Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Izzy Whizzy on DVD, 13 May 2004
By 
Mr. J. Swann "bs10064" (Coleraine, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This marks the 4th time Izzy Whizzy has been release and almost 22 years since the recording of the video. While on the cover it states its only 29 minutes long its actually 49 minutes so they giving you an extra surprise for this DVD. One scene has been cut and that's Soo singing 'Sing A Rainbow' and you will notice it missing. Mrs Corbett, Matthew's mother likely didn't give her word that her voice could be use so the scene was taken out of the show. So Join Sooty ith his friends Sweep and Soo in his very own live action video show. the ever popular trio, assisted of course by Matthew Corbett, get up to all sorts of antics from plate spinning to gardening (with some amazing results) and for a grand finale Sooty demonstrates his musical talents - all with the aid of Sooty's magic wand and the special magic words: Izzy, Whizzy, Let's Get Bizzy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Sooty Show! Izzy Whizzy, Let's get Bizzy!, 13 Sep 2008
I bought this dvd for my daughter who loves Sooty, just as i did years ago. At the time i didnt know what episodes were supposed to be on it, but thought i would write this review to amend Amazons details. This dvd is actually of a Live Show with Matthew Corbett inc Sooty and Sweep in front of school children, not the new version with Richard Cadell etc.(personally i prefer the older versions with Matthew Corbett the newer ones seem to lack something!?) It is also longer than the stated 30mins - prob as prev reviewer states, 49min (have not timed it). Hope this helps if you are trying to find Sooty dvd's as it seems everywhere you go online, most places dont state which episodes are on each dvd and some are even duplicated - which seems unneccessary as there are plenty of Sooty programmes! A definate buy for any Sooty fan young or old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sooty and Sweep impress the crowds..., 23 July 2007
I own the video version - found it at a garden centre of all places and brought it for my own self.
I let my son (who's three) watch the "live show" (which, btw, I got to see when I was little at my primary school) three months ago.

We still watch it.
every.
single.
day.

(sometimes twice a day)

The only shame about the show is that they cut the sections with Soo. This is parallel to the brilliance of Button Moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matthew Corbett Brilliance!!, 22 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic DVD - original Sooty at its best. I bought this for my daughter after we got one of those sample dvds with a newspaper and she loved it. Although Richard Cadell is good he really isn't a patch on the dry wit of Matthew Corbett. He's hilarious in this live show in front of a school which is around 50minutes long - the little activity sketch he puts together with the children - baking a cake, typing away, riding a bike, save the ball etc is really funny it had a group of children ranging from 2-10 (plus a couple of adults) joining in. My daughter & son age 5 & 2 watch this all the time - I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Sooty - its fantastic, 26 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Anyone who appreciates the good old sooty show of the 1980's will love this video. vintage stuff and truly fabulous entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is amazing!, 5 Feb 2004
This is the best vid i ever bought . i watched it 3 times in one night, There is nothing better than lying back on the sofa with your mates and a couple of tinnies and watching this genius. This stuff is hilarious and i can't believe sooty doesnt have it's own channel. If you want a good time forget strip clubs watch sooty. #I rate it 5* entertainment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very funny magic show., 23 Dec 2000
By A Customer
learn to do simple magic tricks with richard cadell. richard and sooty are locked in their dressing room by scampi so that he can do the show with sweep and soo. lots of magical fun with sooty and his magic wand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sooty finally comes to DVD!, 12 Sep 2002
By A Customer
Considering that 'Sooty' is the longest-running children's programme in the world, it seems strange that the naughty bear has only just started to appear on DVD!
This DVD has a running time of 60 minutes and contains three episodes, all of which centre around a 'water' theme... and, as Soo rightly points out to Matthew, we all know what happens when Sooty gets involved with water!!!
1 - A VERY SPECIAL DAY
Matthew has promised to take Sooty, Sweep and Soo on a trip to the seaside. However, with Matthew driving and the others navigating, they don't get very far!
2 - THREE MEN IN A BOAT
Matthew wants to go for a boating trip on the River Thames - alone! But Sooty, Sweep and Soo make plans of their own...
3 - WATER SPORTS
Matthew boasts about how brilliant he is at water-skiing. But the others soon see how bad he is, so Sooty and Sweep show him how it's really done!
These episodes are great entertainment, and should appeal to adults who grew up with the show, as well as children. Sooty's Little Cousin Scampy puts in an appearance in one episode - up to his usual tricks, of course! The funniest bits on this DVD include Matthew's (pathetic) attempts at singing and water-skiing, and Sweep's no-nonsense method of repairing alarm clocks!
I should point out that I have a problem with the scenes of Sooty and Sweep having a 'scrap', and then beating up Little Cousin Scampy (twice!), as it might encourage violent behaviour in children as a means of resolving conflicts. I think parents need to be aware of this.
Finally, my copy strangely has the 'Region 1' symbol on the sleeve and disc, but it plays fine on my Region 2 DVD player, so I guess this must be a misprint. Only one other Sooty DVD is available at the moment ('Sweep Superdog'), which I will definitely be buying. I hope we'll be seeing a lot more of Sooty on DVD in the near future! (Oh, and some 'extras' would be nice next time, please! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sooty shows them how it's done, 10 Aug 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An audience of eminent showbiz luminaries bow to the genius-like antics of the superstar that is Sooty.
Through many tableaux and interviews he demonstrates his pure class and versatility : Magic Sooty cuts the dolly in half; Insomniac Sooty in bed with his little teddy(aaah); Musical maestro Sooty and his battle of the drums with Sweep.
Ably assisted by cousin Scampi who has a hilarious paint fight with Sweep, and his old friend Soo who gives Sweep a Mudbath.
This excellent show has a playful irreverent disrespect for luvviedom. Household names like Ainsley Harriott being taken down a peg or two by the feisty little guy (in front of their kids!)
Gary Rhodes confesses that he learnt all there is to know about pancakes from Sooty.
Jonathan Ross is punished for forgetting to invite Sooty onto his chat-show. He suffers a ritual soaking with the water pistol for this impolite oversight.
To see serious actors like Amanda Burton and Geraldine Page utter the magic words 'Izzy Wizzy, let's get busy' is a treat to behold.
Young fans will love Sooty's total committment to fun; older viewers will appreciate the gentle ribbing of the celebrity parents, who all take it well on the chin.
I won't spoil the fantastic Sootyfest finale, but it's worth waiting for.
A triumphant success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sooty Nostalgia, 17 Nov 2009
I was amazed to find this show on DVD and on amazon-- it was the one I grew up with. Unfortunately, a few bits have been cut and it makes the whole running time seem shorter. Having said that, it's a kids' DVD and not meant for students with too much time on their hands! Overall, well worth a trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sooty Show: Izzy, Whizzy, Let's Get Bizzy! [VHS] [2001]
£5.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews