Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and nostalgic
I read the book of the same title years ago and loved it. I never got around to seeing the film so I ordered on DVD as a treat for myself to watch when my husband was working, as I don't think it would be his cup of tea. I just loved it. It's an old-fashioned romance set in Ireland and Minnie Driver as Bernadette is brilliant. Chris O' Donnell is also good if you can...
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by Ricky James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars circle of friends
This was an excellent film I thorughly enjoyed it and it was delivered very quickly it was as good as I though it wouldbe
Published 9 months ago by Sandra Campbell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this story, 29 Jan 2008
This review is from: Circle Of Friends [DVD] (DVD)
This is a must have. I loved the book, which I read before seeing the movie. The endings are the same, and yet not. No matter what, the book or the movie, you'll enjoy it!
With sweet and chunky Minnie Diver, as Bernadette, who just want to be loved really, for who she is. Just because youre a bit of a rhinoceros - as she in the movie describes herself as,it doesnt mean you should settle for anything less, than what you dream of! - I so agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loves the book and the film is brilliant., 5 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the book some years ago and then watched the movie on telly. I loved the book and the film was no disappointment. Allthough a bit different from the book. The changes are for the better. Something might work in a book but not on the silver screen. Benny, Eve and the others are just we all remember them from the book. Thumbs up for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, poor print, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mario Net (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is as great as I remember it from the theatre, however, the picture frame on the DVD seems to be made for old TVs, 4:3. In this case the whole screen frame is preserved but made very small, so that the picture does not come out as particularly sharp when you enlarge it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine film, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reminders of Trinity albeit before my time. A classic of sorts. Enjoy the film - I did and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov 2014
By 
S. Macartney "mac gael" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got this as a present and it was well received
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars circle of friends DVD, 27 July 2010
This review is from: Circle Of Friends [DVD] (DVD)
Circle Of Friends [DVD] [1995]

I really enjoyed the book.

I like reading the book first before watching the film as the book gives so much more story and detail.

The film was very, very mild compared to the book.

I was disappointed with the actual DVD as it kept sticking a lot and I missed chunks of the film trying to move it on.

I like Maeve Binchy's writing and am working my way through her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect for use, it met my expectations.
Very Good price What more could you ask for.
I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys old TV shows or films.
Not to be disliked it does what it says on the tin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely movie based on one of my favourite Maeve Binchy books. Love Minnie Driver in this, she was perfect for the role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was interesting in showing the problems that young people had growing up at that time. It brought back a lot of memories as I went to a Catholic grammer school and a Catholic Girls High School, in the 40s and 50s and we would wonder about kissiing and dates and "going all the way".. also our friends who had to go "visit an aunt" for several months. Some things neaver change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Circle Of Friends [DVD] (DVD)
Item great condtion. Quick Post. I Loved reading all Maeve Binchy books and this film adaption, though not as good as the book was not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Circle Of Friends [VHS]
Circle Of Friends [VHS] by Pat O'Connor (VHS Tape - 1999)
£7.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews