 5 Dec 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have always tried very hard not to say a movie was awesome, but I feel compelled to say that this German gem from 1999 is as awesome as awesome can be. I've never seen anything like Run, Lola, Run; it's a film that doesn't sound as if it should really work, yet its presentation is dazzling and mesmerizing. Franka Potente gives an incredible performance, her talents as visible as her bright pink hair. There's nothing misleading about the title. Lola runs and runs some more; Franka Potente could probably have tried out for the German Olympic team after all the running she had to do here.
The strengths of this movie are its unique vision, stunning cinematography, and pulse-pounding soundtrack, but here's a breakdown of the plot. Lola (Potente) and Manni (Moritz Bleibtreu) are in love, and like most couples in love we find the man doing something really stupid and blaming the woman. Manni does a little work for a mafia-type fellow, and his latest job involves the delivery of one hundred thousand marks to his boss. Lola was supposed to meet him in town, but she was late, and Manni ended up accidentally (yet still very stupidly) leaving his bag o' cash on a train for a bum to pick up and run off with. Now he has twenty minutes to come up with one hundred thousand marks before having to face Mr. Big. Lola was late because her bike was stolen, yet of course the whole mess is her fault, according to Manni. I'll cut the guy some slack here, though; knowing you are about to be rubbed out tends to put a little stress on the system. Lola takes off, trying to come up with the money and get it to Manni before the top of the hour. Lest you think the film cannot last longer than thirty minutes tops, just know that there is something a little bit different about Lola; the old saw "if you don't succeed, try, try again" takes on special meaning with this girl, and the transitions of what might be considered silly by some are handled very, very well.
Run, Lola, Run does much to show us how our decisions impact both ourselves and those around us, even strangers, in a big, big way. The movie provides us with a quick series of revealing snapshots of the future lives of several individuals who cross Lola's path, and it is really quite fascinating to see how these peeks at the future differ under slightly different circumstances. One may not be able to say that fate is kind or unkind, but she (fate) is certainly capricious. Irony abounds here, just as in life. The visual presentation of this film is just stunning, combining all sorts of illustrative elements. There is an animation sequence that mimics part of Lola's run, split screen shots of two scenes at once, and almost dizzying camera pans that do indeed compare with a lot of the elements of music videos. The whole movie is also infused with a powerful, beating soundtrack (a significant portion of which is provided by Franka Potente herself) that never allows the viewer to take a breath; there is very little danger of your nodding off while watching this cinematic masterpiece. Voted the best film by the audience at the Sundance Film Festival of 1999, Run, Lola, Run is a visionary piece of cinematic art that every lover of good movies should see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New style movie- and magnifigue one!, 25 April 2003
By A Customer
This movie is lots diffrent from what I've seen but I think it's the most catching and itt has many elements in it. It is interesting to note how the situations can be very various and you can note that. Theres lots of humor running action and tense.
This is really worth watching again and again you always find something new and interesting. The film is touching and temptating its a unique picture and you won't see nothing like this in any other picture! Don't hesitate because you see a movie like this only 20 times a lifetime. You have to see it this movie is not an easy bit to bite but you will get it and enjoy the style is not what youre used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Deutschmarks out of ten, 28 Jun 2002
This review is from: Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
3 stories, 2 people and 1 cracking film. you aint seen nothing like this before. Lola runs, the music thumps a techno beat and the story weaves an intricate route that will lead you up dead ends then drag you back down by the scruff of the neck.You'll think twice on your actions next time you step out the door. The consequences may just make a difference. A director with a vision. Thomas Tykwer has created a pastiche of animation,stills, MTV video and the most original movie you will have seen in years. Buy this movie, watchit (several times) and shout at the top of your voice " Hollywood sucks"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, bad dubbing, 28 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a high action, fast paced, thrilling film. The idea behind the movie is that just taking a second longer to make a decision can greatly change your life. Lola has to come up with 100 000 marks in 20mins to save her boyfriend. If you want a film with lots of energy and a bit of a difference then this is a great film to watch one evening.
My big problem was that i had to watch this dubbed. I like foreign films and i don't mind reading subtitles, but i cannot stand dubbing. It's awful when thier lips are moving at the wrong time and these european actors in a German setting are speaking with english accents! I'm not sure about the dvd version i had, but if you can be sure that you can watch it subtitled in the German language then i'd imagine it would be better. Depends whether dubbing bugs you like it does me or not though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better with subtitles, 30 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I don't know why but the default setting on the DVD release is English Dialogue and No Subtitles. The beginning of the film is a voice over and since the voice is in English you may forget that you are watching a German film until the awful dubbing becomes clear. REMEMBER to set the disk up with German Dialogue and English Subtitles before starting the film... unless you like that sort of thing, and if so I have no sympathy for you!!!!! (Hate dubbed stuff! Prefer a good read any day, hee hee.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes most Hollywood efforts look extremely shallow., 4 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
At just 77 minutes long, Tom Tykwer manages to pack in an incredible journey through the experiences of Lola, three times over, that will leave you gasping for breath. The cinematogrophy is unbelievable and you'll wonder why so much care and attention to detail isn't put into all films. The brilliantly original structure of it does not limit the characters' ability to develop and show real depth. And to polish off this remarkable German success, the soundtrack to "Run Lola Run" is thumping, modern and fits perfectly into the visual style. A must see film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000]
Run Lola Run [DVD] [2000] by Tom Tykwer (DVD - 2000)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews