Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic James Dean
The unique charisma and talent of James Dean make Rebel Without A Cause an absolute must-see for all film buffs. Dean stars as Jim, a lonely and misunderstood teenager whose trouble-making has forced his family to move to a new neighborhood. On his first day, Jim alienates a gang of boys, gets a girlfriend (Natalie Wood), befriends a neurotic outcast (Sal Mineo), and...
Published on 16 Oct 2004 by Kona

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Film didnt live up to its hype
DVD of good quality just didnt like the film, thought it was weak in plot and i found Dean irritating
Published 4 months ago by Apollo13


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars ... than the young Mr Dean but it's not just great because he's in it, 13 Sep 2014
By 
Deborah Griffin "BOOK GURU" (YORKSHIRE UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
Can't get more iconic than the young Mr Dean but it's not just great because he's in it. I love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The seminal teenage flick, 10 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
Jim Stark (James Dean) has just moved to a nice town. He is a rebellious teenager who is no stranger to trouble. In this new town he tries to fit in with the cool gang. In order to be accepted he must perform all sorts of requirements, including a 'chickie run' with the gang leader (Corey Allen).
Above all this is a film about Jim's attempts at finding not only acceptance, but love. His relationship with his parents is so disastrous that he seeks affection from anyone and everyone. He finds it with Judy (Natalie Wood) who is an equally rebellious girl, and Plato (Sal Mineo) a psychologically damaged teenage boy.
What Rebel Without a Cause reflects is an anxious time in American history, a time when male representation in the movies was changing. This change was in effect born out of 1950’s anxiety, a sentiment that was a product of the communist witch-hunts and growing fear that America was becoming increasingly complacent. With Rebel Without a Cause director Nicholas Ray decided to make a film that directly reflected the attitude of the time. Jim is a rebellious character who will not conform and is certainly not complacent.
The use of colour in the film is also something worthy of note because it adds such realism and effect. Nicholas Ray uses colour to illustrate emotion. This is best seen by Jim’s famous bright red jacket. At the beginning of the film he wears a dark adult suit, which only serves to illustrate his emotional confusion. However later he puts on a red jacket, which demonstrates his wildness and links him to the red lipstick wearing Judy.
This is a seminal film. And perhaps it has stood the test of time because the legend James Dean is thought to be just like Jim Stark. He was misunderstood, rebellious, and dangerous, behaviour which tragically sent him to a very early grave.
Must, must, must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
No problem purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film for the young and old!!, 8 Feb 2004
This review is from: Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
i may only be 18 but this is one of the best films around!! Ive only seen it once but i was glued to the screen! I dont know much of james dean but for what i do know is that hes/he was{i heard he died young-which is a great shame}a fab-tastic actor and very very handsome young man!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated Movie, 4 Oct 2008
This review is from: Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
Jean-Luc Godard said about the director of Rebel Without a Cause "Nicholas Ray is cinema."
Well now, risking Pseuds' Corner, I wager James Dean is movie stardom personified on the strength of his three great performances in his three 1950's movies. With Dean dead for more than 53 years, this dvd underlines that the only sense we have of him is on celluloid.
Brando may have been a better actor but even before that car crash ensured Deans iconic afterlife, Dean was the more complete celebrity.
Even though Rebel is a classic, it is extremely dated.
Another criticism is that it is a pretty wooly affair with some hammy performances and gloppy sentimentality.

To begin with, Nicholas Ray never could say anything with much subtlety -- he's like one of those beat poet cliches from the 1950s who take themselves oh-so-serious and are like down with system, man. So, from the first frame Rebel Without a Cause slathers on the message with a cake spatula. We are supposed to be totally sympathetic to the troubled James Dean character and his existential plight through being a 20-something teenager and coming from a wealthy background - nice car, nice house and nice parents.

Dean (Jim Stark) sees the ridiculous marriage of his parents as a stark warning of the horrors that surely await in his bourgeois future. If this were handled really well it could have a lot of traction, but unfortunately it is played sporadically and is too hyperbolic (in all the wrong ways) to have much resonance.

8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Rebel without a cause` review, 18 April 2009
By 
A. Milton (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember my dad saying to me more than twenty years ago to watch this movie as it is a classic teen movie and I had an urge to see it again recently (I had been doing some daydreaming).
It is dated as a movie today (not suprisingly as a 50`s movie) and some young people may find it a bit naff, although I believe most will find it interesting and relative to today or tommorow.
I recomend the movie to people as all ages as I think it is a timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but kind of oldy., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this film because it was voted one of empires 500 greatest films. I thought the general story line was easy to follow. The overall film is outdated by todays standards but it was definetely worth a watch. I don't think I would watch it again though now I have seen it once. Not my best film but it was ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 16yr old reviewer, 20 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry to say that I didn't really enjoy this film. I'd heard a bit about James Dean eg. icon etc. Being a fan of old films, especially 30's to 60's, and iconic actors eg. Marilyn Monroe and Audrey Hepburn etc I watched this film.

I thought James Dean to be an excellent and extremely good looking guy to say the least but I honestly didn't enjoy it.

It didn't give the viewer of teenagers an honest portrayal and it wasn't really very gripping and couldn't relate with the characters.

Liked it for the fit lead and acting but..not much else.

Just thought I'd mention - am 16 yrs old and female.

Wouldn't recommend to people who were expecting something good because it's just a James Dean film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD]
Rebel Without A Cause [1955] [DVD] by Nicholas Ray (DVD - 2006)
£5.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews