Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rap with a little soul, 20 July 2001
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
...Pun was an incredible rapper, and like Rap's other corpulant and recently deceased hero, Biggie Smalls, his voice had a certain natural rhythym and "weight" - but more than that, the power in Pun's songs came through his own knowledge he was not long for this world.
He was one of the few who talked about life and death and really meant it. yes, there are the obligatory (and especially unlikely) boastings about sexual episodes and murdering spree's - but beneath that is one of the saddest and most powerful records I have ever listened to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hip-Hop's Last Stand, 20 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
A lot of people think that real Hip-Hop ended after '98, and that's true for the most part. There have been a few releases like Stillmatic or Be, but Capital Punishment was probably mainstream Hip-Hop's final great moment.

This album has a generally light tone to it, compared to other hardcore gangsta records of that era, but it still managed to hit hard. Pun has an incredible vocabulary and manages to really let loose on tracks like Dream Shatterer where you feel like your player is gonna explode as he hear rhyme after rhyme, to a point you thought didn't exist. That's the skill Pun possessed and didn't fear puttin other rappers to shame with it. Like I said, the album has a light tone production-wise, lyrically it's one of the hardest discs you could get your hands on.

The album opens with a skit that reminds me of Genesis on Illmatic with the subway train. The first track, "Beware", bursts open with a small introduction to the fast-paced delivery of rhymes you're about to experience. "Super Lyrical" provides what it advertises, you might need to pause this track after every bar to catch up with him, with a Biggie sample on the chorus. The lighter tracks on this album are songs like "Still Not A Player", "Punish Me" and "You Came Up". The darker harder tracks offer more gangsta lyricism and production such as "Dream Shatterer" which offers a powerful violin beat. Also tracks like "Glamour Life", "Capital Punishment", the Deep Cover cover "Twinz" and the RZA produced "Tres Leches" provide the same hard lyrics. Pun spends most of the album both showin he's not to be taken lightly and giving us an insight into life in the Bronx.

The album packs a lot of tracks (24) but only has 16 songs. There are noticeably an overpopulation of skits which kinda interfere with the flow of the album, but if you (like me) became a hip-hop head in this latter period of Hip-Hop, where 50 cent and Dem Franchize Boys are gettin the most air-time and classic albums appeaer every third year or so, take a track back to '98 and discover one of the best Latin rappers to ever walk the earth. Get this if you know what's good for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 26 Oct 2006
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Big Puns debut album capital punishment is probably one of the best hip hop albums ever and most certaintly one of the most underrated albums ever! this album has no weak songs with all the songs packed out with brilliant lyrics and good beats. it is also has great guest appearances from artists such as black thought, prodigy, inspectah deck, busta rhymes, noreaga and wycleaf aswel as the terror squad. not to commercial but not to underground capital punishment has just the right blend that proved puns claim 'latin goin plaitinum was destined to happen'

people often forget about big pun and to an extent big l but if these rappers had released further LPs they would most certaintly be challenging pac and biggie for the best rappers of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Lyricist, 8 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
oh my god, i cannot believe only 3 people have reviewed this, its amazing!, big pun was one of the best lyricists ever, he had an unbelievably fast flow, and was, as i said, a great lyricist, this album has dark beats, and all the tracks are bangers, with puns flow matching them, some people may disagree with me, but i believe that big pun would have been better than biggie, had he made more than 1 album, and he could have been the best ever, he raps about a range of different things, he does storytelling, political, battle raps(his forte) and love songs, all of which he does brilliantly, he was a genius, and should not been forgotten, big pun, along with big L, is very underrated, especially in the UK, now i have capital punishment, i will be spreading the word about his greatness, if you buy it, you will also be amazed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Pun's Legacy, 13 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Audio CD)
Before his tragic death in early 2000, Bronx-based Big Punisher completed a tight second album called "Yeaa Baby", but the one he should be remembered for has to be his marvellous debut "Capital Punishment". Here is an album that achieves a lot and then some: first of all, Big Pun paved a way for Latino rappers by constantly switching to the Boricua-language. Secondly, the album reunites 24 songs - with only a few interludes - which are all backed by flawless production; check "Boomerang" or "Beware". Thirdly, Pun proves to have a witty sense of humour, as displayed on the nasty "I'm not a Player". But the major reason for considering this album a classic are its MC's magnificent microphone skills; see "Super Lyrical", see ... in fact, Pun shines on every single song. Every single syllable from this heavy-hitter is as deadly as any sort of capital punishment. Yes, this papi has definitely left his mark on hip hop. May he rest in peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a great album, 9 April 2006
By 
C. Mort "sickmc" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
This album is one ov my best,along there wiv pac an biggie!The lyrics are dope the beats are dope, the whole alum is dope!Buy it u wont regret it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BIG PUN, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Audio CD)
A high quality album.

If you appreciate a rythmic flow to your hip hop, this guy is practically untouchable.

Sometimes under rated or unheard of. because he was only around as a known and established figure for a couple of years before dying of a heart attack due to his weight. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy, Gangsta Rap...., 5 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Audio CD)
Capital Punishment was the first album to be released by the late rapper Big Punisher and what an album it is. To appreciate this CD you have to appreciate gangsta rap in general and those that do will love Capital Punishment. Heavy beats combined with the pure lyrical skill of Big Pun produce awesome gangsta tracks such as; 'Boomerang', 'You Ain't A Killer', 'Beware', 'Twinz' and 'Tres Leches' to name, literally, just a few on this jam-packed rap affair. Then there is the heavy but slightly laid back funky track 'Parental Discretion' featuring the one & only Busta Rhymes and the lighter, catchy tunes 'Still Not A Player' and 'Punish Me' adding variety to an already bargain buy with a total of 24 tracks. The lyrical skills displayed by Big Punisher in terms of speed and rhyme are, in my view, unmatched by any other rapper and his latino edge sets him apart from most in terms of style also. If you are after pure heavy gangsta fare that combines raw aggression with catchy, melodic production look no further; it's all in Capital Punishment.
If you like this try Big Punisher: Endangered Species
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phatt, 27 April 2001
By 
rcupo2k@hotmail.com (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Audio CD)
This album is probably one of the best rap albums i have, along with Eazy - E's-Eternal E and Ice Cube's-War & Peace. Every song is good! its a must have 4 rap fans. Twinz ( deep cover 98 ), and you ain't a killer are probably the best 2 songs on this album. Needed in ur collection of hip hop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!!!!, 28 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Capital Punishment (Audio CD)
Big Pun has one of the greatest flows of all time. Lyrically he can only be matched by people like Big L and Biggie, heres an example:
"Ay-yo I shatter dreams like Jordan, assault and batter your team
Your squadron'll be barred from rap like Adam & Eve from the garden
I'm carvin' my initials on your forehead
So every night before bed you see the "BP" shine off the board head
Reverse that, I curse at the first wack ----- with the worst rap
Cuz he ain't worth jack
hit 'em with a thousand pounds of pressure per slap
Make his whole body jerk back, watch the earth crack
hand him his purse back
I'm the first Latin rapper to baffle your skull
Master the flow, niggaz be swearin' I'm blacker than coal
Like Nat King, I be rapping and tongue's packing
The ones, magnums, cannons and gatling guns
It's Big Pun! The one and only son of Tony...Montana
You ain't promised manana in the rotten manzana
C'mon-pana we need more rhymers
feel the marijuana snake bite anaconda
I'm in Ivana with wine-a, try to match my persona
Sometimes rhymin' I blow my own mind like Nirvana
Comma, and go the whole nine like Madonna
Go try to find another rhymer with my kinda gramma"
Its such a tragedy that he died when he did as with Tupac, Big L Biggie and many others, he could have made many more classic albums like this.
Standout tracks are:
Beware
Dream Shatterer
Capital Punishment
Twinz
You Came Up
U Ain't A Killer
Classic tracks, this album ranks as number 3 in my collection behind Makaveli and Big L, CLASSIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Capital Punishment (Explicit Version)
Capital Punishment (Explicit Version) by Big Pun (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews