Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkly dramatic but (only slightly) flawed
This album invites you not only to experience Ute's unique voice but also the talents of the songwriters involved. "Little Water Song" is formula Nick Cave, evocative of his duet with Kylie Minogue of a few years ago "Where the Wild Roses Grow", but Ute sings it with such touching simplicity it transcends the formula. "Tango Ballad" is a good...
Published on 27 May 2001

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is hard to appreciate, and not very typical of Ute
I usually love Ute Lemper's work, CDs and shows. I've been to 5 shows in the past few years, including this one, which is the only one I didn't at all like. Sailing back and forth between several genres is OK, and Ms Lemper does it with a lot of talent. But in that case I found the music very unappealing -loud and base-, and unsuited to her singing, which is more in...
Published on 2 Feb. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkly dramatic but (only slightly) flawed, 27 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
This album invites you not only to experience Ute's unique voice but also the talents of the songwriters involved. "Little Water Song" is formula Nick Cave, evocative of his duet with Kylie Minogue of a few years ago "Where the Wild Roses Grow", but Ute sings it with such touching simplicity it transcends the formula. "Tango Ballad" is a good violent dirty bitchy love song, but suffers from over-production. Hannon's voice is powerful and rich too, although the song is amillion miles away from any Weillian conception. "Passionate Fight" is a high point, a big flouncy ballad with plenty of bite and a great chorus. Quiter moments, like the voluptuous "Purple Avenue", the poignant "Couldn't You Keep that to Yourself", are exquisite little moments of reflection, countered well by the gaudy title track and splendidly overblown "You Were Meant For Me" (an example of The Divine Comedy in full swing).
Most of the songs on this album are amazing. some of them ("Streets of Berlin", "The Part You Throw Away" and "Split" are forgettable but adequate album-filler. One of the songs is absolutely dreadful ("Scope J"). My advice: buy this. Then transfer the 'good songs' on to MiniDisc and "Punishing Kiss" is a perfect album. Worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dumbfounded, 15 July 2010
By 
David M. Graves "gergergranville" (Wales the land of song) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
As with many one star reviews the one below leaves me dumbfounded

could not disagree more....... as a vehicle for her talent this new take on chansonnier is the perfect vehicle for her voice and it is a cd I've played consistently since it first came out. Saw the show in manchester and was enraptured.

The stuff with Divine comedies joby Talbot and neil Hannon is a brilliant homage to Brecht. little water song is one of the most haunting things I've ever heard and the album as a whole is a joy for the brain as well as the ears, intelligent lyrics well constructed songs and superb delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every song a cathartic and exhausting pleasure!, 28 April 2000
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
Lemper is at her very best here. She is constantly saying that she enjoys playing the roles of the 'lonely' and the 'dissasociated', therefore this collection of songs gives her a platform for her finest body of vocal work yet. Most reviewers talk about the collaborations with 'The Divine Comedy', and rightly so! The twinning of Hanonn and Lempers voices are a stroke of genius - probably the only man that can compliment her amazing vocal quality. However, people are managing to forget the amazing collaborations with Nick Cave, Tom Waits and Philip Glass - these names are synonymous with songs of pure theatre and the irreconcilable nature of 'being' and 'living'. Lemper as usual tackles these songs with the empathy and understanding of a woman who has lived a thousand lives. Each song is a cathartic and exhausting pleasure. Look out for the 'contemporary stalker' in "You were meant for me" - joyous and tragic all at once, with more than a little touch of 'camp' that only improves, and never cheapens this particular favourite of mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, beautifully put together., 9 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
As the other reviews have said, this album has a strongly Divine Comedy feel - but also a strong Elvis Costello feel, as in the title track, 'Punishing Kiss'. The songs are all theatrical (as Ute Lemper says was her intention in the sleeve notes) and some are very dark indeed. I've got it in my walkman at the moment and am listening to it everywhere. But then again, I like both the Divine Comedy and Elvis Costello...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't a fan... until I heard this album., 30 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
The quality and range of Lemper's vocal talents lend something very special to the tracks on this album. There is a slightly "dark" quality to some of the pieces that I found a breath of fresh air.
The powerful lyrics (esp. Little Water Song) combined with some wonderful orchestrations to give compositions that are simultaneously beautiful and subtly disquieting.
Try it, buy it. Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is hard to appreciate, and not very typical of Ute, 2 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
I usually love Ute Lemper's work, CDs and shows. I've been to 5 shows in the past few years, including this one, which is the only one I didn't at all like. Sailing back and forth between several genres is OK, and Ms Lemper does it with a lot of talent. But in that case I found the music very unappealing -loud and base-, and unsuited to her singing, which is more in nuances than in power. Listen to the samples before you buy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OKAY, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
i ONLY BOUGHT THIS AS SHE HAS RECORDED ONE SONG COMPOSED BY SCOTT WALKER, WHICH IS VERY GOODAND TRUE TO FORM OF SCOTT'S LATER WORK. SOME OF THE OTHER SONGS ARE QUITE GOOD. i SUSPECT I NEED TO PLAY THIS A FEW MORE TIMES, MAYBE THEN I MIGHT LIKE THIS ALBUM MORE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - if you like 'theatrical' singing, 28 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
Only released yesterday - but first impressions are good. I am new to Ute Lemper, but this collection of mainly contemporary songs brings out her voice very well. If you like The Divine Comedy then you will like the arrangements, and Neil sings on a couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb, original and very moving, 12 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
Like most I first came across Ute on stage in 'Chicago' and have followed her dynamic and moving performances ever since.
The 'Punishing Kiss' CD is rather strange initially and refuses to be categorised, but as you understand the words and the depth of her performance (seeing her in concert at the Royal Festival Hall helped), there are absorbing and deep meanings - so after very many plays I am still being surprised and entertained.
Can't wait for her next performance, whatever it is and the direction it takes. A truly great artist in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious, but worth a listen., 1 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss (Audio CD)
The dangers inherent in attempting to straddle the stools of theatre and pop/rock are all too obvious on this album - and glaringly more so in the live show (featuring a jazz-rock "combo" that makes the Young Gods' Weill versions seem tasteful and restrained). Lemper appears too much in awe of the various songwriters to make the songs her own (in the way that, say, Agnes Bernelle might have done) and the Tom Waits songs, in particular, have a certain karaoke quality.
It is, however, an interesting album and even survives two bruising encounters with droning fop, Neil Hannon. Hannon, in fairness, contributes one of the album's outstanding tracks and thankfully without singing on it, but otherwise he threatens to give the album the final push it requires to outright pastiche.
For the Nick Cave and Elvis Costello songs alone, the album is worth buying. The less said about Scott Walker's "arty" "song" the better - it's no "Montague Terrace in Blue". Entertaining, pretentious and fun but mostly soulless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss
Ute Lemper- Punishing Kiss by Ute Lemper (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews