Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Production, Nice Rhymes
I'm a huge fan of Mobb Deep, and their follow-up to the classic 'Infamous' CD is not only as good as its predecessor, the beats are better on Hell On Earth. From the opening track right through to the last track, Havoc kills it with his production. And the great beats sets it up perfectly for Prodigy's smooth style of just non-stop raw rhyming. This...
Published on 7 Nov. 2005 by Mr. T. Jaconelli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good album, not packed full of great tracks but still good
Published 6 months ago by c r ridley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Production, Nice Rhymes, 7 Nov. 2005
By 
Mr. T. Jaconelli "jaco223" (Bangladesh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hell On Earth (Explicit) (Audio CD)
I'm a huge fan of Mobb Deep, and their follow-up to the classic 'Infamous' CD is not only as good as its predecessor, the beats are better on Hell On Earth. From the opening track right through to the last track, Havoc kills it with his production. And the great beats sets it up perfectly for Prodigy's smooth style of just non-stop raw rhyming. This album can't be missed, for all fans of true hip hop this is one of my favourite albums of all time, up there with 'Illmatic', 'Enter The 36 Chambers' etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark , Morbid , Grimey but Lyrically Brilliant, 19 July 2003
This review is from: Hell On Earth (Explicit) (Audio CD)
Hmmmmm..... No doubt about it , the "Infamous" album was a gem... no Hip Hop classic! Not many hip hop heads will argue with that one. It was always going to be difficult to top it and to revisit a rap audienece with the same formula and lyrical content was always going to be risky in a musical genre that is evolving so rapidly with innovators such as Dre , Timabaland and the Neptunes. This however is a tidy offerring , and lets not forget Havoc manopolises the beats for the infamous ones with no outside medling from others, so we really are being given a second bite of the mobb cherry here.
This album is a sinister tale of grimey rainy Tuesday New York street life with hammer house of horror style beats on "Night Time Vultures" the stroy of a hit on rival street affiliates
and the ground shaking, hard as nails agressive spitting " Still Shinin" in which the Mobb don't pull any punches dealing with critics, one being a certain Mr Tupac Shakur , say no more. .. The shiners on this baby are the Tupac dis response track , "Drop a gem on em " on which they tear into Mr Shakur
like a pear of wild Tony Soprano's on acid leaving nothing left for the birds. This track uses a sample from the movie "Love Story" and yeah I know what ya thinking "oh please " right.... WRONG these boys sodomise the origional tune as a sample for a background to one of the most savage outbursts of lyrical skill I have heard on Wax and I have been wigging rap since Heavy D's "Mr Big Stuff". This is track number 2 and leaves you reaching for the repeat button whilst burning a blank disc copy for the motor.
The album then drags you into the grimey Queens projects on small window glimpses of street corner hustles and pseudo Mobb life bustle driving you like a self propelled rocket launcher to ground zero and undoubtedly a rival alongside the great "Shook Ones Part 2" as a Mobb Deep all time must have. Ofcourse I mean "Hell On Earth". The opening words on this diamond are " eh yo the saga begins " and beleive me it does and no mistake. Poor yourself a glass of Henny , turn the lights out , roll one leg of your baggy grey Nike joggers up to just below the knee , hell even turn your cap backwards if it makes you enjoy the moment to its fullest , turn the light off and allow the Mobb to help you descend into the murky world of the grimey life. Its Gravy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply disturbing, reassuringly brilliant....., 28 Sept. 2000
This review is from: Hell On Earth (Explicit) (Audio CD)
I've come to the conclusion that I don't actually like the Mobb Deep duo of 'Havoc' and 'Prodigy', not because their rhyming and production skills are bad, quite the opposite in fact but because their rap personas illuminate all that is truly wrong with black America. This view is a testament to the duo's skill throughout this exceptional album as they paint a graphic portrait of ghetto America, its suffering and its inhabitants. There is something deeply pervasive and animalistic about Mobb Deep's detached view of human life which is fundamentally based upon the survival of the fittest. Musically this album cuts through the air like a sonic boom, the production is of the finest quality, the 'Louis Vuitton' or 'Beluga Caviar' of Hip Hop composition, if you like. Each track is created around metallic sounding drums which bounce heavily across gorgeous bass line rhythms and the use of sample breaks is simple and understated. Guest appearances from Wu-tang veterans 'Method Man' and 'Raekwon' add a mature substance to this third, and most accomplished, 'tour of duty' from Mobb Deep, who I really wouldn't like to meet on a dark night and judging by the inclusion of a distressing skit, it wouldn't be advisable to hang around outside their apartment block. This album is brilliantly disturbing. A must have in any record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic........, 22 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hell On Earth (Explicit) (Audio CD)
For anyone who was a fan of the "Infamous" album you'll love this. It does lack the freshness of the previous album "The Infamous" but lyricially and Musicially it is a masterpiece. Prodigy & Havoc paint a grim picture of Queensbridge and this is brought to life through Havoc's Cinematic production.
Right from the very first Song "Animal Instincts" you can tell Mobb Deep refined there skills both on the Mic and in the Studio the production is stunning. Method Man shows up for the bone chilling "Extortion" and drops one of his tighest verious full stop. There is also the chilling "More Trife Life" following on from the last album and there eerie "G.O.D. PT.3" which is rapped over one of the Scarface instrumentals. Nas makes an appearance on "Give It Up Fast" and no doubt Nas drops one of the best verses of his career.
In all i gotta say this album is a definte (5/5) Mobb Deep don't go anywhere new on this album in terms of subject matter and are repeating themselves from the last album. But the way they rap about it keeps you interested at all times and Havoc production gives them more of an edge over other "Hardcore" rappers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The darkest, the grimiest, 27 Oct. 2011
By 
M. Baynes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hell On Earth (Explicit) (Audio CD)
I have to admit I slept on this for a long time but I'm glad I finally took time to listen. 'Hell on Earth' is that grimy east coast hip hop that isn't made anymore, in many ways its a time capsule but one I dont mind being stuck in. The beats (produced by Havoc) are all huge sounding, sparse and full of atmosphere. Its the perfect soundtrack to a rainy day in the city. This isnt a party album, the lyrics and beats are all hardcore. Even though the album is nearly 20 years old now it still bangs hard. In my opinion they never bettered this album, its a classic and even features members of Wu Tang. Get it!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PRODIGY AND HAVOC GO IN!, 11 July 2010
By 
A92 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hell On Earth (Explicit) (Audio CD)
After listening to Mobb Deep's previous album "The Infamous" I was looking forward to listening to Hell On Earth. The album is much more dark than The Infamous and contains some quite unbelievable beat's and songs (my favourite being Hell On Earth.

Prodigy yet again deliver's lyrically and i cant think of many rapper's better than him during the mid-late 90's. Havoc also delivers instrumentally and this album remind's me why Mobb Deep were so great back then.

Recommendation -
This album isn't as good as The Infamous in my opinion. Nevertheless it is still a hip hop classic and i would definitely recommend you purchasing the album. 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best., 20 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Hell On Earth (Explicit) (Audio CD)
After 'The Infamous' album, Mobb Deep had to try and better it with this release 'Hell On Earth' & quite frankly i found this album RAW and pretty much on par with the previous album. Great production by Hav & if your looking for rhymes Prodigy had them for days back in 95/6. Check out the title track 'Hell On Earth' Prodigy kill's the last verse with authority. you can expect the gritty NY/QB feel, not as rough as a CNN album or as smooth as a Nas album...but the finesse feel of the INFAMOUS MOBB DEEP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite mobb album, 4 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Hell On Earth (Explicit) (Audio CD)
This is mobb at their absolute best,the lyrics are off the hook and grimy as ever but what stands out the most is the production,all done by Mobb themselves,every track is different but stayes hard and raw plus the guests are great(reakwon is my personal best)if you like real hip hop/rap then pick this up its a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius just like the first one., 29 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hell on Earth (Audio CD)
I deffinetly should have bought this CD a long time ago cause it's the best one I've bought in months. The enchanged section is also very cool and there is not a track on this CD who would get less then 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 19 Nov. 2007
By 
trapmuzik (london england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hell On Earth (Explicit) (Audio CD)
This album is great far better than there newer albums. I don't know why someone would give it 1 star this this album represents quality production and rhymes. They don't make it like they used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hell On Earth (Explicit)
Hell On Earth (Explicit) by Mobb Deep (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews