Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ..so should I buy it?
There are plenty of detailed critiques of the performances and production on here which I won't attempt to emulate; this review is rather for the casual browser who is hovering around the 'add to basket' button. So - Yes! I bought this at a price pretty much equivalent to rental - and I would heartily recommend it as great value and good entertainment. It has its...
Published on 6 Oct 2009 by Old Flozer

versus
66 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superb Film - Rotten DVD
The Kenneth Branagh/Emma Thompson version of 'Much Ado About Nothing' is one of the happiest and most charming films I have ever seen (despite the tense bit in the middle and the tedious nature of the bard's original story).
This DVD is let down -so- badly by the rough and ready transfer, which has the following problems:
1) This is 1.4ish:1 and not widescreen...
Published on 22 July 2008 by M. Lindsell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning adaption that makes you cry with laughter, 14 April 2008
By 
V. Wood "English Scholar" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I first saw this film when I was eight years old and have known it off by heart ever since. Having also watched and studied performances of 'Much Ado About Nothing' on stage I am able to say that the conversion from stage to screen is done beautifully by Kenneth Branagh.

In response to anyone who has not seen any Shakespeare comedies I state that this film is absolutely hilarious and easy to understand, despite the fact that the original play was first performed in 1598!

I thoroughly recommend that you watch this film over and over again along with Shakespeare's other productions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is a feel-good film, 18 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This is a such a wonderful, light-hearted comedy that when it is finished you will want to rewind it and watch it all over again. The setting is light and beautiful, the script is brilliant, and the humour is wit-filled and sharpened to perfection. It also includes some of the best actors and actresses, including Kenneth Branagh (who is wonderfully young and charming in this film) and Emma Thompson as the lead roles. Denzel Washington plays Don Pedro, which I didn't expect to work, but he surprised me with some great acting.
A wonderful film for summer. I would recommend it to anyone, even those who do not like Shakespeare. (And if you don't, then why ever not?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado, 18 May 2009
By 
I. Vickers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I had forgotten how great this film is. Kenneth Branagh is marvellous at conveying the humour, sadness, frustrations of human emotions in the play. Imagine it would be a useful film for anyone studying the play: a great film for anyone wanting to get in the Summer mood. Lots of running around and dancing in beautiful Italy. Great music from Patrick Doyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado About Nothing, 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Much ado about nothing was brilliant to watch and very amusing i have ordered the book and will be reading it very soon And SO SHOULD YOU !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Fear Shakesspeare, 7 Feb 2010
Good service throughout offered on this purchase. Good communication, fast delivery and the book in great condition. What more could you ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 18 Aug 2009
By 
KJ Armstrong "Addict :)" (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Aw, I can't help but laugh in this movie. It's great and sooo entertaining. I've seen it many times and every time is a pleasure. I also am not sure what was wrong with the DVD for some reviewers but I am not disappointed with the story, acting or the DVD..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality, played well. Arrived on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Great version of this Sahkespeare classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 24 Mar 2002
By 
Mr. L. O. G. Owen (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A quick plot description for the unknowing. "Much Ado About Nothing" tells the humourous tale of two would-be couples (Hero & Claudio and Benedick & Beatrice) and their struggles in and out of love.
Benedick and Beatrice have, for a long while, appeared to hate each other, and have going between them a "merry war" and a "skirmish of wit". The are both cynical and snide, and, their friends agree, perfectly suited for each other. Their friends, therefore, try to trick them into falling in love with each other, re-igniting a hinted-at old spark of affection they once had for each other.
Hero and Claudio are a younger couple who fall in love and intend to marry. It then seems, however, that Hero (who, despite the somewhat masculine name, is female) has been having an affair.
Much Ado About Nothing is a fairly good play, and this, Branagh's version of it, is a very good movie. Unlike his subsequent "Hamlet", this one IS abridged, and rightly so, because some of the text would make little sense to a modern viewer.
The movie, however, does stay faithful to the play, and is well cast. When I first saw the cast list I laughed, for, as always, Branagh has cast Richard Briers and Brian Blessed. Both, however, do great jobs of their roles (Leonato and Antonio respectively, the patriarchs of the household) as usual.
I was somewhat worried when I saw that Denzel Washington had been cast as Don Pedro. "Oh dear", I thought "Why doesn't he just stick to Hollywood? He should stick to what he knows best". Even five minutes into the film, I was eating my words, so to speak. He is stunning in the role, playing the part with charm, etiquette and grace, and should really do more Shakespeare.
Branagh himself and Emma Thompson as Benedick and Beatrice are both thoroughly enjoyable to watch, and, as usual, the parts of of Hero and Claudio are well-played (by Kate Beckinsale and Robert Sean Leonard) but ultimately less interesting.
Sadly, however, the cast is not without its weak spots. Keanu Reeves as Don John is somewhat two-dimensional and Michael Keaton as Dogberry isn't even vaguely humourous. Admittedly it's a difficult part to make funny, but it can be done. But not, it would seem, by Keaton.
The setting is perfect, a mediterranean rural village, and the atmosphere is festive and well-suited to the play.
On the whole, this is a very enjoyable, and often very funny movie version of the play. The slight flaws in its casting are more than made up for by the outstanding brilliance of the rest of the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Aug 2014
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Great film, DVD worked perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [1993]
Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [1993] by Kenneth Branagh (DVD - 1999)
£4.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews