Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Chan fans
Classic Kung Fu from a very young Jackie Chan. The storyline is a formularic tale of rivalry between two schools of Kung-Fu, on one hand the proponents of the snake fist school of fighting, the other school favouring the Eagle's claw. The fight scenes are not quite so breath-taking as modern Kung Fu films such as Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, nor as spectacularly clever...
Published on 18 Oct 2005 by R. Davies

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It is a very good movie but it is not a very good version
i saw this movie on vhs before 9 years ago , you cant compare this dvd version with the vhs that i saw because it was a very poor version but it is better than this dvd version on one thing.
the vhs version(that i saw ) is uncut version and this dvd version is the cut version and that is sad because they cut two scene.
the most beutiful scene that they cut...
Published on 1 Nov 2003 by Agus A. Ibrahim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Chan fans, 18 Oct 2005
By 
R. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Classic Kung Fu from a very young Jackie Chan. The storyline is a formularic tale of rivalry between two schools of Kung-Fu, on one hand the proponents of the snake fist school of fighting, the other school favouring the Eagle's claw. The fight scenes are not quite so breath-taking as modern Kung Fu films such as Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, nor as spectacularly clever as later Chan directed fights but the script is hilariously tongue in cheek and bears watching time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It is a very good movie but it is not a very good version, 1 Nov 2003
By 
Agus A. Ibrahim "Jiraiya" (kuwait) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
i saw this movie on vhs before 9 years ago , you cant compare this dvd version with the vhs that i saw because it was a very poor version but it is better than this dvd version on one thing.
the vhs version(that i saw ) is uncut version and this dvd version is the cut version and that is sad because they cut two scene.
the most beutiful scene that they cut when jackie get kicked by the bad guy in the last fight in the movie when he uses snake fist technique in the first when the bad guy broke his teeth and cut his shirt before he shows the cat claw technique and combine it with the snake technique.
in my opinion they ruin the most beutiful secne in the the most beutiful movie for jackie chan... that is sad : (
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Chan, 17 Sep 2010
By 
P. J. Potter "Phil" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
Formulaic early Jackie Chan fare full of his usual slapstick. Almost identical plot points to Drunken Master, that's since become old hat with The Karate Kid;
On a hill somewhere a master of Eagle Fist schools some sucker who thinks his Snake style is the bomb,
Chan starts off being seen inferior to everyone, engages in wacky floor cleaning shenanigans,
Chan picks up a particular style throughout the film whilst being another's underling,
TRAINING MONTAGE,
Final fight where...well, I won't spoil it.
Not the best Chan film at all but decent enough watch, he'd go on to greater stuff in a few years with Project A, Wheels on Meals and Armour of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Jackie Chan in one of his best action performances, 17 April 2000
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is simply packed with superbly coreographed kung-fu sequences from beginning to end. Jackie Chan's development of his own technique is excellent fun to watch, and Hwang Jang Lee is superb as the villain, showing off his own incredible kung fu skills. The plot doesn't amount to very much, simply acting as a showcase for the kung fu action, but if that is what you are looking for then this film is thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snake in the eagles's shadow, 8 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
For me this is one of the best Kung fu films ever made. You have Jackie Chan at his best in terms of comedy and fighting and you have Sam Seed as his friend/teacher, but its the performance given by Hwang Jang Lee that really made me watch this film over and over again. I cant think of a better villain or a better fighter then Hwang Jang Lee. The picture quality and sound are great and the extra features are also good ecspecally the kicking showcase by the master of kicking combat himself, yes its Hwang Jang Lee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of his best, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
If u dnt watch any other Jackie Chan movie ever make this ur choice. Awe inspiring fight seens, unbelievable training footage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I had this film on video years ago and someone swiped it. I have looked for it in the past but the prices have always been a bit of a joke. I found this copy by this seller for a good price. Really good quality! Great classic Jackie Chan movie. Snake in the Monkeys shadow is easier to get but Snake in the Eagles shadow not so easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jackie Chan at his peerless best, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Lava (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film about thirty years ago and haven't seen it since, so it was great to revisit my youth in martial arts and appreciate a true master at the height of his powers. One of the true classics in a genre littered with grim fakes, poor substitutes and wannabes. Up there with Drunken Master and the best of Bruce Lee, like Enter The Dragon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JANG LEE HWANG IS THE BEST, 20 Mar 2012
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
5 stars for this great film only because this dvd is not the best available in the market.
Anyways, most people like jackie chan who is the star BUT for me the ONLY AND UNDISPUTED GREATEST MARTIAL ARTIST OF ALL TIME IS THE ONE AND ONLY THUNDERLEG THE 10 DAN STAR FIGHTER COREAN MILITARY SI-BU WHO CAN ONLY LOSE IN MOVIES CAUSE HE PLAYS THE VILLAIN BUT IN REAL LIFE JACKIE CHAN, BRUCE LEE AND THE REST OF THE GANG WOULD HAVE NO CHANCE OF WINING...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars arabianight, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] (DVD)
always been my fan as long as i can rember i nearly 100 years old, so i had a problem with my fauls teeth falling out when i laughed, so next time i will get super glue3,brillent films jackie chan films is a heath buster, for me i hope i out live to meet him sum day, or be offered a role in one of his film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD]
Snake In The Eagle's Shadow [1978] [DVD] by Woo-ping Yuen (DVD - 2000)
10.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews