Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oliver Twist. Amazing adaptiation!!
Alan Bleasdale's excellent adaptatation of Charles Dickens' classic story of a young boy who's life in Victorian England is far from perfect. His mother died in child birth, so he is brought up in an orphanage, then moved to a work house. Under nourished, he has the nerve to ask for more. From that moment on, the boy begins a journey that sees him fall in to the...
Published on 12 Sep 2006 by Mr. S. KINNAIRD

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Inspired by' the original text...
In order to enjoy this six-hour adaptation, you need to be aware that it was 'inspired by' the original text of Oliver Twist. The first hour and a half (one quarter of the adaptation) is not in the book at all and is an 'explanation' of what 'might' have led up to events described late in the book. There are lots of other differences from the book, eg Oliver's father is...
Published 19 months ago by D. Took


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning and intense, 24 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Oliver Twist [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
Thanks to friends in Canada I was able to watch this astounding production, which strangely has yet to air in the 'States! At times it is intense and poignant, at other times light and funny. All performers gave 100% and then some; not a single character goes unrealized and fully fleshed out. Of particular note are the beautiful and underappreciated Keira Knightley as Rose Fleming, Emily Woof as poor Nancy, and Michael Kitchen as Mr. Brownlow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 21 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
Mostly very good. A bit long-winded I thought. I am pleased that at the end everyone knows that Oliver belongs with them. I think Keira Knightly's character could have been a bit more shocked that the boy who has been living with them happens to be her nephew. I also think that Oliver could have been a bit more surprised to find out that Keira Knightly's character is his aunty. Mr Brownlow who is looking after Oliver is very good. He was very believable all the way through. I liked the characters of Fagin and Bill. Nancy is very different from the musical. She is not as confident as Nancy is in the musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
Drawn out, one disc would have been enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why 4:3? I thought it was made as 16:9., 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
I fully agree with the praise that everyone has given for this version.

There's just one minor thing that puzzles me about the DVD presentation of it: it's 4:3. When it was originally shown on ITV, I recorded it from analogue and the picture was 14:9 (full width with black bars top and bottom) which led me to believe that it was made in 16:9 widescreen and shown like that on digital platforms. But comparing the DVD against my VHS recordings, there's actually a bit of extra picture on the left and right on the VHS which is missing from the DVD. So it looks as if the master film has been cropped to 4:3 for the DVD release. Weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
This film it the best in my opinion, it includes very good tv actors which combined with a great writer offers drama with funny bits. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another bbc triumph, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
the casting is first class,another period drama well produced and directed,worth watching again and again.well done B.B.C. Very pleased to have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST VERSION!, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
This is, by far, the best filmed version of Charles Dickens's novel I've ever seen. I particularly liked Robert Lindsay in the role of Fagin. (He was also terrific in Jerico of Scotland Yard.) If only American TV was as good at British!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geat version, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Kelloggs (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite Charles Dickens tales. This version is as good as any and I really enjoyed watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cast, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful Dickens story, brought to life by a great British cast. It's worth buying for Robert Lindsay alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well received, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver Twist [DVD] (DVD)
We really enjoyed this version of Oliver Twist. We have seen most other versions of Oliver Twist, and this one compares well with the ones that we have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oliver Twist [VHS] [1999]
Oliver Twist [VHS] [1999] by Renny Rye (VHS Tape - 2000)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews