Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic
This is without doubt one of the best sci-fi/time travel movies ever made. 12 Monkeys demands more from the viewer than your average movie.
The plot is intelligent, the acting is superb and it looks beatifully gritty.
I never get tired of watching this film, it's a classic that constantly rewards the viewer with each subsequent viewing.
Published on 27 Jan 2008 by Frozen Flame

versus
34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gilliam at his best, but an awful tranfer
Much like other reviews of this film - it's a shining example of Gilliam's directorial vision, with a deliciously circuitous storyline and a fantastic ensemble cast in one of the best sci-fi flicks of the 90s.

Share the blue-ray transfer is so weak - it honestly doesn't look much better than the DVD (which I also own) put through a decent upscaler. Details are...
Published on 12 Mar 2010 by Zarniwoop


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Classic, 27 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is without doubt one of the best sci-fi/time travel movies ever made. 12 Monkeys demands more from the viewer than your average movie.
The plot is intelligent, the acting is superb and it looks beatifully gritty.
I never get tired of watching this film, it's a classic that constantly rewards the viewer with each subsequent viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly perfect, dramatically bold time travel story, 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
They say it's easier to write a sad song than it is write a happy one. The same goes for reviews. A flawed, or terrible film gives you plenty to moan about. A movie were everything about it ranges from good to sublime leaves you with very little to say. And so it is with 12 Monkeys were the only complaints I can dredge up are tiny little niggles.

I'm not saying the film is perfect, but it's very close to it. The story is properly compelling, it's well told, well paced, well acted etc. It's also visually one of the most interesting looking films I've ever seen. There is often a surreal quality to the images with extensive use of Dutch angles (camera slanted to put most things in the frame on a diagonal slope). I wouldn't call it a pretty film, just that it's visually inventive and constantly attention grabbing in a pleasing way.

I think the director himself once said that the acting of Bruce Willis and Brad Pitt has a tendency to split audiences. Most people think one gives a great performance and the other one a weak, overly mannered one. I've previously thought Brad Pitt's acting was a bit fake and unconvincing. Over time I've grown to think he's good, not outstanding or anything, but appropriate for a mentally unstable person.

The child actor during the airport scene is a minor weak link as he seems to be over-emoting like crazy with his eyes. He's not bad or annoying, he's just not note perfect.

Logically the film is not one hundred percent watertight, though I doubt many, if any, time travel films ever are. There might be some holes, but the film is too good to be affected by them. Why don't they go further back in time and correct their own mistakes (the airport scene at the end throws up a few questions along this line)? A question like this is kind of pointless as it's simply more dramatic and poignant the way it is.

This is one of my all time favourite movies. The script and direction are as good as any film I've ever seen. Bruce Willis gives his best performance and basically everything else about the film is either good or borderline perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible stuff., 13 Mar 2004
By 
Beautiful Freak (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
It may be my short attention span, but usually so-called ‘cult’ films do not do it for me. However, the exception would have to be 12 monkeys. Treading on the border between reality and fantasy, Terry Gilliam takes you on an uncompromising, dark and chilling journey into his beautifully crafted dreamworld. This is not a simple film: you may have to watch it several times to understand it fully, and Gilliam is careful to leave some unanswered questions.
There are outstanding performances from Bruce Willis, Madeleine Stowe and Brad Pitt, and the plot is complex and absorbing, but in my opinion it is the hand of the director that has made this film so outstanding. Those who have seen The Ring will know that repetition of motifs and clues: things-you-know-you’ve-seen-earlier-but-you-can’t-quite-remember-where, can produce the greatest shiver up the spine, and this is certainly true here. From the mesmerising symbol of the Twelve Monkeys, showing in hallucinogenic spirals at the starting credits, to the image of a lion on a rooftop, the boy in the well, or a suitcase covered with labels, Gilliam tugs at our awareness and our senses. In certain scenes, such as the bizarre dream-sequence repeated throughout the film, reality is suspended: the characters wear bright, improbable clothes against a white background to create the question: what is real? This surrealism is echoed in other shots where we see, for instance, a herd of giraffes galloping down a motorway. Gilliam lays this bizarre beauty against the genuine terror of the voices in Bruce Willis’s head, until you can no longer be true what is the product of the bending of the laws of nature in sending people back in time, and what is the product of Cole’s disturbed mind. A chilling, apocalyptic film that should definitely be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good film and interesting extras, 14 April 2011
By 
Luis Temes Rodriguez (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
twelve monkeys
Video: 1080p high definition widescreen 1.85:1
Audio: English DTS-HS Master audio 5.1: frencha canadian, italian, spanish, latin american spanish dts surround 5.1
Subtitles: english SDH, french acanadian, italian, spanish, latin american spanish, korean, swedish, danish, finnish, dutch, norwegian, portuguese, greek, traditional madarin

very good film with a good trasnfer, but the extras are all low definition, even thou they are interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monkey business, 7 Mar 2005
By 
Louise Stanley (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A real thriller of a film, carefully crafted and so well-thought out that I used it in a philosophy essay about time-travel at university.
The two main actors - Brad Pitt and Bruce Willis - are so unbelievably good that you can feel both James Cole's anguish and Geoffrey Goines' agitation oozing from the screen. Madeleine Stowe's attempts to rival her male colleagues fall a bit flat - she seems a bit like a jumpy Alanis Morisette in the "Ironic" video rather than the character she is supposed to be playing (it would have been better had Railly remained calmer and more composed as a foil to Cole and Goines' supposed lunacy) but gives a decent performance.
The exquisite location filming and atmospheric use of dirt and decay made me think I was in some Orwell novel - don't watch this without taking a long hot shower afterwards - but the tension between Cole's mission and longing for the "good ol' days" is poorly developed, as is the romance between Cole and Railly - perhaps there isn't supposed to be one, but the on-screen hints were sending confusing mixed messages out, and the film would not have suffered had there been less ambiguity, particularly in the final scenes.
There is an 87 minute "Hamster Factor" documentary also on the DVD but I was so exhausted by the film that to sit through almost as much again immediately afterwards was too much. More information on the cast would have been nice as well, but at the end of the day a good movie should speak for itself - and this one does so at a high volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twelve Monkeys (Blu-ray version)...., 22 Jan 2013
Director Terry Gilliam's Twelve Monkeys which is a story set in the year 2035 starring Bruce Willis as the reluctant "volunteer" aided by Doctor Kathryn Railly played by Madeline Stowe, they have only have two clues to solve the puzzle of the Twelve Monkeys which threatens to completely erase humanity from existence this was originally released in the cinema in the U K in April 1996.

Released on Blu-ray on a 50GB disc in 1080p in 1.85.1 aspect ratio with English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 the disc also includes French Canadian, Italian, Spanish, Latin America Spanish DTS Surround 5.1 audio tracks and the following subtitles English for the hard of hearing, French Canadian, Italian, Spanish, Latin American Spanish, Korean, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Dutch, Norwegian, Portuguese, Greek and Traditional Mandarin in September 2009 comparing this to the DVD release is like night and day the soundtrack is more atmospheric and detailed the colours have more depth along with the greater range of blacks make this a worthy up-grade.

The bonus material includes the making of documentary: The Hamster and other tales of Twelve Monkeys, The Theatrical trailer, Twelve Monkeys photo gallery, Audio commentary with Terry Gilliam and producer Charles Roven...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gilliam at his best, but an awful tranfer, 12 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much like other reviews of this film - it's a shining example of Gilliam's directorial vision, with a deliciously circuitous storyline and a fantastic ensemble cast in one of the best sci-fi flicks of the 90s.

Share the blue-ray transfer is so weak - it honestly doesn't look much better than the DVD (which I also own) put through a decent upscaler. Details are horribly soft, although grain is still very high in places. Seeing as this is a VC1 encode as opposed to the much poorer MPEG2 transfers there shouldn't really be any excuse; as it is this just seems to be another "release it on blu-ray as quickly as possible!" cash ins. Wait for a better release.

If you want a really good HD experience, give Blade Runner or Zulu a whirl first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complex time travelling mystery with a preaching edge, 3 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Terminator, Donnie Darko and Bill and Ted's excellent adventure have all debated the mystic art of travelling to and from collective points in time. Throughout this wonderfully colourful and exuberant picture Gilliam contests the implications of time travel and how it affects society.

Bruce Willis is the time traveller as he is sent from the future to suss out the beginning of the end for humanity. This complex ideology provokes meaning of health, disease in the face of humans and animals and strikes a provocative note for the way the world is being run. 14 years since its release and issues with animal testing and time travel are still present in our world and with this being a good preacher, alerting us to the environment's dangers; this is also a timeless picture, easily watchable again and again.

Like Donnie Darko you will need to watch it over and over to fully comprehend the hidden messages. The climax is heavily debated and open to many depictions. This is a very good picture owing to its preaching ideologies and masterful open situations.

However there are a few issues to be debated. For one the ending whilst brilliantly open still leaves a massive weight to be decided. There is an overload of characters with not a strong depiction on many except the central three. Though you will want to watch it again the first viewing gives the viewer an awful lot to deal with but it is certainly worth it come the finale.

Willis is good as the central protagonist keeping a clever restraint on his character's emotions whilst Brad Pitt's elaborately provocative protagonist excels in being mentally unstable but with a hidden agenda that adds delicious mystery and tension at all the right places. His Oscar nomination fully deserved.

Gilliam, a master of the unusual, brings his elaborate styling to this picture with the future depicted as cellmate survivors chosen to go into the past and the guard ruling from high chairs. The selection process is wonderfully weird with Cole's brief future stint on the earth's surface exceptionally breathtaking. This particular scene marks the picture's cinematography highlight with the snow and the lion placing the picture right into its main point, the future. There are occasional over steps, such as the weird ball shaped object Cole looks into before travelling in time and the section in the war seemed a bit unnecessary.

Whilst there are minor slip ups this is a wonderfully imaginative picture that excels on its issues of real life and the climate we live in. Gilliam shines with profound imagination with the story revolving and turning till the excellent end scene.

7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie - Shame about the Transfer, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Ian R. Wylie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent film but unfortunately the transfer of this movie to Blu ray does not really warrant a High Definition tag. Although the movie sound has been upgraded, the picture quality is rather poor.

This Blu ray disc is worth it, only IF you can get it for a BUDGET price, as it is easily the worst picture transfer I have seen on Blu ray so far for a major movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Movies Ever!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Still one of the best movies! I bought this, having watched Twelve Monkey's years ago, because I couldn't remember the end. It definitely has one of the best twists in any movie. Pitt, Willis, and Stone make a perfect cast and this is by far Terry Gilliams best film. Other movies that are in this genre are Looper and The Fifth Element - interestingly both also star Bruce Willis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996]
Twelve Monkeys [DVD] [1996] by Terry Gilliam (DVD - 1999)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews