Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of David Thewlis' best films!
This is based on the book "Divorcing Jack" by Colin Bateman and the film is just as funny as the book, if not funnier. David Thewlis stars as Dan Starkey, a columnist who likes his drink. One day, he meets a young woman and after being caught kissing her by his wife, she throws him out. After the young woman is murdered and he becoems the prime suspect, it is up[ to him...
Published on 4 Feb 2007 by Helen Yates

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bought as a present
I believe its very good as i bought it for my boyfriend. he absolutly loves it its his second one as he lent it out and didnt get back.
Published 21 months ago by anonymous


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of David Thewlis' best films!, 4 Feb 2007
By 
Helen Yates "ecco1983" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is based on the book "Divorcing Jack" by Colin Bateman and the film is just as funny as the book, if not funnier. David Thewlis stars as Dan Starkey, a columnist who likes his drink. One day, he meets a young woman and after being caught kissing her by his wife, she throws him out. After the young woman is murdered and he becoems the prime suspect, it is up[ to him to find a man called "Jack" and solve the murder. Of course, there is more to the situation than meets the eye...

The story is quick and pacy with lots of twists and turns. The best thing about the film though is Thewlis. He is hilraious as Starkey whose dress sense is the only thing worse than his drinking. A recommended film for Thewlis film but if you are up for some dark comedy, then give this film a try!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky & Funny like Badder Santa, 20 Nov 2011
By 
L. A. Marek "1871schoolhouse" (COCOA BEACH, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I couldn't name one single hook that's snagged me again & again with this movie, could be the black newspaper reporter from Boston, the slapper nun & nurse, or the hilariously drunken David Thewlis, every actor in this movie just excells at their craft. I travel extensively and at least once a year I have to see this movie once more - and the quickest way to get my fix has been just ordering another DVD. I've scattered copies of this flick all over the planet and enjoyed every minute of each rerun. Quirky & funny along the lines of 'Badder Santa' and it just gets better with each view. So take good care of your used copies of Divorcing Jack - I'll be buying a copy from you in the future - guaranteed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisty and turny with a few more twists, 7 Nov 2000
By A Customer
With more twists than a twisty, turny thing after a course in twisty-ness, Divorcing Jack puts the singular comic talents of David Thewlis under the microscope and he comes up smelling of un-fertilised roses. A gem of a performance to light up a gem of a flick, the comic character blends well with a simply baffling plot. Anyone who didn't understand LA Confidential will have trouble working this one out, but it's well worth the effort. Potato flinging, a snogging nun, a vanshing tape and some unexpected explosions enliven a roller coaster of a Celtic caper, with Thewlis exceptional as the hack who is never out of the firing line. Hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and a good watch, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Colin Bateman is an Belfast author with a great sense of humour and this film of his entertaining book of the same name is true to his style and humour. Thewlis, as always, is top class. Well worth adding to a collection of good British films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Marvellous Film, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Director David Caffrey has made an enormously funny yet often tragic film here. The plot is cunning and witty, and takes you on a thrilling ride through the unexpected. David Thewlis is once again in a league of his own. This the kind of action comedy that both entertains and makes you think it equal measures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twisty and turny with a few more twists, 7 Nov 2000
By A Customer
With more twists than a twisty, turny thing after a course in twisty-ness, Divorcing Jack puts the singular comic talents of David Thewlis under the microscope and he comes up smelling of un-fertilised roses. A gem of a performance to light up a gem of a flick, the comic character blends well with a simply baffling plot. Anyone who didn't understand LA Confidential will have trouble working this one out, but it's well worth the effort. Potato flinging, a snogging nun, a vanshing tape and some unexpected explosions enliven a roller coaster of a Celtic caper, with Thewlis exceptional as the hack who is never out of the firing line. Hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bought as a present, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I believe its very good as i bought it for my boyfriend. he absolutly loves it its his second one as he lent it out and didnt get back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oirish farce, 19 Nov 2006
By 
B. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Great book, good attempt on film. However...

Whilst I understand that the number of Northern Irish actors may be limited, the accents employed in the film were awful. The American journalist had a better Irish accent than Robert Lindsay. Minor criticisms perhaps but it spoiled the authenticity of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expect the unexpected, 19 Oct 2001
This review is from: Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Go see Jack for a "divorce" imediatly!! David Caffrey has welded together a hillariously funny and exiting movie. The plot is cunning and witty, and takes you on a enjoyable and amazing wild ride through the unexpected. David Thewlis is once again in a league of his own. This the kind of actioncomedy that`ll entertain you over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Divorcing Jack, 9 Nov 2003
By 
David Dempsey (Edinburgh UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Loved the book, dont think the film quite matched the book tough, it was an enjoyable film but as with most books that get made into films, too much is cut out and someone else interpritation is never quite the same as your own, still one worth watching though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998]
Divorcing Jack [DVD] [1998] by David Caffrey (DVD - 2003)
4.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews