Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance
I bought this album for my mate for christmas. I listened to it and immediatley went out and bought it for myself. This is the first X album I've bought, but I have listened to 40 Dayz as well as Restless, and I can definatley say that this his XtotheZ's best work. The tracks 'Paparazzi' and 'The Foundation' are completley stunning. The cool, relaxed beats of the two...
Published on 8 Dec. 2001

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
At the Speed of life is a good song but not really to keen on the other tracks on the album
Published 22 months ago by Keith Chapman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, 8 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
I bought this album for my mate for christmas. I listened to it and immediatley went out and bought it for myself. This is the first X album I've bought, but I have listened to 40 Dayz as well as Restless, and I can definatley say that this his XtotheZ's best work. The tracks 'Paparazzi' and 'The Foundation' are completley stunning. The cool, relaxed beats of the two songs, together with Xzibit's harsh, commanding voice, make for two of the best hip hop songs ever. Plus the lyrics on both are fantastic. Also, the tracks 'At the speed of life' and 'Carry the weight' are true classics.
Really X is no Dr. Dre or Tupac, but if you're looking to get into Xzibit, and you like his contributions to the 'B Please' songs, then buy this...NOW! but if your just looking to get into hip hop in general, then your best of avoiding this album for awhile, and getting '2001' by Dr. Dre or 'All eyez on me' by Tupac. Great stuff though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paparazzi!, 8 Nov. 2001
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
Undoubtedly the best album from Mr.xtothaz. At the speed of life is an album that doesnt let you take it out of your stereo. If you are a fan of hip hop music this is a must! If you are unsure because you have heard a few tracks from xzibits latest album 'Restless' and thought they were pretty poor, this album is very different. Personally, I didn't like 'X' from 'Restless' at all. The standout track is 'Paparazzi'. X's strong rhyming flow and hard voice contrast brilliantly with the mellow beat. I have only one criticism for this album, Hurricane Gee's verse on 'Just Maintain'. To be fair, she handles the hookline well but her verse at the end sounds like a bad freestyle. But if you are still unsure about buying this album, i will make your mind up for you. BUY IT. Xzibit is on the same label as some excellent recording greats like, Wu-tang clan, Tha Liks, three 6 mafia and many more, the label is Loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best hip-hop albums of all time..., 20 Aug. 2003
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
Xzibit's 1996 debut album At The Speed Of Life is a wonderful, marvellous, mature, breathtaking and truly classic album with moments that inspire awe. From start to finish, At The Speed Of Life tingles the spine and distorts the senses. To get the vibe from it, you have to listen to the whole album, rather than just pick out two or three tracks. That's not to say that the album doesn't have its exceptionally great moments, in particular the incredible title track, the hit single Paparazzi, the chilling Carry The Weight and the gothic Enemies & Friends. Best of all, however, is The Foundation, produced by Cypress Hill's DJ Muggs, a hair-raising letter to Xzibit's then newborn son which features the actual cries of the rapper's baby. Xzibit's rhyming is exceptional, and the production, mainly handled by the Alkaholiks' E-Swift, is perfect. Despite Xzibit's reputation as a crazy, raw and rough type of MC, At The Speed Of Life is strangely mature and focused. It is a timeless classic and deserves a place in every hip-hop fan's collection. What's more, although Xzibit is based in LA, this album sounds as lyrical and swift as that of any East Coast rappers while Xzibit raps about the West and stays true to it. Forever a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest albums of all time...., 24 Nov. 2001
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
There are four hip hop tunes that really make me shiver, and two of them are xzibit's.
The first would be the awesome paparazzi, the melancholic beats, the sublime strings. the lyrical content is amazing. you have to think of Will Smith when you listen to it, paparazzi is all about the commercialisation of rap artists' (ie.Will smith), and the music itself.
The second is the Foundation. To put it simply, if you take "letter to my unborn" by tupac,and "just the two of us" by will smith, combine them make it better, and record it before either of the them. (1995)then you have tha foundation.
in summary The whole album is excellent, paparazzi, foundation and just maintain, are on their own worth the purchase price, go for it, a rap collection is not complete without xzibit. believe me, i know, I have over 300 rap cd's and it's in my top 5!!
just in case your curious, the other two songs I love are....
"Today was a good day" ice cube. probably the greatest old skool tune ever.
and
"Dear mama" tupac.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best hip hop recordings ever., 4 Nov. 2000
By 
gucci@dr.com (Knott end england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
The album is brilliant from start to finish. It starts off good and gets better and better. The beats to Eyes may shine and At the speed of life are phenominal they are just so well put together and go with his voice terifically. Papperazzia and The Foundation are also just as good. Papperazzi must go down as one of the best Hip Hop tunes ever made. The album is a showpiece of the talents of one of the most unique rappers in the industry. I can't tell you how good it is i can say that if you buy it you won't be disapointed. Respect to the man named X.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, from a true great, 9 July 2005
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
Xzibit burst onto the rap scene with his debut album at the speed of life. Having originally purchased man vs machine my friends had said it was not as good since dre was not producing it. this turned out to be untrue as you listen to the album you realise the strength of xzibits talents he is a true legend and this is a must have for all rap, no music fans it is truely great and no collection is complete without it. Good songs paparazzi and the foundation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best hip hop album ever!, 12 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
Paparazzi was the one which made him famous, but this album is full of unforgettable tunes. Much better than his later album. Very difficult CD to get hold of in the shops but well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best from Mr X to the Z, 7 Mar. 2003
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
After buying "Restless" i didn't think i would buy an xzibit album again. However, after herring "Paparazzi" on some game i thought i'd give him another shot. It paid dividens because not only did i buy it on offer it also had not one wack track. Songs like "The Foundation", "Carry The Weight" and "Positively Negative" complement the album but the opening track "At The Speed Of Life" is to dope for words. The Alkoholiks also provide energy for the album and go well with xzibits lyrical flow. So don't be put off buy his latest albums and check this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Early Album From Xzibit, 11 Mar. 2002
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
This album is XtothaZ's first album after leaving the undeground but it is arguably his best in terms of lyrics; which he brings of with his usual tight style. Top Tracks Being the huge 'Paparazzi', 'The Foundation', 'Carry the Weight', and 'Eyes May Shine'. I have this album but I lent it to a m8 who aint given it back an I'm suffering withdrawal - I need it back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars -- CLASSIC --, 11 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: At the Speed of Life (Audio CD)
This is simply one of the best albums I have ever heard. The lyrics are so on point in every song. The worst songs are better than most album's best songs. This is true hip hop.
BUY IT----WELL WORTH THE MONEY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At the Speed of Life
At the Speed of Life by Xzibit (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews