Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars9
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2006
This CD continues to knock my socks off - even though I've had it for about ten years! I love the more traditional CDs by Nusrat but Bally Sagoo injects an electricity here that is incredibly infectious.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2009
This album is amazing. It opens up Nusrat's music to the western world, so many youngsters would not have a clue about where to start in discovering the vocal talent that Nusrat possessed. Music is a fusion of Some of Nusrat's best vocals with western beats, strongly suggest worth listening to if you want an introduction to Nusrat's style / quwali
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
Greetings to you All,

Reviewer's Background: Pakistani by way of Lahore, grew up there in the 80s, 90s. Now 35, so listened to this feverishly for years. Met Ustad NFAK several times in the 90s in Lahore, and in London 96-97 when he was producing Sangam with Javaid Akhtar and was at its Premiere where Bally Sagoo (A GEM OF A GUY-humble, talented, literally sat in the back row).

I told Nusrat Uncle, "I actually like your Bally mixed stuff better than anything" and he would just smile and say "acha baraya hai" (it's well made)

As for the beats, you just can't listen to the beats in a vacuum and not understand that nearly 20 years ago, THERE WAS NO fusion of Eastern/Desi beats. Yes there were Desis trying to sound Western, but not an actual synthesis and remixing the way that Bally has achieved here. To fuse Synth-Pop with classical elements of Qawwal? Is no mean feat.

Also, none of Nusrat ji's vocals (IMHO) are compromised in any shape or form by the remixing. If anything they are amplified and rendered so much more playful.

Which brings us back to the reason why NFAK inspires so many in his own way- when he sings "Piya Ghar aya" or "Sanu Rog lawr walaya"- what does IT MEAN TO YOU? Bally added a hip, funky, cool energy and for me, the end product is better than the sum of the parts.

Bally, wherever you are, keep on. NFAK Ji, we still make dua for you.

-A Fan of all things that sound good.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Used to listen to this when I was a kid and it still sounds great today. Lots of classic tracks re-worked to make them appealing to the generation of the day. It was a different era but I wish Bally would go back to making music like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Nusrat's voice is great but, for me, he's best as a traditional Qawwal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
I love this Album my favourites Are Jhoole & Ali Da malang.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2002
the fusion of west with the east didn't work as was probably expected by Nusrat, but still, the level of poetic work and vocal skill is outstanding. Mera piya ghar aaya, jhoolay jhoolay laal, and Sahnoon Rog Laan Waalia are the songs I liked by far the most. If you are a die-hard fan of Nusrat, go for it, but if you're just getting your feet wet in the pool of Nusrat's creations, this might not give you the true idea of the true Nusrat
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2001
I have never been a fan of Nusrat Fateh Ali Kahn's "collaborations" (Michael Brook etc.) feeling they sound more cut and paste than a genuine musical partnership. This is excatly the case here. The music of Ali Kahn and his party is generally outstanding and often sublime and can do without the trivial interpretations of Western hangers-on like Brook and Sagoo. In this regard, Sagoo not only fails dilmally to offer any decent interpretation of Qwaali, he shrouds an outstanding performer's vioce with tinkly midi-esque synths and that scourge of 80s psudeo hip-hop - the beat-box! Avoid at all cost.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.24
£2.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)