Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars71
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

To those people that do not like movies that are formula or predictable, this is probably not one of those movies that you would like. For those of you who are expecting some sort of breakthrough movie like "Pretty Woman" (1990) , this movie is probably not one that you would like.
Now with that said, this is a great formula and many of the details are not predictable. It is the interaction between the actors and the visuals (multi colored hair) that give this movie its worth. This movie contains psychology and morals that would give Gary Zukav a run for his money.
We already know how wonderful the interaction is between Richard Gere and Julia Roberts. Don't overlook the cast of supporting actors that even give the two-dimensional characters a third dimension. Remember Rita Wilson form "Sleepless in Seattle"(1993)? Well she plays the ex-wife of Richard Gere and adds some stability to the hectic events. And who can forget Joan Cusack form "My Blue Heaven" (1990) ? She plays Peggy Flemming.
All in all it's cute movie in worth watching...
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2006
I loved pretty woman, and someone bought me this because they coudnt find the one i wanted :)

I'm glad they did. It's not as strong a film as pretty woman was but it's still really good. It's a very cosy, family film and i really enjoyed it. definately one for u to buy!
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2000
We enjoyed this film. It was a light comedy love story, and worked because of the two Pretty Woman stars. The photography is its strongest feature with excellent views / people / lighting. The story appealed more to my wife and teenage girls staying with us, as it is a very "flowery" romance. It's downside is sticky predictability both overall (i.e. the whole plot), and in each scene or even down to the jokes; but nonetheless so enjoyable for it. Roberts is stunning, Gere great, albeit both characters are almost unreal. Gere's character "knows" everyone (seemingly even if he only just met them), and everything; and the Roberts' character is known by everyone, and can DO anything. If you are looking for realism - DO NOT buy / watch this. If you want the same escapism and light and a entertaining comedy with good clean romance, and less work "working out the plot" than with Pretty Woman then this picture is a must. There were no extras on the DVD.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2007
Maggie Carpenter is a woman who can't seem to get married. Whenever she gets to her wedding, she runs off. When reporter Ike Graham hears about Maggie the 'Runaway Bride,' he decides to write about her in a newspaper column, which of course offends Maggie. Ike then gets fired from his job and the only the way he can get it back is if he writes the real truth about Maggie Carpenter, so he goes along to meet Maggie and to see if her fourth attempt at marriage will really go ahead.

Well, the two leads Julia Roberts and Richard Gere and great director Garry Marshall are all reunited here after the first movie they made together, the good movie Pretty Woman and they do a pretty good job here too.

Runaway Bride is not as good as Pretty Woman though, but it's okay. This is of course not a sequel, and in it's own right it features a completely different story to Pretty Woman, but unfortunately it doesn't have the same 'magic' as Pretty Woman did. Still, even though this is very predictable stuff, it's all quite good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Seen on TV many times I finally added this to my collection. What I love is the interplay between Roberts and Gere as their characters progress through their gambit of emotions with a almost inevitable conclusion. The writing is progressive and the support cast is on fine form. I would have loved to see Hector Elizondo's character to be developed more (as I thought his character was outstanding in Pretty Woman (Barnard Thompson - the hotel manager). The scenery is good, the storyline passable and the directing and producing of good quality.
You can now pick this film up very cheaply and I would definitely recommend adding a copy to your collection so you can immerse in thoughtless entertainment for an hour or so.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2007
This is a good chic flick, that you do not mind watching with your significant other. They do not capture all the essence that occurred in there first film portrayed. But there is still chemistry on screen. Joan Cussac steals her scenes. Parts of the "Lady in Red" supporting staff are in this fill. You can tell they wanted us to feel that this was the same type of draw emotionally as "Lady in Red'/ Though Marshall did a good job directing. Overall the movie is fun, entertaining and has a good soundtrack.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2006
Another good Garry Marshell flim. Not as good as Pretty Women (Also starring Julia Roberts and Richard Gere) but still ok....I thought it was going to be better, though.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
This is another very good film with Julia Roberts in,it is about a women who has run out of her wedding's on more than 1 occassion,it is full of comedy and light suspense,Richard Gere is the one who finally manages to mary her.There are a lot of other stars in this film in supporting roles.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
A reporter hears about a young woman who has apparently run away, at the last minute, from several weddings. He writes an article based on what he’s heard… and his paper receives an angry rebuttal from Maggie, the young woman in question. Ike decides to investigate further…

The style is ‘rom-com’, with a fairly predictable ending, but it’s nicely done. Julia Roberts as Maggie is excellent, as is Richard Gere as the reporter Ike. Maggie’s fear of commitment is perhaps overdone, and her previous boyfriends are rather caricatured – but still, some amusing moments, plenty of action, and an enjoyable film overall that doesn’t require much brainpower.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 21 August 2015
Just finished watching this - What a sweet movie!

Without giving too much away, this movie explores to concept of love, relationships, pre-wedding jitters and what may be the psychology behind a recurring "Runaway Bride". But it explores it in a light, not-heavy way. Interesting, entertaining and overall, leaves you with a smile on your face.

I'd say it's the perfect movie for fans of romcoms and for people who don't mind stories that may be a tad predictable. I don't mind that as long as the story is a feel-good one and has a satisfying ending. For me, it was very enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)