Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slow but very well done
I like the way CE has aged and his films have aged with him he has stayed believable ..instead of trying to be 30 and running around like a lunatic he has made some good films that are age appropriate if you like this you may like blood work again a little slow but a good film .....so go ahead ...make your day !!
Published 13 months ago by Mr. A. Beer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Potential, But Never Hits It
This is a promising film, with a high calibre cast following an acclaimed story. However, it has a fascinating opening half-hour, introducing all the key players and setting up the scene very well, but after that it plays as a very slow and steady cat-and-mouse game as Whitney must convince both Kate and Frank of his innocence and guide them to the truth, whilst evading...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. C. Gelderd


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has Potential, But Never Hits It, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a promising film, with a high calibre cast following an acclaimed story. However, it has a fascinating opening half-hour, introducing all the key players and setting up the scene very well, but after that it plays as a very slow and steady cat-and-mouse game as Whitney must convince both Kate and Frank of his innocence and guide them to the truth, whilst evading the might of the Secret Service as they try to cover up their tracks.

It’s got Eastwood’s trademark direction over it, with long sweeping panoramic shots and using the city as a supporting character, with great cinematography. All the actors play their part perfectly, and it’s refreshing to see an older cast deliver such finely crafted performances rather than young, upcoming stars.

It’s not an action film, bar a few sequences to liven up the pace of things, but more driven by interesting characters and a countdown as to who will discover the truth first. It just never really picks up pace, and even the conclusion is very tame and delivered with litter urgency. If you’re not into political thrillers, you may find this slightly boring, as it’s not one of Eastwood’s best films, but it’s a solid effort on the basis of a memorable narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD Absolute Power, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased this DVD as I like C Eastwood, the book was written by D Baldacci whom I love. The film, however, was a total let down. It was really a synopsis of what was a very good book. Amazes me how permission was given to release the DVD as for me "it completely lost the plot"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not a patch on the book., 8 Mar 2014
This review is from: Absolute Power (DVD)
What a shame that they always spoil the story when they take a good book and turn it into a mediocre film. They missed out the main man from the book completely and then adapted the story, but in my opinion they completely ruined it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slow but very well done, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. A. Beer "straker" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I like the way CE has aged and his films have aged with him he has stayed believable ..instead of trying to be 30 and running around like a lunatic he has made some good films that are age appropriate if you like this you may like blood work again a little slow but a good film .....so go ahead ...make your day !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Power, 25 Mar 2011
This Is an excellent film. Clint Eastwood in top form as s burglar turned hero when the President wants his dirty deads covered up and they well and truly overstep the mark when they try and kill Clint's daughter. Very well written thoroughly enjoyed this throughout. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All setup, no payoff, 7 Feb 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Absolute Power [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
It's been said that Clint Eastwood only has two different speeds as a director - slow and even slower. With Absolute Power he's on the verge of comatose, kicking off with the most tedious robbery in screen history which very, very slowly turns into an even less interesting overlong murder scene that owes so much to No Way Out it even features Gene Hackman. After half an hour of endless underlit boredom setting up the plot, it plods along with no urgency or interest other than finishing on schedule and under budget. Aside from one affable scene with Ed Harris, the supporting cast (aside from an abysmal Judy Davis) for once outshine Eastwood, but they're competing for a picture that really isn't worth stealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Eastwood at his best as an actor and director, 24 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably my favourite Clint Eastwood film, in my opinion he is just as good a director as he is an actor you can't say that about many actors.
I think that Clint Eastwood really understands his craft from both sides of the camera, what more can you say watch this movie I think that you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray product review, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is about the PRODUCT, and not the FILM.

For a film of this age (1996), the HD-transfer is above average but nothing spectacular. Outdoor/day shots are very clear and clean, but there is a very noticeable BLUR during the indoor/night scenes, particularly during the robbery/attack at the beginning. The office scenes (day) are good, but again not outstanding. One thing I definitely noticed was a reduction in the sound. I had to turn my speakers up 75% to be able to hear it properly. All things considered, given the sound, the picture and the lack of extras, I would have to rate this 2.5/5 stars, but as Amazon doesn't permit this, I will stick with 2*.

Two points of interest, the cover does not match the one shown here on Amazon (the one shown here is the DVD sleeve image with a superimposed PG certificate), plus the film carries a 15 certificate - not PG.

There are absolutely NO EXTRAS - not even a trailer.

Audio: DTS-HD Master Audio / English 5.1 Dolby Digital / Castilian Spanish 5.1 / French 5.1 / German 5.1 / Italian 5.1 / Latin Spanish 2.0
Subtitles: English / Castilian Spanish / Danish / Finnish / French / German / Greek / Italian / Norwegian / Portuguese / Swedish
Chapters: 34
Ratio: 2.40:1 Anamorphic widescreen
Running time: 121 minutes
Label : Warner Home Video
Catalogue number: 2000040028
Blu-Ray Released: 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The suspense master., 13 April 2014
By 
D. G. Lloyd "davlynn9" (Cardiff, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
It is a great twist on other murder mysteries and it is so interesting seeing how the plot unravels and who triumphs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Good, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
This film has the familiar face of Clint Eastwood who finds himself in a very difficult situation with regards to him witnessing a murder at the hands of the President of the US. Good story and very watch able.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolute Power [1997] [DVD]
Absolute Power [1997] [DVD] by Clint Eastwood (DVD - 2000)
Used & New from: £0.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews