Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once in a lifetime
Before David Byrne's collaboration with X-Press 2,"Lazy", Talking Heads had fallen off the critical radar and disappeared from public consciousness. It is high time they were credited for "Remain in Light" and this, easily the best live concert of all time. Audio releases of the concert (especially the original nine track version) do the visual power of the concert an...
Published on 13 Mar 2003 by degrant

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this sub par version.
Track 11 - "Naive Melody" was out of sync. Need I say more? No, But I will anyway. Unlike another version of this concert DVD currently for sale on Amazon this one contains no audio commentary and no bonus tracks. The one I bought from videosanddvds for a fiver was for the dutch market and had no booklet or insert (perhaps there wasn't meant to be, despite the holding...
Published on 3 Oct 2007 by T. Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Nostalgia, 2 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense [1994] [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Originally bought this on LP(!!) and Video when first released. DVD brings the performance to life and takes me back to being in the 80's again. Byrne takes the show from the start, with Psycho Killer, and the energy builds from there into classics such as Slippery People and Once in a Lifetime. Great bonus tracks ( Big Business / I Zimbra excellent), and dialogue from the band members adds to the experience. If you're a fan, you've gotta buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blu-Ray starts to make sense of a classic performance, 15 Jun 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film combines footage of Talking Heads in concert, shot over three nights at the Pantages Theater in Hollywood in December 1983 as part of the `Speaking in Tongues' tour. An early directorial effort by Jonathan Demme, it was completely financed by the band (at a reputed cost of more than US$1million) and the first ever to deploy 100% digital sound recording. The result is widely regarded as a leading contender for the best rock movie ever made.

Having owned the VHS video for 25 years, I have to say the Blu-Ray transforms the viewing experience. The show opens with a performance of `Psycho Killer' by charismatic, eccentric band leader David Byrne on guitar and voice, playing over a thumping rhythm track on a 1980s ghetto-blaster placed on the stage beside him. It's absolutely riveting, mesmerising to watch. The other band members gradually join him one by one and two by two, until all nine are onstage.

The band's performance is truly awesome, and even if you were never a fan and haven't heard their music you're likely to be won over. It never lets up from start to finish, full of quirky touches like Byrne sprinting clockwise around the stage for several minutes while the rest of the band plays on, and the outrageous `fat suit' which transforms his physique.

There has never been a band quite like Talking Heads, combining catchy tunes, exemplary musicianship, poignant social commentary in the song lyrics and performance-art. Their demise was a loss to the spirit of true creativity and originality, but you still have this performance as a reminder of how great they were.

The extras on the Blu-Ray offer an entertaining insight into the dynamics of the band, the mutual respect and good humoured ribbing between the different members a persistent feature of the relationships behind this enduring music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best DVD ever in my books, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We already have this on DVD but chose to get the Blu Ray version as well, it was so worth buying, the Talking Heads almost jump out of the box dancing and singing it's that good :) I recommend this version as it's so good. The Talking Heads are my favourite band ever :). It arrived when t was suppose to and at a very good price. Thank you Amazon.

From
Cindy in Macclesfield, Cheshire -England
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landmark Concert, 16 Oct 2008
By 
Douglas Wright "killieexile" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense [1994] [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
The Concert was directed by the same man that did The Silence of the Lambs and Philidelphia, and for me this concert movie is his best work yet! I have shown it to people who have never heard of the band and they have gone out and bought copies. It is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine music DVD - a must have for your collection, 10 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense [1994] [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
A very energetic performance by David Byrne and Talking Heads. Superb music brought to life by a very well mixed 5.1 soundtrack and stunning visuals. The DVD has a fair selection of extras too. By far the best music DVD I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burning down your house..., 24 Nov 2004
This review is from: Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense [1994] [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Buy this DVD... go straight to "Song Selection" from the opening menu... click on Track 6, "Burning Down the House"... turn up the volume, sit back and prepare to be amazed. Quite simply one of the most brilliant pieces of live music ever recorded - speaker-bendingly good, superbly filmed and, above all, conceived & staged to be about as far away as you can get from a simple "pop video". Is it music or art?... who cares, because this cut on its own will tell you that your money's been well spent.
And there's more... "Life During Wartime" comes in only marginally behind for pure excitement and "Girlfriend is Better" - with its ridiculously effective "big suit" sequence - runs both tracks an equally close third. Absolutely classic "live" recordings and the adrenalin fuelled highlights of one of the best concerts you're ever likely to see. Building from simple beginnings, its 16 track sequence is, as the cover says, "The Citizen Kane of concert movies" - a reference point for how to make live music a creative audio & visual experience while, on the way, capturing a group at the peak of their powers. Not only one of the best music DVDs on offer but right up there as one of the most exciting and indispensable moments in rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Exception, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense [1994] [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Live albums are usually disappointing (the sound mix is either too flat or too boomy, the audience noise can detract from rather than enhance the atmosphere, and most bands cannot capture the same feel "live" that they achieve in the studio). Live concert films compound the problem - with poor visuals, bad lighting, and a boring mix of close/mid/long range shots.

"Stop Making Sense" is one of the brilliant exceptions. It is successful because although it was staged as a conceptual documentary record - a post-modern attempt to deconstruct "live" performance - it actually provided a much better platform in which to experience Talking Heads in concert. The song selection is great (although I'm still not sure about the Tom Tom Club contribution...) and draws on all of the Heads' albums to date, especially the peak period of "Fear Of Music"/"Remain In Light". The visuals are intriguing throughout (use of camera angles, lighting and stage sets). And David Byrne is on fire as a shamanic presence leading the band through a mesmerising performance.

My only complaint is that the DVD extras are rather lame - surely there is some interesting rehearsal footage out there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't "Stop making sense", 25 Mar 2011
By 
Darren Eger (Sandringham, Vic Australia) - See all my reviews
As a long time Talking Heads fan, this has always been one of my favourite concert films. I originally saw it at the cinema and bought the LP. Having long stopped playing records, I haven't heard or seen the concert for many years. A friend showed me a video version and it was a massive disappointment in terms of the sound quality. When I saw that it had been released on Blu-Ray, I thought I would re-enter the Talking Heads world.
It was definitely worth the wait as the sound quality of this version is superb. I expected it to be good but it was better. What was a great surprise was how clean the video footage was. Quite often, the video quality on these re-releases just doesn't justify the quality offered by Blu-Ray. Whilst it isn't as good as a modern production, it is still amazingly clear and vibrant. Am I happy with my purchase? You betcha!
Turn off the lights, crank up the volume and you can join talking heads 'burning down the house'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film unimproved by Blu-Ray, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is as fantastic as ever on Blu-Ray, but the visuals are no better. In fact the dust and scratches are possibly worse, or at least made more obvious by the higher resolution. If you already have this on DVD you don't need to buy it again for the picture's sake. That said there may be notable improvements in the audio quality, I just don't have the equipment to judge that.
The extra material is nearly identical to the DVD too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definite improvement with blu-ray, 17 Nov 2010
I have owned the dvd for many years and watched it often. It is such a great concert imho. Now having purchased the blu-ray version I have no regrets. The picture seems lighter, as well as the improved definition, which means I can see things I could not see before - for example the audience. I have played both through the same equipment tonight and the improvement in sound and picture is well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talking Heads - Stop Making Sense [1994] [DVD] [1984]
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews