Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars36
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2009
A note to the editor of this DVD: never, ever cut off Mark Knopflers'solo when he's doing what he does best! The whole point of buying "The Best of Dire Straits" is to be able to do just that i.e, enjoy the best of Dire Straits.
I would have liked to have known beforehand that the Live performances on the DVD were incomplete. In which case I would never have bought it.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2002
I bought thid dvd with some trepidation, not knowing what to expect (apart from the music of course). What can I say? I was impressed and continue to be so. The dvd contains all the favourites (the only notable exception really being Telegraph Road) and the videos are excellent too, providing you with a great visual companion to the music. The section where Mark Knopfler describes the meanings behind the songs is superb, giving a real insight into the man and his music. I have watched this over and over and really cannot recommend it any higher. I don't wish to end on a down side, but the only thing that stops me giving this five stars is the fact that Sultans of Swing fades out just as Mark Knopfler launches into his final solo, surely one of the best pieces of guitar playing ever. Criminal!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2004
As a huge long-time fan of Dire Straits and Mark Knopfler I'm afraid to say this DVD is a disappointment. The tracklisting is more or less the band's singles in chronological order (which unfortunately means the epic Telegraph Road - which should be on any 'best of' - is missing here). In fact it's a very similar tracklisting to the earlier 'Dire Straits - The Videos' release, so anyone already owning that needn't really bother with this.
Most of the early videos look incredibly dated now and the low-budget efforts supporting Romeo and Juliet and Tunnel of Love are a bit embarrassing to watch. By the time of the Brothers of Arms album the budgets and quality have improved and the computer graphics which accompany Money For Nothing - very innovative back then - are still enjoyable to watch. Calling Elvis, with its Thunderbird puppets of the band is good fun too.
The fantastic music speak for itself but Dire Straits were never the most 'visual' of bands. And, as other reviewers have mentioned, the way some of the videos cut off the amazing closing solos is extremely annoying. Rather than this halfhearted effort, the record company would serve fans much better by releasing Alchemy Live on DVD with some extras worthy of this great band.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2007
Anybody who fades out the guitar solo in Sultans of Swing doesn't deserve to edit a Straits DVD. Unfortunately, that is the first track and it sets the scene for the whole set except for the last track which is a moving live rendition of Local Hero. Too much artistic interpretation and not enough raw Knopfler.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2004
From other reviews it seems that people are discussing different DVDs. I am referring to the one that is in agreement with the title and cover as shown in Amazon.
And it is clearly a great DVD. You get 16 videos plus an interview with Mark Knopfler.
The picture quality is great; several videos (all in full color) have certainly been remastered. Sound is also very good.
In the DVD, most of the great Dire Straits hits are included, like “Sultans of swing”, “Romeo and Juliet”, “Tunnel of love”, “Money for nothing”, “Brothers in arms” or “Private investigations”.
Pity that “Portobello belle”, “Where do you think you're going”, “Down to the Waterline” and “Telegraph Road”, are not included. If no video for these songs was available, a video from a live show would make this DVD perfect. This is the sole reason I do rate this as a 4 (instead of 5) stars DVD.
If you like Dire Straits this is one DVD you won’t regret to buy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2002
It's the music of Dire Straits in DVD so you can't
ask anymore.I agree that the videos aren't the best but that's because DS is not a new band so the videos are from 80's.The sound is a little bit
better than the CD or the same but if you want to own the videos forever with a sound like in a CD you must buy this DVD.
Therefore,you can watch the progression of DS since Sultans of Swing.
So I recommend this DVD to people who loves Dire Straits or Mark Knopfler and people who loves other bands like Pink Floyd,Genesis,Bruce Springsteen,Eric Clapton,...
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2008
Only about 5 tracks have proper film of the band despite it being apparent that film of other tracks were available to the DVD makers. Even then the idiot editing this chose to fade out "Sultans of Swing" at the beginning of the final solo - a musical crime! Other tracks were either visually messed about with, played over crummy modern "dance Routines" or even worse, cartoon representations of the band or storyline.
On the few decent filmed tracks the camera work was also lacking at times in choosing to show the wrong band member or just the face rather than the playing of their instrument. Dire Straits, as ever, were musically immaculate but you can get that from the CD. This DVD does them a great injustice. A bonus was a brief interview with Mark Knofler about each of the songs but for some reason it was in sound only! A serious let down!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
This is a severe disppointment to a long-term Dire Straits fan. It is basically old footage (black and white) cobbled together with low-budget videos over 20 years old. It looks like it has been spliced together in someone's back bedroom with shearing scissors. I urge all who believe as I do that Mark Knoplfer is a genius to avois this cobblers at all cost!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2003
This was the first DVD I bought (at full price!!) when we got the new DVD player. Great opening with stunning close-ups of the finger work, and it would have been fine if it had continued in the same concert style. But pauses between tracks and some hopeless graphics as the only visuals over the music is NOT what was expected. Sorry but - anyone who sits and watches this stuff has got to be a bit sad. I speak as one of a pair who love DS, MK, Local Hero, and doing the rumba to most tracks!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2002
as im pretty much biased im expected to say its brilliant, but yes... what a great dvd it is! it captures all of dire straits' best moments from from 'chicken pickin' snap of sultans to that ever so sweet guitar tone on brothers in arms. a must for any straits fan and a worthwhile collection even if you are not. Picture is pretty good but grainey in areas and sound also stands up to it's moments, only if it was mixed in '5.1'..
Buy it, load it, crank up ur amp and enjoy!! yer!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)