Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (248)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restored my faith in SF cinema
SF Movies have suffered from a lack of style in recent years. There's only so many times you can see Bladerunner or Alien ripped off cheaply before you start to get jaded. And it doesn't help that they keep casting muscular dolts with the intellect of a plank in violent revenge fantasies that do little more than ape the "Death Wish" movies.
So it's three cheers for...
Published on 24 Feb 2003 by William Meikle

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray version is tinted green - beware.
Obviously The Matrix is a fantastic film, but this version of the film is not strictly the original - it is the version from the DVD boxed set that was released a few years ago, and all scenes set within the Matrix have been tinted green, to keep in line with the production design of the sequels.

If you were familiar with the film (i.e, you watched it many...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. L. J. O'Neill


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restored my faith in SF cinema, 24 Feb 2003
By 
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
SF Movies have suffered from a lack of style in recent years. There's only so many times you can see Bladerunner or Alien ripped off cheaply before you start to get jaded. And it doesn't help that they keep casting muscular dolts with the intellect of a plank in violent revenge fantasies that do little more than ape the "Death Wish" movies.
So it's three cheers for The Matrix, the film that restored my faith in SF movies.
It starts with a bang, a chase across rooftops with some spectacular leaps that make you realise that wherever you are, it's not the world you live in.
Or is it?
Neo (or is that Neophyte?) is a programmer by day in a faceless corporation, and a hacker by night, searching for Morpheus, a shadowy figure who may hold the key to Neo's longings for a different world. Morpheus on the other hand is looking for a Saviour, someone who will come and lead the oppressed masses to a new Utopia.
Soon their paths cross, and Neo is shown the real world, a world that is not all he thought it to be. In this world everything is run by "The Matrix", a super computer that controls everything and everybody, body and soul. (Or, as the Oracle so succinctly puts it, "Balls to Bones")
Neo is removed from the system's influence, and is told he is "The One", the long-prophesised saviour who can remake the Matrix to his own will. He is trained in how to fight the Matrix defense programs (or "Agents".....software that takes the guise of super-powerful humans and can take control of anybody still hooked up to the Matrix)
To accomplish this he is given a crash course in martial arts in a manner that would be great if it were possible today (I can imagine the ads - "Learn Kung-Fu in thirty seconds....no philosophising necessary!") . Once he reintroduces himself to the Matrix's world the stage is set for some climactic fight scenes, among the best ever seen in cinema history.
To say more would be to give away too much of the plot, but suffice to say The Matrix is one of the biggest, most explosive, most stylish SF films ever.
It succeeds where lesser films fail by melding a hi-tech glossy look with martial arts battles familar to Hong-Kong film lovers, and overlaying the whole thing with a mythic plot of the Saviour who is slowly coming to realise his destiny.
Even the names hold a mythic quality to them, from Morpheus, the god of sleep who knows who is dreaming and who is awake, to Cipher who is not all he seems, to Trinity, the embodiment of child, mother and lover and finally Neo, the classic neophyte trying to find a path through the mysteries. The ancient Greeks would have had no trouble in following the basics of this story.
Reeves has never been better, portraying confusion and frailty one minute, strength and resolve the next. But it is Fishburne's movie....it is his presence that holds the whole thing together and keeps you rivetted to your seat.
All that and a shadowing of a peril coming to Zion, the last stronghold of the true believers, and we're all set up for a blockbuster of a sequel. I can't wait.
Couple that with an outstanding directors talk-over, and an ingenious "follow the white rabbit" extras feature that lets you cut in and view how any particular effect or stunt was achieved, and you have a DVD that's hard to ignore for quality, quantity and entertainment.
All that, loads of black leather gear, big boots and guns. What more do you want?
And any film that contains a clip of the cult classic "Night of the Lepus" is always going to be worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 out of 100!, 7 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Someone once asked me how I could watch The Matrix so many times and why I haven't got bored of it.
She couldn't understand, mainly because she has only seen about 3 min of the film but my answer was "It'll never bore me because everytime you watch it you learn or notice something new". That is it.
The Matrix is such a delicious movie that leaves you wanting more and more and the more you get the more you love it. I have probably seen the film about 20 times since watching it for the first time last May. The special effects are mind blowing (and in my opinion better that Reloaded and Revolutions), the story is unforgetable, the outfits are cool as ice, and the music rocks (I've also got the soundtrack).
My fave character has to be Trinity because she is so independant and single minded. She is also so bloody lucky to snog Keanu.
They can make as many sequels as they want but nothing can compare to The Matrix chapter 1. It is The One movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The Matrix is possibly one of the most influential and important films of the 20th Century and absolutely had to be told before we entered the 21st Century. It touches throughout on a very high level Buddhist teaching on 'emptiness', 'the-nature-of-mind' and creating your own reality.

It uses communist theory as a brilliant diagnostic tool for forming an allegory on the excesses of free market capitalism and its persistent need to de-skill humans to generate wealth for those at very top of society to remain in power.

It speaks of the control mechanisms privileged segments of society continually use to deny resources to the majority, predict consequential behaviour and the agencies they use to construct the propaganda model and enforce barriers.

It raises questions on the challenge we have to face to reconcile efficiencies afforded through automation on the one hand and the perpetual reduction of human capital on the other - it's a call to action for the millions in Western economies who will soon to be disenfranchised -

While at the same time if offers a running commentary on societal empowerment by digital disruption and the need to think toward empowering innovations for humans to satisfactorily enrich and promote the existence of the person, above the purely profit incentive and makes a clear distinction between those who believe social outcomes arrive by a few people at the top of society, from social value coming from below; with people taking revolutionary action on their own.

All this and they still leave room for a thoroughly entertaining film, even if all you really want is just a bit of escapism, wrapped in with enough big guns to annihilate a small planet, lots of explosions to get the blood pumping and a generous sprinkling of sex appeal.

Perhaps this film offers the closest America will ever get to having an adult conversation on Communist discourse and how it actually complements the merits of, while highlighting the limits to Capitalism, without the psychopaths wanting everyone to be afraid. It's a work of genius - I still can't believe it came out of a Hollywood studio - remarkable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously, you haven't seen 'The Matrix'?, 18 July 2007
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The title of this review is a question I've heard asked quite a few times in conversations, normally asked in one of those Bill & Ted 'Whoa Dude!...' voices. And it illustrates something about this film, like it or not, it's one of those movies everyone has seen, say what you want about it but this thing is undeniably HUGE. This status sadly often means it gets either five-star reviews because everyone loves it or one star reviews because critics are trying to be arty and against the grain (by the way both previous comments refer to critics only, I haven't read enough of the amazon reviews to comment on them).
So, onto the review. This is a philosophical sci-fi action thriller with a noirish edge and religious themes. Interestingly it manages to balance all these elements in such a way that the film takes on something of a multi-layered nature, allowing you to watch it from any number or combination of stances and still love it from every one. It has stunning action sequences, a gritty cyberpunk sci-fi story and some seriously deep monologues (normally courtesy of Laurence Fishburne's smooth tones), which of these you pay attention to is entirely up to you, but watch them all and you'll get something pretty close to a sensory overload.
As far as action goes, this was absolutely revolutionary and still holds its own against the best of them (including its own massively inferior sequels). This isn't realistic, it's just cool. Slow-motion gun battles merge into wushu-esque acrobatics which merge into incredibly choreographed wire fighting martial arts. Amongst all this high-tech wizardry the film makes sure every hit has a really impressive feel, as bullets smash through concrete leaving bloody dust clouds in their wake and punches are accompanied with sound effects that make you feel them in your seat. The action scenes aren't just impressive, they're stunning.
The plot is a nicely twisting sci-fi affair that hinges on the concept of a digital reality transmitted into the human brain to make mankind believe it is free when in fact they are slaves. This reality (Which is what we would call the real world) is known as the matrix, but there is of course a twist, not everyone is plugged in, some have been freed. The story follows a newly unplugged hero (a surprisingly well cast Keanu Reeves) who must face not only the apparently unbeatable opponent of the matrix but his own apparently messianic standing as the 'chosen one'. the plot grabs you fast and has enough twists and turns to keep the philosophy from getting boring or the action from getting vapid.
Philosophically this film is about reality, belief and the nature of dreams. Don't really want to talk about that because though the film can keep it from being boring I'm not sure I can.
So, should you see this film? Yes, it's thrilling, visually stunning, occasionally profound and also just one of the coolest movies ever made. So watch it now, if only so you can say you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genius in the Matrix, 2 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The Matrix is one of the best films I have seen in any category: this is not just a feast for sci-fi fans! The soundtrack is wonderful, a must have for anyone who likes lots of bass to drive to, and goes well with the fast action and kinky special effects.
The basic idea is that NEO (Keanu Reeves) is living the life he - and we - call normal, and looking frantically for something, anything, to reassure himself that there is more to life than a deadly boring 0900 to 1700 job and an antsy boss. On the side he works as a hacker, selling pirated programs, almost as an off-shoot of his searching of the Internet.
It all goes a little weird late one night when his computer starts talking back to him in a program that he never entered and can't control (no, he wasn't running Windows XP) and tells him to follow the white rabbit.
This is the start of his journey to escape from the Matrix, which he didn't know existed and never realised was only an illusion ...
This idea is really gripping, and the Matrix says it all, without needing the rest of the trilogy: you can watch it as a sci-fi movie, because it is a very good one, with excellent and ground-breaking special effects, for the action scenes (which are sheer, self-indulgent eye-candy for any martial arts enthusiasts) or read as much more into it as you care to put there: because the basic concept is intriguing. Everyone wants, first and foremost, to know who they are, and what is real ... how else to all those Internet survey sites survive? - and the Matrix, following Neo's search for just that, has something to tickle everyone right on that spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking cinema!, 20 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This film was without doubt a landmark for movie making. Never before had such special effects been seen, or at least been used to such wonderful use. It's hard to watch the 'Matrix' without marvelling at the sheer brilliance of it.
As for the storyline, the concept may not have been used in movies before, at least not to this extent, but it's probably something most of us have considered at one time or another. How many of us have had thoughts like 'what if this is a dream?' or 'what if when we think we're awake we're really asleep?', but more than likely have casually dismissed them as impossible. But how would we know? It's certainly a very scary thought for all humans, as faced without free will or free thinking of any kind would take away our very humanity itself & whether we think it's possible or not, it certainly grabs our interest on one level or other, at least for most of us it does......
Ok, enough of the deep stuff! Just how much fun is this movie? Visually it's awesome & as mentioned earlier the plot is fantastic. The effects are truly groundbreaking & to be honest, it's quite hard to get past how good & clever the effects are.
But either way, this should have something for everyone, great story, great effects, great fights.......the only thing I might've questioned was the casting of the main characters. Personally I wasn't too impressed with 'Trinity' & as far as 'Neo' goes, well, everytime I see or hear Keanu Reeves I have to hold in the laugh as all I can think/hear is him saying 'Bodacious dude!' in true Bill & Ted style. But then the same thing happened when he was in Dracula too, so it's probably just me! 'Wyld Stallions rule!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moviemaking enters the 21st century, 3 May 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Even though The Matrix was released in 1999, it can easily be considered the first motion picture of the twenty-first century, a movie unlike any that had come before. This was the DVD that, upon its release, many of us bought in order to see just how good our new DVD players could be. The special effects, with an exception or two, were unprecedented in terms of their scope, style, and presentation at the time, and the somewhat complex plot managed to capture the imagination of untold numbers of movie goers. Combining science fiction, action, and adventure in an entirely new way, The Matrix was nothing if not exceedingly cool. For once, I will not dwell on the plot; it is hard to explain, and those who know nothing about it can easily find summaries of it. I will say, however, that I'm a little surprised that so many people embraced this movie with open arms because the plot is somewhat ambiguous, and the ending seemed to invite the possibility of a sequel without coming right out and announcing that it would happen. I find similarities between this movie and Vanilla Sky in this regard, yet many who were totally confused by the latter film seem to embrace this one. Laurence Fishburne was the real star of this movie, in my opinion, bringing life to Morpheus in such a way that made the convoluted plot seem plausible; a lesser actor in that role could have doomed The Matrix, no matter how incredible the special effects were. Carrie-Anne Moss also blessed the character of Trinity with a humanity that enriches the film. Keanu Reeves overcomes a couple of what I like to call David Schwimmer moments early on and grows into the type of hero this movie demands.
As for the special effects, I found them exceedingly good but perhaps a tad overrated. The early "mouth" effect, for example, was shockingly unimpressive, and the slow motion wave-like movement of bullets toward the end looks a little hokey to me; everything else was impressive indeed, though, particularly the famous jumps and helicopter sequence. One of the really nice extras available on the DVD is the feature on the making of The Matrix. While it takes a tiny little something away from the movie to see how those acrobatic jumps and fight scenes were filmed, one cannot but be deeply impressed by the level of commitment of the actors in terms of their months-long preparation and training. The movie commentary offers more insight into the movie, and the music-only audio track is also a nice touch. When I first dove in to the DVD owner pool, The Matrix instantly became the movie by which all of my DVDs were judged. As time marches on, this has changed a little bit, but age should only enhance the fascination of movie lovers with this very impressive, unique, and extraordinarily cool film that heralded a brand new century in movie-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is all around us, 1 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
"It would appear, Mr Anderson, that you have been leading two lives.... One of these lives has a future; the other does not".
These chilling words introduce us, and a freshly black-belted Keanu Reaves, to Agent Smith. And let's be honest, who among us does not know a superior at work or school who is, perhaps, a little like Agent Smith?
The Wachowski brothers have not merely created a superlative special-effects kung fu homage movie. They have redefined the scope of the action picture to encompass thought-provoking pop philosophy. Read the quotes and trivia for a taste of this (and check the IMDb link below for more). They combine brilliant technical innovation (bullet time, so well captured on DVD) with a spooky science fiction premise that, frankly, makes you stop and think. Maybe the little boy bending the spoon is right....
Watch it again and decide for yourself. It gets better every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking, visually stunning banquet of a film., 15 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Why do you enjoy a film? Is it because you leave the cinema with your head buzzing with the questions the film has raised? Is it because it was filled with heart-racing action? Did you just sit back and switch off while the film's special effects blew you away? Or do you just like a soppy love story?
It doesn't matter with The Matrix. The film fills every niche, from the most cerebral to the most superficial.
Science fiction haters will still love it, since, if you wish, you can ignore the SF supertext and enjoy the stories and action beneath it. Even Keanu Reeves haters will have to accept that his inability to show any emotion other than vacant fits his role as a no-life hacker perfectly.
This film is perfect for DVD, as it will be watched again and again and you can skip straight to your favourite bits. The DVD also includes fascinating "making of" material.
If you don't watch this film you missed out on one of the best films this century. Your loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A decade old, but more visually striking than many new films, 1 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I made a rule for myself not to go back and repurchase films I already had in my collection, I only had the matrix on VHS which is virtually redundant now, and a bit of an eye strain to watch on an HDTV, so I ordered this classic film in its latest visual incarnation. I had this preconceived notion that only recently released new films would show the real quality of Bluray. But I was wrong, and glad to be proven wrong, this movie from ten years ago looks every bit as good as a modern action film, if not better than most.

The movie is full of dark scenes which traditionally may have just limited how much detail was visible but with this version all the blacks are well defined, all their black outfits show their layers and woven structure excellently. All other colours look great too, particular good scenes include the agent training program where the colour and definition are so well pronounced, and any moment with a mirror or shiny sunglasses looks fantastically detailed, so much so that a finger print mark would be clearly visible. While most of the film has various colour filters applied it still looks completely blended and natural and not as if the colour filtering was a CG after-touch.

Facial textures are completely crisp, All the facial pores are visible, depending on your sharpness setting, it feels like a truly high definition experience to really see the pits in morpheus' face. Although it's a small thing, I really liked how dust looks in this high definition version. Picture grain is generally minimal with the exception of the plain white construct scenes. There is no blurriness in image anywhere and no jagged motion or artefacts.

The Sound quality is good, all the sound effects sound crisp and have good directional detail through a surround sound system. All the gun sounds are great, the green matrixy style opening is a very exciting sound test intro, and all the dialogue is clear to hear, and not drowned out by background noises.

A great film revived for the latest media capability, the high standards of filming and production used a decade ago seems to have paid off. Definitely worth getting for your collection but you really should have a good home set up to do it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Matrix [1999] [DVD]
The Matrix [1999] [DVD] by Matrix / Movie (DVD - 2011)
£4.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews