Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2000
What a surprise! A pleasant one, I might add. Pulling in every style under the sun, the Groove Armada duo deliver a fine selection of blissed-out summery grooves. One can immediately see where they draw their inspiration from, and anyone who has listened to 'Northern Star' and 'Vertigo' will be pleased to get such an insight. The beach towel is laid out in fine style with Groove Armada's fine remix of A Tribe Called Quest's classic "Description of a Fool", followed by the sublime tones of Barry White. As the mellow chill slides along lazily, we up the tempo slightly to Sir Raymond Mang's now-classic "Number 1", a much underrated track coming out of the Idjut Boys's Noid stable. Stand up and salute this man, he has a real talent. The Al Green/Mica Paris section may distract a little from the general landscape, but things finally come to a fitting end with Chaser and Tears for Fears, the latter perhaps surprisingly appearing to roll up the beach towel and go home for a sangria. All in all, a well-thought out, touching and often groovy selection.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2001
Yet again Groove Armada have proved they can live with the best when it comes to Chill Out albums. A superb selection of relaxing tracks, melted together beautifully. From the torrid Al Green to the wistful Tears for Fears. Great!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2003
If you are looking for a selection of cool, groovy tracks then look no further than this. Being a back to mine selection of the highest order ensures that this classic album never dates.Although produced in 2000 I have only recently purchased it and it still sounds fresh and new now.
If you are familiar with other Groove Armada whether their own albums or compilations you will be aware of the outstanding quality of the tracks and the special magic they bring to their output. This is no exception.
From the outset GA place a relatively contemporary track by a Tribe called Quest and layer it into the Love Walrus himself, Barry White. GA then continue to fold in quality track into quality track encompassing exceptional instrumentals alongside quality vocals, they even manage to sneak in a Tears for Fears track.
This certainly ranks alongside Everything but the Girl and MJ Cole as best in the Back to Mine series. Quality!!.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2006
One of my favourite 'Back to Mine' selections. Rate it up there with the Faithless, Dave Seaman and Talvin Singh selections. It's very eclectic and mellow and it's one I play over and over. A truly top mix
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2000
So chilled, they make us think Tears for Fears are cool. From Raymond Mang's deservedly titled "No.1" to the largely ignored British rap of Roots Manuva, the Armada deliver the perfect soundtrack to a winters night in front of the fire. With Barry White crooning away, what woman could have resisted your advances by the time Al Green's telling her to light his fire? Superb.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2000
Groove armada deliver one of the best mix albums of the last few years. Taking you back to there's with an electic mix of friends delivering smooth funky tunes, perfect for that summer vibe. Along for the ride are the love walrus himself Mr Barry White, the rockin reverand Al Green who delivers the silkest version ever of the doors light my fire. Strangly Tears for fears turn up to finish the night off, but do so in style. The seminal BBG show there faces too, accompanied by A tribe called quest who deliver the funktastic' description of a Fool' aided by an impressive remix by the armada boys themselves. Stand out apperance at the armada house, has to be Sir Ray Mang with the epic 'Encounters'. Quite a night, i'll go back anytime!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2007
This album is an all time classic. If you don't get it first time round have another listen coz it's grower. I'm on my 3rd copy because i literally wore the others out i play it that much!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2000
I bought Vertigo on the strength of At The River and was pleasantly shocked at how good it was. Back to Mine is a collection of superb tracks most of which I didn't know but trusted GA's judgement. I like the tracks immensely and the subtle mixing blends it altogether beautifully. If you don't have Vertigo buy it first and then buy Back To Mine.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2003
i had a phase of purchasing most of the back to mine collections. since this time i have realised that once you have one, essentially you have them all. generally the majority are very good, songs you have never heard of by unknown artists yet we are assuered they are classics. i have developed a critical attitude to this sort of album.
concentrating solely on this album, i believe it is one of the better ones. very laid back, the sort of lounge club music. you definitely need a few sofas in the room when this is played. each song holds its own and the tracks are well produced and compiled together. the album has a strong flow and some of the legendary names in music are here, al green being one, and a good choice of his aswell.
i do recommend this album to anyone who likes to kick off their shoes, to the one who enjoys the laid back chilled out night and i do recommend it above many other similar albums, perhaps with the exception of another late night by zero7. it is also a well priced vinyl.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2000
This is completely funky mellowness. Its ideal for those post-club smokeouts as it's all immaculately mixed (shutting up any DJs present :) and the tunes are fabulously selected and placed. This is mixing how it should be and rarely is; a tapestry of flowing vibes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)