Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last...
This is what I've been waiting for. I've various copies of this movie, from the original video release through the region 2 and region 1 versions but although the extras that were gradually added were interesting, the film itself was still the original grainy print.

This 2 disc edition has a new digitised version of the film, crystal clear and properly...
Published on 27 April 2007 by Gary Nicklin

versus
53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love The Film - Hated The DVD
I have been waiting a long time for the release of a special edition version of this film, and must say that I have been let down by the final release. The film tells the story of a young mods life in 60's England. I love the film and have been a fan of it for a long time. The problem with this release is that it is not the complete film. There are scenes missing that are...
Published on 6 Dec 2003 by malovett


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love The Film - Hated The DVD, 6 Dec 2003
I have been waiting a long time for the release of a special edition version of this film, and must say that I have been let down by the final release. The film tells the story of a young mods life in 60's England. I love the film and have been a fan of it for a long time. The problem with this release is that it is not the complete film. There are scenes missing that are on on the original UK VHS version. The extras are bad, if you're expecting indepth stories and details about the film, you will like me be disappointed. They are made for an audience with no understanding of the medium it is trying to cover. This just makes it annoying. For a first time viewer, they will be just light, boring and very short entertainment. The interview with Sting has a lot of trouble finding anything that Sting said about the film. The scooter part is about 40 seconds long! The restored film has better colour than the VHS, but this is about the only good point. With missing scenes and bad extras this is not for anyone who likes the film and wants a DVD version of the film to keep. Why dosen't someone give this the release it deserves? Love the film hated the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quadrophenia DVD - let down by poor mastering!, 10 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Quadrophenia [DVD] [1979] (DVD)
As stated in other reviews, this DVD suffers badly from poor mastering. A couple of years ago, this film was remastered for a theatrical release with Quadrophonic sound - this is not present on this disc. The DVD version is simply a mediocre transfer of the recent VHS release. In addition to the other complaints mentioned I must add three other major complaints about this disc.
1) Hum bars. At some stage in the mastering, there has been a source of interference which results in inch wide hum bars travelling up and down the screen for the duration of the film. Not noticible so much during bright exterior shots but terribly distracting for darker scenes. Please note: These hum bars are not on the VHS equivalent of this release so obviously, the original mastertapes are fine.
2) Lip synch seems poor in places
3) There is a nasty jump cut not seen on any of the previous releases for this title. It occurs during the beach fight scene where Chalky is jumped upon. This jump cut may be hiding an otherwise smooth and unnoticible switch to the dual layer portion of this disc but I'm not so sure. On both my players, the scene jumps.
It's a shame that this disc is so flawed. The menus are good and the movie itself is outstanding. This would make an acceptable 'budget-priced' disc but at the time of writing, this disc is still retailing at full price which leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last..., 27 April 2007
By 
Gary Nicklin (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is what I've been waiting for. I've various copies of this movie, from the original video release through the region 2 and region 1 versions but although the extras that were gradually added were interesting, the film itself was still the original grainy print.

This 2 disc edition has a new digitised version of the film, crystal clear and properly formatted for widescreen.

The new extras are great, the making-of documentary contains some great interviews with the cast and the brief guide to the locations is quite interesting and will save you doing the Brighton tour.

Finally, the verbal sparring between Phil Daniels and Franc Roddam in the commentary is amusing and worth a listen. Even if you already have a copy of the film, this is probably still worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful blu ray transfer, 22 Nov 2011
well at long last the blu ray of one of the best british films ever made appears on high def.well where do i start?1st off the film itself is magic ive watched it loads of time now and i never get board of it.it says on the back of the cover remasterd in high def but from what ive seen its not this is just a port over from the dvd of the film there is so much grain in the picture you cant see any of the details in the supposedly high def picture,the opening scene of jimmy standing on the cliff in the sunset.the orange in the picture looks like millions of small ants crawling all over the picture its awful!as you move on in the film you can still see scratches and dirt where its not been removed in the supposed remaster.if you were to ask someone who made this hi def transfer they will say that its so grainy because of the age of the film,thats total rubbish look at the blu rays of dr no ,thunder ball,goldfinger,and the fantastic blu ray of north by northwest,all look like they were made for blu ray.if you have got this film on dvd just upscale it on you blu ray player.this is just a money spinner for universal,KEEP YA MONEY IN YOUR WALLET AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Is a Face, 8 Aug 2006
By 
S. W. Ladd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This remastered 2 disc set is absolutely brilliant in virtually all respects. The film print itself is wonderfully clean, the soundtrack is quite naturally fully engaging amd the acting is of the highest possible standard. It is quite easy to forget that those on the screen were actually earning a wage for their performances.

I won't bother explaining the plot. We all know it. Suffice to say that this is the very best ever presentation of this iconic cinematic masterpiece. The second disc features director Franc Roddam detailing the trials and tribulations of the production, also featured are quite lengthy and illumnating contributuions from Toyah, Phil Daniels and other key players.

This is an essential purchase. There is however one minor quibble. Given Pete Townshend's unquestionable genius couldn't he have done a Dolby 5.1 or even a DTS mix of the soundtrack for this release? I am sure there were good reasons why this was not possible but if only...........an opportunity missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Who's Musical Tribute to The Mods And Rockers of The 1960's, 26 Aug 2009
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow! Doesn't this classic musical drama still rock after over 30 years since it premiered. Written by Franc Rodder (who also directed this film), Dave Humphries and Martin Stellman, "Quadrophenia" (1979) was rock group The Who's explosive, enthralling musical tribute to the mods and rockers of the swinging sixties.

"Quadrophenia" boasts a stellar cast list, headed by a riviting, powerful performance from the ever-great Phil Daniels. The rest of the cast are full of familiar faces such as the legendary ex-lead singer of The police, Sting, Mark Wingett (later famous for his role as DCI Jim Carver in ITV's police drama "The Bill"), Philip Davis (who's list of film and television credits are endless), Leslie Ash (long before her days as one of the leading stars in ITV's action-drama "C.A.T.S Eyes" and the classic BBC sitcom "Men Behaving Badly"), singer Toyah Wilcox, the ultimate screen hard-man Ray Winstone (though is disappointingly given very limited screen time), Garry Cooper, Trevor Laird, Michael Elphick (later known for his lead role in ITV's "Boon"), Kate Williams, Kim Nave and Gary Shail. Each of these immensely talented actors are all finely tuned into their characterisations, but for me the true star of the show is, without a doubt, the dynamic Phil Daniels.

"Quadrophenia" is set in the heart of London in 1964, where two rival cult groups have emerged - the mods and the rockers. As Pete Townshend of The Who aptly quoted: "Mod is a shorter word for young, beautiful and stupid". For Jimmy (Phil Daniels) being a mod is simply a way of life and for him and his mates the ONLY way of life. They dress in suits, pop pills like their sweets in a candy store, ride around wrecklessly on their scooters, thriving off the many violent clashes with their rivals - the rockers.

A wild trip to "sunny" Brighton sees the mods make headline news as they encounter the rockers and a deadly riot erupts, spreading throughout Brighton like wild fire. Amusingly during the riot, Jimmy finally gets the girls of his dreams - Steph (Lesley Ash) - and sneaks off down a back alley with her to consummate their "relationship" (well poor Jimmy thinks its the beginning of a relationship but for Steph its merley a one-night stand) before hes arrested and carted off in a riot van for his part in the riot. His so-called friends leave Jimmy behind to face the trial alone and his supposed best friend Dave (Mark Wingett) wastes no time in taking away Jimmys girl, Steph.

On returning home and discovering the betrayal and distinct lack of loyalty from his friends Jimmy becomes disheartened. Making matters worse is where his intolerable mother (Kate Williams) boots him out of his home - and no one wants to know or help, least of all Steph. His mental state is rapidly deterioating with his incessant drug taking, boshing pills like theres no tomorrow. I wont reveal the ending as dont wish to spoil it for those that have yet to see this classic British film, but will says its a corker!

"Quadrophenia" is a belter right from the opening scene which sees Jimmy happily riding along on his beloved scooter through the streets of London, seemingly without a care in the world. There are many fun, blazing party and orgi scenes, all of which are injected with humour, not least to some cracking one-liners from the always impeccably-timed Phil Daniels. To accompany these scenes is a sizzling soundtrack. The 60's dancing and the costumes and hair styles are all very authentic in detail.

Undoubtedtly the most rip-roaring, exciting, adrenalin-pumping scenes are where the mods head off to Brighton for a weekend of hard-partying and drug-taking. All suddnly spirals out of control when they come across the rockers and a major riot breaks out, fighting everywhere from the beach, to insides pubs, clubs and other establishements - nowhere or no one is left safe! Breathtaking scenes and all visually, incredibly powerful. You just wander where its all going to end and who's gonna get killed first.

Jimmy is played expertly by Phil Daniels who is dynamic throughout. His character is fun, funny, daring, seemingly full of life but at the same is mentally unstable and this masquerades his sadness and confusion. His home life is explored and you see that a lot of his escalting emotional problems stems from his irresponsive mother who is more interested in her partner than listening to her sons problems. Though there are many laughs packed in "Quadrophenia", obviously with the subject matter, theres plenty of serious drama and the ending proves a shocker. Phil Daniels is both likeable and totally convincing in his flawless and literally perfect performance.

Mark Wingett (Dave) and Philip Davis (Chalky) both excell in their roles, providing many of the films humorous moments and delivering equally likeable characterisations. Sting makes a very impressive acting debut as the cool Ace Face, who is admired and emulated by the mods for his slick, stylish dance routines. He appears to be refined from the outset but soon lets rip during the rip-roaring Brighton scenes.

Leslie Ash (steph) and Toyah Wilcox (Monkey - shes almost unrecognisable) are both splendid in their roles, breezing into the atmosphere effortlessly, while Garry Cooper shines in his roles as Peter. Only very minor quibble about "Quadrophenia" is that Ray Winstone, as Kevin, is only seen in a handful of scenes but theres great comic value in one scene where Kevin And Jimmy are both bathing (seperately of course!) and try and out-sing each other. Kevin is an old friend of Jimmys but their paths rarely cross as Kevin is one of the rockers. You will laugh when you see Ray dressed as a rocker with slick leather jacket and Elvis Presley-like hairstyle - a far cry from the usual hard man we see.

On the whole, "Quadrophenia" is a rollercoaster ride of a film and easily one of the most definitive and innovative films of its time. It's no understatement to declaire that "Quadrophenia", is an out and out masterpiece.

Ian Phillips
August 2009
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this 2009 Edition even if you own the 1999 or 2001 versions, 20 Aug 2010
By 
John Frame "There Is No Substitute For Equality" (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You should buy this 2009 2 disc Special Edition DVD version of Quadrophenia even if you own the 1999 version, or the RHINO USA 2001 version, and here's why:

Lots of people point to the many flaws in the 1999 version from Universal - too many flaws to list, but the horrible audio is my main gripe. It sold in Australia for $40 (maximum premium price), which was just rubbing salt in the wounds, still it was better than nothing and for all I knew at the time could have been as good as it would get in DVD form (a transfer from tape, as a fullscreen 4:3 Dual Layer single sided Dolby 2.0 disc with no commentary, and just one dodgy montage as an extra).

In 2001 when a remastered "widescreen" version was released by RHINO in the USA I was happy to buy it, and was happy enough at the time with the product - even though it was in letterboxed 4:3 format (on a Dual Layer disc). It was mastered from a good condition 35mm negative and the colour and contrast were adjusted well, but there was no true digital restoration and so the picture is good, immensely better than the 1999 version, but far from pristine. The audio was a significant improvement - offered in 5.1 surround and 2.0 stereo BUT with very annoying distortion from clipping at the loudest points. There's an optional commentary track by director Franc Roddam but the other extras crammed onto the single disc were quite lightweight and forgettable.

Then just recently, as my young nephew is getting enthused about The Who, I went looking on Amazon and found the 2006 Special Edition 2 disc version from Universal on sale for 4 pound and immediately bought it. I am amazed at the huge improvement to pristine video which is pin point sharp. Fantastic colours and contrast. Powerful and clean Dolby stereo surround (use Dolby Pro Logic to decode for true surround). This version is true 16:9 anamorphic widescreen. On the main feature disc the only extra is an optional commentary track by Franc Roddam and the film's star Phil Daniels, which is good because they're employing maximum data space on that Dual Layer disc to giving the best quality possible from the DVD format. The 2nd disc only needs to be single layer (still 16:9 anamorphic), but the material is excellent - interviews and comments by director and cast, and all very carefully filmed and edited.

The 2009 2 disc DVD edition from Universal is only trumped by the Universal 2011 Blu-Ray (a format capable of granting us 4 times better video quality and over 10 times better audio - which is especially valuable for Quadrophenia). The Blu-ray is a genuine 1920x1080 24p fully restored transfer and offers a choice of either DTS HD Master 5.1 surround or DTS Master HD original stereo. The Blu-ray must have been made at the same time as the 2009 DVD (it has exactly the same commentary and extras), however it presents us with vast improvements in both video and audio definition. I've carefully compared frame grabs from both the Blu-ray and the DVD, and I have also compared audio samples (comparing the DVD's Dolby 2.0 stereo to the Blu-ray's DTS HD Master stereo). In both cases the Blu-Ray is demonstrably superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are the mods, we are the mods, we are, we are, we are.., 2 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Frustration, purple hearts, gangs and friends. This is the story of being a mod in London and a trip down to Brighton. Its about I guess, teenage rebellion, but it kind of challenges what that means too..
The first time I saw this film it really depressed me. However, you have to make your own mind up about what its essentially about and about the ending..
Watch out for the mod king though - Sting - please never dance again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 1080p transfer in DTS HD Master stereo or 5.1, 6 April 2012
By 
John Frame "There Is No Substitute For Equality" (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I own all previous versions of Quadrophenia on DVD - and have reviewed the 2009 2 disc Special Edition as being by far the best of them. However this careful HD transfer to Blu-ray in 1920x1080 24p with a choice of DTS HD Master 5.1 or DTS Master HD original stereo is absolutely superior.

It seems certain to have been made at the same time as the 2009 DVD - but shows vast improvements in both video and audio definition. I've carefully compared frame grabs from both the Blu-ray and the DVD, and also audio samples (comparing the DVD's Dolby 2.0 stereo to the Blu-ray's DTS HD Master stereo). In both cases the Blu-Ray is demonstrably superior.

I really cannot understand people whinging about seeing film grain on a Blu-ray - that grain is determined by the film stock chosen by the film makers. In Quadrophenia it seems likely that, just as with Donnie Darko, film stock was chosen which would perform best in low light conditions, even though it would show a more noticeable grain. Any person who says that they think the DVD looks better than this Blu-ray is having a lend of themselves - what they're saying is that they prefer a low resolution which blurs everything.

The DVD only offered the highly compressed Dolby 2.0 soundtrack, whereas the Blu-ray DTS HD audio has ten times the definition, and that quality shows. The Blu-ray also offers a tasteful and effective DTS HD Master 5.1 treatment made from the original stereo.

Other than that the Blu-ray has EXACTLY the same extras as the Special Edition DVD: i.e. an excellent feature commentary by Franc Roddam and Phil Daniels, "A Way Of Life - Making Quadrophenia" and "On Location With Franc".

At the price Amazon is offering anyone who already owns and likes the DVD of Quadrophenia should not hesitate for a moment in buying the Blu-ray. Not only do you get the film with the best possible video and audio clarity, but you also get it playing back in exactly the right pitch (rather than at least 3% faster as happens with the conversion to PAL for the DVD) - and those few percent do make a difference.

The Quadrophenia Blu-ray is highly recommended - just remember that film grain is an inherent and desirable quality of real film - embrace it, don't complain about being able to see it.

My note added 15 Sept 2012 about the Criterion Bu-ray edition of Quadrophenia:

I bought the Criterion edition, from Amazon USA, and it is barely detectable that it is cleaner than the Universal edition - the Universal contains just a few of the tiniest minor glitches which I only noticed because I was looking hard for a reason why I could justify having spent so much money on the Criterion edition. However there are four negative aspects in the Criterion edition:
(1) They have also brightened the video a tad too much and their colour balance is not as natural as the Universal's
(2)The image is slightly blurry compared to the Universal (most likely a consequence of the noise removal process). The grain is a bit less noticeable, but I think that's because if the increased brightness and the softening treatment of the image.
(3) The strangest thing is that they've cropped the frame by about 5% - enough to cut off the tops of heads and the edges of objects which the Universal edition shows were meant to have been in full view.
(4) The Criterion disc is locked to the USA's region "A", and it's expensive, whereas the Universal disc is friendly to "ALL" regions is bargain priced. A plus for the Criterion is that its 5.1 surround audio is an impressive aural sculpture - a bit more engaging than the Universal (but the Universal one has more punch).

I believe that the Universal edition is at least as good as the Criterion in regard to the main feature (while having different extras - including a wonderful commentary by Franc Roddam and Phil Daniels). I agree with another reviewer that it's a steal at 8 (and is equally cheap in Australia in its local release here).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible No Stars, 29 Dec 2011
By 
M. W. Salter "mwsalter" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If I was actually reviewing the film I would give it 5 stars..but this is more about the quality...If you have it on DVD you already have this poor effort ..the whole point in buying the Blu Ray version is for improved quality...I cant see any difference in this version than the DVD release (which I think has better extras).
As Blu Ray player are capable of playing DVDs I cant see any point in buying this, I dont think this is any better than the VHS!...truely shocking....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quadrophenia [DVD] [1979]
Quadrophenia [DVD] [1979] by Franc Roddam (DVD - 1999)
4.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews