Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars63
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2014
Interesting and absorbing remake, survived the translation remarkably well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
brilliant and moving film, had to buy replacing the old video version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
Far superior to the original,acting is superb and the battle scenes very well done, The movie portrays the harshness of battle and the personal trauma experienced by those who have to fight the battles and the war started by the politicians etc etc
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Although made for TV is of cinema quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
This is one of those re-makes which you should only watch if you have never seen the original. Watch it, enjoy and THEN go to the original, which is without doubt a true classic of cinema at its very, very best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Classic war film and would recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2005
It is extremely rare to see a good book properly adapted to the screen.Of course it is not as intense as Private Ryan but recreates perfectly the horrible conditions of trench warfare. For those who have not seen this yet, READ THE BOOK FIRST by Remarque.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
The acting is a little dodgy at times, but the action is very realistic. A powerful film. Sometimes a little slow. I used it as a resource for teaching world war one poetry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2003
All too often people say, "it's not as good as the book." and some people do say that about this film, however, if you're like me and you find reading thick lengthly novels boring and life drainingly dull then this film is for you.
So instead of writing a review that doesn't actually tell you anything about the film but just moans about how wonderfully fantastic the book was/is? i'm going to tell you what i thought of the FILM!
I first saw this film at primary school and even at the innocently young age of 10 this film captured me and i fell in love. I saw it again recently and it just re-envigorated the memories i had, it's so intence. You watch war films these days and all you get is blood and gore, well All Quiet On The Western Front has it's fair share of gore (it was a war after all!) but it really makes you feel, "how did these poor people live through something so terrible?" it left me with a strange profound feeling that can only be explained to someone else that has already seen it.
Anyway... i've said my piece! YOU MUST SEE THIS FILM!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
A REMAKE OF A TRUE ANTI-WAR MOVIE OF THE SAME NAME BUT 60 YEARS LATER---A GOOD FILM IN IT'S OWN RIGHT IT'S DOWNSIDE IS IT WILL ALWAYS BE COMPARED TO THE ORIGINAL, WHICH,IN COMPARISON,WAS MADE A LITTLE OVER A DECADE AT THE END OF THE 1914-1918 WAR WHICH IT WAS ABOUT.IT IS A PITY THAT THE REMAKE WASN'T MADE IN THE SAME MOULD AS "CROSS OF IRON" OR "A TIME TO LOVE AND A TIME TO DIE"-THIS ONE BY THE SAME AUTHOR AND DIRECTOR AS THE ORIGINAL "ALL QUIET ON THE WESTERN FRONT" AND ALSO AN ANTI-WAR FILM AS THE DIRECTORS SON WAS KILLED ON THE EASTERN FRONT.A MUST TO HAVE ALL 3 FILMS IF YOU ENJOY WAR FILMS WHERE THE SOLDIERS INVOLVED ALL ANTICIPATE DEATH AS THE ONLY WAY OUT OF THE POINTLESS AND WASTEFUL WAR THEY ARE FIGHTING
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)