Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of comic art!
I went to see this film with mixed expectations...but came out still clutching my stomach! It's soo funny and the costumes are great, Dr Evil is my ideal man and Mike Myers is a genius.Having only recently seen the first I would say that together the Austin Power's collection is a triumph in the world of comedy.So don't be snobbish about it...snap this baby up before it...
Published on 30 May 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Myers excellent, however...
Mike Myers (Shrek) writes and stars in this spy spoof sequel as Dr Evil travels back to the 60's to steal Austin's mojo in a plan to take over the world.

International man of mystery was excellent, goofy yet sophisticated with daft humour and interesting characters and a real comedy take on the spy genre. This critically acclaimed sequel follows the same route...
Published on 25 July 2008 by Stampy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of comic art!, 30 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Austin Powers 2 - the Spy Who Shagged Me [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I went to see this film with mixed expectations...but came out still clutching my stomach! It's soo funny and the costumes are great, Dr Evil is my ideal man and Mike Myers is a genius.Having only recently seen the first I would say that together the Austin Power's collection is a triumph in the world of comedy.So don't be snobbish about it...snap this baby up before it walks...oh,and if anything buy the sequel as it stars the adorable "MiniMe"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mike Myers pulls it off again, 22 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Austin Powers 2 - the Spy Who Shagged Me [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This DVD is excellent value - more laughs per pound than many other 'comedy' films. As with the first film, there's plenty of puns, references to other works and so on - more than enough to keep you coming back again and again. The extra features are also good, including some scenes cut from the final release (in my humble opinion, many of them should have stayed in). This film is what your DVD player was made for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grr... Very Grrrrrr Baby!, 4 Sep 2004
This review is from: Austin Powers 2 - the Spy Who Shagged Me [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
In A Nutshell:
Dr Evil travels back in time and steels Austin Powers' "mojo." This leads to a series of events which lead Powers to travel also back in time and try and regain his "mojo" before time runs out. Meanwhile, Dr. Evil is planning to destroy a city every hour of every day from a giant "laser" on the moon, unless he is paid something like a million billion dollars by the US government.
What's Right With It?
The witty and entertaining quotes of Powers never fail to make you laugh, no matter how many times you watch it. The hilarious prose in the movie, with the exceedinly action-loadsmorecomedy atmosphere and storyline make Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me one of the best comedy films of modern day cinema.
What's Wrong With It?
Some of the more, let's say, vulgar scenes (e.g. Fat Bast*rds backside, or Austin Powers drinking Fat Bast*rds faesces) make you press the fast forward button a bit, leading to missing quotes. If you can handle this kind of comedy then you certainly shouldn't find much more wrong with it. However, some of the comedy moments certainly could be expanded to give the film its complete full potential.
Verdict:
No matter about the negatives, it's always the positives that count. It's still brilliant. Myers will never fail to be his best Powers, and nobody can beat that can they? It's funny, it's got a decent storyline, and it's got a groooovy English agent (of course, being Austin Powers) in it aswell! How much better can it get!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Yeah Baby, Yeah!", 18 May 2010
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I guess it was inevitable - having the funniest spy on blu-ray was just going to happen, and this, the second instalment written and starring Mike Myers (Shrek just to name a movie) sees Austin having to rescue the world from Dr Evil once again.

How will he do it, he's not got his mojo? That could be a problem for Austin, but he's got a new foxy assistant - Felicity Shagwell (Heather Graham) on his side, and the duo are prepared to go to hell and back to defeat Dr Evil, and his baby clone.

This is good fun for 90 mins, not to be taken too seriously. Mike's obviously brilliant in this but he's not as good as he was in Wayne's World, which for me was his best role ever. Heather's good as the sultry Ms Shagwell, but really this film has little substance otherwise. It's all a bit of harmless fun, to be enjoyed when you're feeling a bit down and need a pick me up.

This blu-ray is pretty good for what it is, the picture is crisp and the sound has both DDS and TrueHD. Sadly, there are no dubs (a blessing really). There are a lot of deleted scenes and 3 featurettes about the movie, and 3 music videos from Madonna (Beautiful Stranger), Lenny Kravitz (American Woman) and Dr Evil and Mini Me (Just The Two Of Us), which is entertaining.

Altogether this is a good disk, the film is pleasant enough, but really I would recommend renting this - as I can't see myself watching this many more times. I have not seen this movie since around 2000 so I haven't had the feeling I should come back to it sooner.

Have a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must see for everyone, baby yeah, 2 May 2000
By A Customer
I saw this one before the first one, (international man of mystery)and have since seen the first one. I think the second one,'the spy who shagged me' is better its more wittier and it is definatley my favourite film. Must by it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Myers excellent, however..., 25 July 2008
By 
Mike Myers (Shrek) writes and stars in this spy spoof sequel as Dr Evil travels back to the 60's to steal Austin's mojo in a plan to take over the world.

International man of mystery was excellent, goofy yet sophisticated with daft humour and interesting characters and a real comedy take on the spy genre. This critically acclaimed sequel follows the same route with the same weird and wonderful central protagonist Austin Powers who has a new sidekick, Felicity Shagwell, played with some charm by Heather Graham.

Myers also throws in an array of new characters, all comically arranged for extra humour, such as Mini Me, Fat B*****d and Robin Spitz Swallows, all interesting and crude in their own way, a useful technique in the spoof genre.

Though lacking the sophistication and humour of the first, this sequel does have many giggles and a fairly gripping plot to keep you hooked, though inconsistent there are twists and turns as well as many jokes for the more adult viewer.

Myers must be praised for his writing and his acting as all different characters. Though humour isn't on top form, he has spread diversity throughout the characters and does well in achieving the predictability in a comic light, with different techniques used for variety.

The character of fat B*****d is obviously a spoof, and a very horrible and crude one at that, so horrible I couldn't even look at the screen when he was on.

Others, who include Graham, Rob Lowe and Michael York are all average in their roles, and all could have done with perhaps more airtime to cement their roles into the plot.

The cinematography and graphics are well used, and one of the final scenes involving Dr Evil and his shuttle is very funny. The writing is good, not great by Myers and in conclusion, the film is a watchable spoof, portraying the genre well but inconsistent with average performances from the supporting cast and doesn't have the build that the first had.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Film, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Star16 (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
My teenage son thought the film was excellent. It is a harmless, though funny, film that we were able to enjoy together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Powers 2 - the Spy Who Shagged Me [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
great film, captured the time it was made very well. I must have watched it 50 times and still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film worth haveing a copy of., 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Austin Powers 2 - the Spy Who Shagged Me [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Great film to have a dvd copy of. Funny, hilarious actors and cheap jokes are all included in this film for free!! :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shagadelic! baby yeah!, 8 May 2000
By 
Rachel Williams (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite all the comments on Myers wonderful potrayal of the infamous Fat B*stard, I think that this film is somewhat better than the original! Much that I loved 'International Man of Mystery', I thought that there was a distinct lack of Seth Green, playing the rather dashing Scott Evil... I think that Scott Evil is far better than Mini-Me, although the wonderful musical interludes, 'Just the Two of Us'and 'What is God was one of us'....are damn hilarious! The episode of Jerry Springer was hilarious and the twist with Dr Evil's secret Love Child, pure genius! I hope that Myers decides to make another, (with more Seth Green of course) and of course, more Jerry Springer! A great film! Definite buy for anyone who is sane...or in this case..INsane...Groovy baby! Grrrrrr....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Austin Powers 2 - the Spy Who Shagged Me [DVD] [1999]
£6.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews