Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive
After watching the concert for the first time I'm actually speechless. I have the cd from this concert and I love it, but the dvd is a hundred times better. No wonder it's the world no. 1 classical bestseller. All the tenors are in resplendent voice, but to me José Carreras is the star of this night. Hearing (and seeing) his rendition of "Il lamento di Federico"...
Published on 21 Jun 2005

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD does not play in the UK.
Your DVD . Does not work in the UK. I have not the patience to return it
to you. I hate Agro . HR Williams.
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 21 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Original Three Tenors Concert [1990] [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
After watching the concert for the first time I'm actually speechless. I have the cd from this concert and I love it, but the dvd is a hundred times better. No wonder it's the world no. 1 classical bestseller. All the tenors are in resplendent voice, but to me José Carreras is the star of this night. Hearing (and seeing) his rendition of "Il lamento di Federico" and "L'improvviso" will leave you gobsmacked. His stage presence is like always both humble and charming. Adding to his charm is the way he behaves in "Lamento di Federico" after having produced some tones of pure delight. He instantly lifts his eyes to heaven, smiling, looking around as if he expects to see someone up there who helped him getting through the difficult parts of the aria. Then he blows a kiss of thank you to heaven, obviously grateful, before he continues singing.
Although I'm not the biggest fan of Pavarotti or Domingo I have to admit that Pav's "Torna a Surriento" and "Rondine al nido" and Domingo's "No puede ser" was absolutely beautiful.
The reason for not being their biggest fan is that they're not able to stir my emotions like Carreras, but when performing together the three voices blend perfectly and it sounds just wonderful.
I loved the way the three of them enjoyed themselves when performing together. It's real fun to watch the encore "O sole mio" where Pavarotti gives his famous trill. He just shakes his head and the high notes pops out. I've been listening to this on the cd for a long time, but never before seen what really happened. Pavarotti starts singing and then Domingo surprises him by cutting in, taking over the singing. When it's Pavarotti's turn to sing again it seems he's thinking (humorously) "I'll teach him not to interfere with my singing again" and then he push his "high-note-button". When he's busy doing this, you can see the two other "conspiring", looking like two young boys who are really "up to something". And when Pavarotti allows them to take over again they leave him flabbergasted by throwing themselves into the song, repeating his trill perfectly, making it sound all the way as impressive as his.
The look on Pavarotti's face is priceless. He's laughing out loud in astonishment. It's obvious he wasn't expecting any competition....
I also have to comment on the conductor, Zubin Mehta. He really impressed me with his conducting, being so attentive to the singers. He's watching them closely all the time and making the orchestra follow them just perfectly. He's giving a hundred percent throughout the concert. And you can also see him being impressed by the tenors performances, acknowledging this by putting down his baton and applauding. At one point he also gets down and hugs Carreras after his wonderful rendition of "Granada". So he's definitely not a stiff and unapproachable conductor.
This dvd is a real treat. If you buy it, my guess is that you can look forward to many hours in the company of the three tenors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nobody slept that night at the Caracalla Baths ...., 7 Sep 2004
By 
Stephen D'ARCY "trappist" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Original Three Tenors Concert [1990] [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This was the first appearance by the "Three Tenors" - Luciano Pavarotti, José Carreras and Placido Domingo - and was to lead to many more such "gala" nights in the next ten years. Yet it was purely by chance that BBC TV soccer commentator Gerald Sinstadt, looking for suitable music to introduce the BBC's 1990 World Cup coverage in Italy, decided on Puccini's "Nessum Dorma", in the version sung by Pavarotti. This inspired choice led to the concept of the "Three Tenors" concerts.
In his youth, the big man was a soccer player, and played in goal for Modena before choosing a singing career. All three singers are self-confessed soccer fanatics.
However, Carreras was recovering from leukemia and had not been expected to sing again. He had no money and it's an open secret that this concert was to help get him back on his feet. The three tenors came together at the Caracalla Baths, an open-air site just outside Rome, and gave a performance which was as joyful and vibrant as the 1990 World Cup final between Germany and Argentina had been limp and turgid.
Old and new favourites, operatic and musical (including the soccer anthem "You'll Never Walk Alone" from 'Carousel'), Italian and Neopolitan songs under the baton of Zubin Mehta - this concert lit the blue touchpaper and we've been admiring the "Three Tenors" ever since. Sound quality is better on later versions but that is to be expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "THREE" shines at Los Angeles, 1 Dec 2002
By A Customer
The Three Tenors 1994 is really the most 'shining' of the three 'soccer' concerts they gave. Viewing this dvd, even as a lover of opera recordings, was instantly riveting to me. Why? There was an instantly recognisable American flair for showmanship, not found in the other two (i.e. 1990 and 1998), beginning with the atmoshere inside the Dodger's Stadium, the starting drum-roll leading to a choral burst of the Star Bangled Banner, then the snippets of rich-and-famous American personalities (but you will need a very quick eye, because the camera gives only split second images of them - see how many can you name?). The night's programme naturally was sprinkled with iconic American movie and broadway songs, which all THREE delivered in their delightful operatic way. Very nice too see Gene Kelly acknowledged when THEY sang 'Singing in the Rain'; and Old Blue Eyes similarly applauded in 'My Way'. Heart-warming and very nice indeed.
Other than the operatic fare, which stuck safely, a little too safe I say, to the standard repertoire, I particularly like Lalo Schifrin's arrangement of Schubert's Ave Maria, delivered with just the correct intensity by Pavarotti. Carreras was sparkling in 'E lucevan le stelle' and Domingo was brilliant in 'Granada'.
Even the chorus was a gem to watch and listen to.
This concert was captured so faithfully, in colour and sound on this disc, it made me forget that there was a World Cup soccer tournament on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful setting for beautiful singing, 2 April 2006
By 
Peter Reeve (Thousand Oaks, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This 1990 World Cup concert, which launched the Three Tenors phenomenon, has a beautiful open air setting at the Caracalla Baths in Rome. This means however, a loss of acoustics. Orchestral sounds that would be enriched by a little reverberation literally drift away on the evening breeze. But the singing is excellent. They sing 4 solos each, then - after a sinfonia, or orchestral interlude - 3 more as a trio; 16 tracks in all. All three singers are perfectly at ease in the Romance languages, but struggle with German and English, sometimes quite badly. In the worst example, 'Maria' from West Side Story, Pavarotti bellows, "Say it soft and it's almost like praying". Well, we'll have to take his word for it.
Despite these imperfections, the DVD remains a joyous celebration of some very fine singing and is well worth a look and a listen.
If you are yet to experience a Three Tenors concert, you might prefer to start with the 1994 Dodgers Stadium performance, when the World Cup came to the US. That has more songs and is a slicker, more professional affair. It also has a celebrity audience, including Frank Sinatra and Gene Kelly, who are honored during the concert.
REMEMBER: Don't buy a Region 1 DVD unless you have a player that can play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Tenors in Concert - 1994, 16 Sep 2009
By 
David Barrie Bennett (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 1994 3 Tenors Concert was held in Los Angeles with Zubin Mehta conducting the Los Angeles Philarmonic Orchestra and Chorus. My first thought was could Pavarotti, Carreras and Domingo equal their original 1990 concert. The answer is YES plus. The highlights were many and some unusual - Carreras singing "With a song in my heart", the trio serenading Frank Sinatra with their version of "My Way" and following that "Singing in the Rain" to Gene Kelly, both of whom were in the audience. Domingo and Carreras teasing Pavarroti in the singing of "Brasil" after they had beaten Italy in the final. For me, Schubert's "Ave Maria" sung by Pavarotti, "E Lucevan le Stelle" by Carreras and "Vesti La Giubba" by Domingo were superb only to be topped by the trio's version of "La Donna e Mobile".
One cannot complete this review without a special mention of the orchestra and chorus - their timing and passion throughout the performance was superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classical pops, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Three Tenors Concert [1990] [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
very very good, a great shame we shall not be able to see them all together ever again.it gave a great deal of pleasure to my family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh! what a musical gem!, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Cesar G. Esterman (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Three Tenors Concert [1990] [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
If you enjoy music classical, fun, not modern yet not old fashion you will be floating on a cloud just listening and watching this Top Class musical DVD.

It has to be noted that Mehta is admiring the singers so much is virtually "living" with them and part of them while directing the music.

It is a MUST if you enjoy music, we watched it on TV when it came and eventually bought the DVD as soon it was available ...and watched it times and times again with great enjoyment.

Its a BUY BUY BUY...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique experience with spawned fine sequels but none better than this original, 19 Nov 2011
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Three Tenors Concert [1990] [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Prequel: It is not possible for reviewers to write separate reviews of the single and of the two disc deluxe versions even though they are not the same. This is a listing arrangement beyond the control of reviewers. Consequently this review covers both options together so please be patient and extract whichever information applies to your particular interests. Thanks, Ian Giles.

.....................................

This original version of the original three tenors concerts given in Rome in 1990 was much copied but never matched for the sense of a unique and very special occasion. The actual recording is given good sound presented in stereo and DD 5.1 surround sound. The imaging is adequate by today's standards on close ups and only breaks up on distance shots. The camera work itself gives a good sense of immediacy and involvement - probably much better than being there at the time!

The selection of music, largely from opera and operetta, is unashamedly popular and is performed with total skill and a performance-aware delivery that positively invites increasingly enthusiastic audience support. All three singers are in good voice, probably more so than on the sequence of such concerts that followed. It would be easy for this to become a competitive activity, and so it is to a degree, but all three men are able to unite for the two encores - two Pavarotti specials ('O sole mio' and 'Nessun dorma') that are shared out between them with great camaraderie. Otherwise any competition is good humoured and fully understood as an essential ingredient to a very joyous occasion.

Everyone who buys this disc will have favourites in terms of aria and in terms of singer. Nevertheless, it would be hard to imagine anyone experiencing disappointment. Both Mehta and his orchestra accompany with evident enjoyment, rising to the occasion, including the orchestra only items which give the singers a bit of a 'breather' and add a touch of aural variety.

The booklet in the original single disc version provides all the texts and other basic information. The later 'deluxe' two disc set, published in 2007, provides subtitles which is a far preferable option to the supplied texts of the first version. There are no texts supplied in the abbreviated booklet of the deluxe version. The later deluxe version is not significantly sonically or visually superior to the first version and this has been carefully compared. The second disc in the deluxe version provides a second disc a documentary describing the creation of this concert narrated by Derek Jacobi. There is also a track enabling those who wish to join in a karaoke version of 'O sole mio.'

The single disc, or two disc deluxe version, of this unique concert and occasion cannot be compared to others and can confidently be recommended to anyone who finds the idea of such an event an attraction. That is why it has been such a top seller ever since it was issued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 3 May 2011
This review is from: The Original Three Tenors Concert [1990] [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a terrific concert. I will continue to enjoy it over and over again. If you love great music the 3 Tenors excel - Dont hesitate ``Buy It``
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Tenors like 3 Stars in the skies...., 28 Mar 2011
By 
Ertušrul Dikbaž (Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This dvd was somehow the Zenith of the music!!! I felt like going out of this world into the skies.....this is where words end and the imagination starts....really no words to describe the beauty of this music!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Original Three Tenors Concert [1990] [DVD] [2000]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews