Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atomic!
Having bought the original DVD away back in 1999 (in the old-style transparent plastic case and everything), I have to say I was aprehensive about paying the extra money for the extra scenes and interviews. However, it was well worth it.
To recap, Trainspotting follows the lives of three junkies (Renton, Sick Boy and Spud) and a psychopath (Begbie) in Edinburgh...
Published on 27 July 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy on Blu Ray
DO NOT BUY THIS ON BLU-RAY!!! The transfer is a mess and ruins a great film. The image judders resulting in some scenes that almost seem to be running in slow motion for a few seconds, the first 40 minutes are perticulary bad.

Avoid.
Published on 16 Jun 2009 by Mr. B. L. Haskell


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and terrifying, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I saw this one when I was just a kid and I just watched it again a couple of weeks ago.
It's a movie about drugs, and alcohol and violence... and friendship, and struggle. It's a great performance by a still very young Ewan, with its fierce and difficult accent. Danny Boyle is raw in all its movies but this is one you simply can not miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu Ray, 26 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. C. I. Dean (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Enough has been written about Trainspotting - we all know how fantastic the film is but I was intrigued to see what extras are on the Blu-Ray disc.

Just watching the stars of the film looking back at their memories was really interesting and there are several other interesting extras on this disc.

It was nice to learn that Ewan Bremner originally starred as Renton in the original play but was moved aside to play Spud in the film, and you can see how gutted he was with this decision, but he put in a brilliant performance with Spud and may have even stolen the show.

Why can't more retrospective efforts be put on to the Blu-Rays - some new releases don't even have the extras that were on the DVD. Just studios being money grabbers again bringing out several collector's editions of films who then moan about people buying pirate copies - I consider them as bad as each other!

Anyway, enjoy a fine blu ray disc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cult Film of the 90's, 2 July 2007
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This movie takes place in a time when club music replaced punk music as the sound of their generation. With an influential soundtrack this movie was destined for underground cult status.

This drug-themed movie is not for the faint of heart, certain scenes are disturbing and will likely offend.

Propelling Ewan McGregor into super stardom, this is arguable his best non-Hollywood work. Other co-stars have also proven themselves in other notable smaller movie projects.

The directing is superb. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Excellent Ewan Mcgregor and Robert Carlisle star in this gritty comedy-drama, 17 May 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Irvine Welsh's startling novel is bought to life for the silver screen and it does the compelling, best-selling book total justice. Director, Danny Boyle shows imagination and inventiveness with this origanal, provocative story of four Edinburgh lads going on a self destructive rampage and focuses harshly on the characters physical decline into heroin addiction and the harrowing situation that revolves around this. Some scenes are admitedly disturbing but thats solely down to its superb performances from the cast which features Ewan Mcgregor, Robert Carlyle, Ewen Bremner, Johnny Lee Miller and Kevin Mckidd. They all put in powerful, very commendable performances (particularly Robert Carlisle as the demented psycho yob) and compliment the razor sharp scripts that are totally astounding and eerily realistic. Despite its deeply unpleasant content the film welcomingly has its fair shair of laughs although is pure black comedy. This well balanced film evokes the harrowing atmosphere and some hard hitting facts brilliantly resulting in a stunningly unique piece of work that is nothing sort of a masterpiece. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Choose a job, choose a family.....choose life., 11 Sep 2006
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
How can you not like a movie that features a shot of a dead baby crawling along a ceiling and rotating its head 180 degrees? If that doesn't scream 'fun' for the entire family, I don't know what does. Ha.
Anyhoo, the movies setting and subject matter were somewhat grim to put it mildly, but that didn't stop Trainspotting from becoming one of the top movies of the nineties, and having just watched it this morning I can safely state that it holds up well to this day. While I haven't read the Irvine Welsh novel on which this movie is based, I have read some of his other work (Porno, Filth), and the movie is a perfect distillation of his storytelling style-rapid-fire, filled with bawdy set pieces, characters living on the edge of acceptable society, and lots and lots of swear words.
It's also the kind of violent, genre-defying, and pop culture reference-laden movie, complete with way-cool soundtrack, that emerged with such force in the nineties and spawned so many imitations in this decade. For my money at least, this movie is a much more entertaining and convincing look at the world of heroin users than the interesting, but annoyingly depressing and pedantic, Requiem for a Dream, which came out a few years later to almost hyperbolic praise.
Trainspotting is a blunt, unapologetic look a life most of us can scarcely imagine, delivered with a combination of hilarity and horror that effortlessly intertwines these two extremes. It doesn't shrink from depicting the damage caused by heroin addiction, but it doesn't downplay all the fun of it either, which is what lends it so much of its gritty believability.

Trainspotting also marked the arrival on the international scene of director Danny Boyle, whose manic visual style would later serve him well on the slightly-less-brilliant 28 Days Later. Perhaps most impressively, it manages to contain one of my all-time top ten movie lines ("Who needs reasons when you've got heroin?"), my favorite nickname ever, fictional or otherwise ("We called him Mother Superior on account of the length of his habit"-brilliant), and more "Oh my God, did I just see that?" images than you'll find in fifty Hollywood blockbusters. In Boyle's hands the crazy imagery practically flies off the screen, be it human waste flying from a sheet across a room, the movie's protagonist climbing into Scotland's filthiest toilet to retrieve something he lost, or the hallucinatory, nightmarish haze of a cold-turkey withdrawal. The unrestrained depictions of sex, nudity, violence, drug use, and bodily functions make this a movie not to be viewed by the squeamish, but they perfectly suit its unflinching examination of the sordid goings-on in one country's drug-laden urban culture.

Outstanding. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, disturbing and highly entertaining....!, 17 Jan 2006
Making a good film based around hardcore drug abuse is a tough thing to pull off, however somehow this tale of gritt, violence, sex, betrayal and drugs found its way to international stardom. The acting is A*, you really don't get much better then this, and the script is slick and snappy, along with the plot which is funny and disturbing at the same time, showing us life as a 'druggi' in an almost documentary style way, making it highly realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choose This!, 22 Dec 2002
By 
David Carling "Author" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Still boasting one of the most spectacular opening sequences of contemporary movie history, Trainspotting remains as one of the more finer pieces of British cinema to grace our screens in recent years. Filmed in an disused Cigarette factory in Glasgow on a 1.5 million budget, Trainspotting is based on the best-selling book by Irvine Welsh, author of other drug-fueled novels such as 'Ecstasy' and 'The Acid House', John Hodge's near faithful, toned down script is one to savor and relish within, as we are taken through the back streets of the human breed.

Starring Ewan McGregor as the young, unemployed junkie Mark Renton, Director Danny Boyles' disturbing vision of a crime-controlled Edinburgh, is ruthlessly displayed with incredible confidence and effortless brutality as we are shown the way before the eyes of Renton. Following the lives of Mark and his disturbing friends Sick Boy, Spud, Begbie and Tommy and their crusades into violence and addictions, and the price their fun will cost. With nothing left to imagination, the film skips from Drug-use to cot death, from sexual frustration to underage sex, but stays alive long enough to tell a very poignant tale of how life can change where return to the norm is no longer an option. Even though the disturbing use of harrowing imagery remains the key player of the films make-up, an agonizing soundtrack which underplays the powerful leads, rests as an odd mixture of golden oldies and modern pop.

A Classic in a new era of film-making
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy on Blu Ray, 16 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. B. L. Haskell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DO NOT BUY THIS ON BLU-RAY!!! The transfer is a mess and ruins a great film. The image judders resulting in some scenes that almost seem to be running in slow motion for a few seconds, the first 40 minutes are perticulary bad.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go see this......NOW!, 23 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This is an absolute must-see film. Gritty, funny, serious, harrowing - the film includes all these elements. Excellent cast, excellent soundtrack and excellent film. Ewan McGregor gives a very good performance as main character/narrator Mark Renton. Although he is not a model citizen, he is likeable. Spud is a bit goofy and also likeable. Robert Carlye perfectly plays physco Begby who in the words of Renton 'Begby doesn't do drugs, he just does people'.
The film follows Renton and his so called mates. The situations the characters find themselves in can be scary, funny and interesting. Throughout the film, we see the tension between friends and the battle Renton has with drugs. The film also shows the bad effects drugs can have on peoples life in a hard-hitting way.
When people think of Trainspotting they think 'oh it's a film about heroin addicts'. But when you see the film you realise there is more to it than that. Dig deeper and you realise the film is mainly about choices and friendships. Renton chose to do drugs rather than live a life working 9-5 with a family to look after. Although i don't agree with drug-taking at all, in a way his reasons are understandable. This film can be watched over and over again. There is so much to take in as there is a lot more in it than meets the eye. Enjoyable, entertaining and highly interesting. I get engrossed in the film every time i see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray ..? are you kidding ??, 17 Jun 2012
By 
Simon Harold (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thanks to all those who have told "us" the spending public what to exspect when hoping for something special with this ..If you are going to spend money on packaging , and re-releasing why bother at all if you not restoring what it is your selling. No matter the cost , this film should be preserved to look its best regardless of the expense. Danny can afford it , so can Channel Four Films , its just a shame that this classic 90's piece of cinema will never get the polish it rightly deserves..Spielberg spent 3 years cleaning up JAWS for its Hi-Def release in September , the 35mm print of Trainspotting would be worth the 3 years wait if it ended up looking as sharp and pristine. The LOWERY restoration group did wonders to Ridley Scotts ALIEN as well as many others like all the James Bond films , now they all now look sharp , detailed and like they were made yesterday..Maybe Danny will realize one day that his work is as important and stop making a few quid directing sports events instead of decent movies...A real shame. Thanks to the public's advice ,I will NOT be buying this in Blu Ray now , so that's one less sale from the buying public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trainspotting [DVD] [1996]
Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] by Danny Boyle (DVD - 1999)
4.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews