Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic
This is without doubt one of the best sci-fi/time travel movies ever made. 12 Monkeys demands more from the viewer than your average movie.
The plot is intelligent, the acting is superb and it looks beatifully gritty.
I never get tired of watching this film, it's a classic that constantly rewards the viewer with each subsequent viewing.
Published on 27 Jan 2008 by Frozen Flame

versus
34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gilliam at his best, but an awful tranfer
Much like other reviews of this film - it's a shining example of Gilliam's directorial vision, with a deliciously circuitous storyline and a fantastic ensemble cast in one of the best sci-fi flicks of the 90s.

Share the blue-ray transfer is so weak - it honestly doesn't look much better than the DVD (which I also own) put through a decent upscaler. Details are...
Published on 12 Mar 2010 by Zarniwoop


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catch one of these monkeys, 17 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I think this is a great film which keeps you wondering about what is real and what is inside Cole's head. Lots of surreal scences like the wild animals walking about in Philadelphia. Kept my interest all the way through. Entertaining, thought-provoking ...
The "Hamster Factor" making of documentary is very interesting too ... makes me wonder how did we ever live before DVD's with these sorts of extras ? they add such depth to the overall entertainment experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars twelve monkeys dvd, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
i bought this for my son because he had been looking for it for ages he said it was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exciting sci-fi thriller, 25 May 2009
By 
J. Beeson "The Jay-man" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is a very good film if you like your films to be a little crazy. Terry Gilliam certainly has a warped view when it comes to directing films!.. Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DESTINED TO BE A CLASSIC, 22 Dec 2000
UNLIKE MOST GILLIAM FILMS, WHERE STYLE OFTEN SUBSTITUTES FOR SUBSTANCE, THIS ONE MANAGES TO COMBINE BOTH IN TO A SPELLBINDING JOURNEY, NOT SO MUCH THROUGH TIME AS THROUGH THE HUMAN PSYCE.
ALL THE CENTRAL PERFORMANCES ARE EXCELLENT PARTICULARLY PITT AS THE DEMENTED JEFFERY GOINES. THE DIRECTION IS SHARP AND TO THE POINT. GILLIAM DOES NOT TAKE US ANYWHERE WE DONT NEED TO GO, OR SHOW US ANYTHING WE DONT NEED TO SEE.
VISUALLY 12 MONKEYS IS ON A PAR WITH BLADE RUNNER, IN THAT IN CONVEYS A VERY DARK FORBODING FUTURE WORLD - THE MODERN WORLD AINT TOO BRIGHT EITHER HERE.
THIS IS NOT REALLY A SCI-FI MOVIE - IT IS MORE OF A PSYCOLOGICAL THRILLER - WITH SCI-FI ELEMENTS. IT POSES A NUMBER OF VERY INTERESTING QUESTIONS - WHO IS SANE - WHO IS MAD - WHAT IS THE NATURE OF INSANITY. THE GUY SITTING BESIDE YOU ON THE BUS MAY BE VERY NORMAL TO ALL INTENTS AND PURPOSES - BUT COULD BE A RAVING NUTTER.
THE TIME TRAVEL PARADOX BIT - WHICH CAME 1ST ETC ETC IS PARTIALLY ANSWERED HERE - BOTH - ONE DOES NOT EXIST WITHOUT THE OTHER. THE SECOND PARADOX - MEETING YOURSELF - AND WITNESSING YOUR OWN DEATH IS HANDLED WITH OUT TOO MUCH FUSS - YET STILL MANAGES TO BE AN INTEGRAL PART OF THE FILM.
ALL IN ALL - A ROLLERCOASTER RIDE THRU TIME AND INSANITY TO RIVAL ANYTHING ELSE IN EITHER GENRE. WITH A LIMITED AMOUNT OF FUSS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Monkeys Review, 6 Mar 2003
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film is pure genius. I cant really fault in anyway. It is mind-bloogling half of the time but you still no whats going. As the pieces of the puzzle fit together you think...o yeah, of course. It is quite and old film, but as they have keep the technology part of the film quite low key you really dont notice its age much. But what you do notice is the quality of the acting...wow! Bruce Willis gives one of the best performances of his career and Brad Pitt is very convincing. Overall the film is not aimed at children beacuse it is a very mind consuming film. Brillaint, shame it didnt get enough attention from the media. If you aint heard of it, well neither had i till i watched it. And the ending is class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent excellent, 26 April 2003
By 
jason laight (gloucester, gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
What can i say this film is probably one of the best films i have ever seen it just has something special about it, it sticks in your head and makes you think, every time i have watched it i get that feeling you get when you are watching a great film for the first time. an excellent performance from all the leading actors. Just pure genuis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Waaay-heeeeyyyyy!, 17 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
not bad, not bad at all. bruce in a vest yet again. whether you 'get it' or not this film is still highly enjoyable and intriguing. the amount of people who watched it and then asked, "what's it all about?" astounds me still. great performances by willis, pitt and stowe all contribute to what i'm sure will turn into a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sent promptly, exceptable quaility,, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Sent promptly, exceptable quaility, gets rid of ugly Staines, fun at parties, improves your sexxx appeal, promotes Anglo - Scottish relations, buffs up to a high gloss on Cars and Bikes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Opinion Twelve Monkeys, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
arrived on time. Do not like the movie though. It has a very good cast but the script and di5rection leave much to be desired as the viewer is always guessing what is going on well into the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over rated., 13 Aug 2009
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A reasonable story, certainly bleak, but the future sequences are just too zany to make sense. What is that thing that moves around in front of James Cole when he is sat in the "chair"? It seems to have lots of little TV screens on it of various shapes. OK make it futuristic, but not just plain weird.

Also talk about zany. Brad Pitt's portrayal of a mad man was totally unconvincing, he was simply zany.

Madeleine Stowe's psychiatrist became convinced by him far too easily. What a coincidence that she just happened to have a photograph of him pinned on her wall.

The time travel is zany too, but this is where being zany fits in. Overall, I would say watch the film, but it is not brilliant, and it is a long film too, perhaps too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996]
Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] by Terry Gilliam (DVD - 1999)
4.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews