Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, I know you did send me back to the future. But I'm back! I'm back from the future.
Doc Brown is back in 1885 in the Old West, soon to be joined by Marty who has found that Doc is in mortal danger from Burford "Mad-Dog" Tannen.

Rounding out what turned out to be a hugely popular trilogy, Back to the Future Part III restored the core essence heart of Part 1, whilst simultaneously tying up all the threads with a fully formed story. More sedate...
Published on 15 April 2011 by Spike Owen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Back to the future
This DVD came from Japan, so it took ages to arrive despite my paying extra for 1st class delivery. There was nothing to tell me it had to come from Japan.
Published on 27 April 2010 by Rachel Watt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, I know you did send me back to the future. But I'm back! I'm back from the future., 15 April 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Doc Brown is back in 1885 in the Old West, soon to be joined by Marty who has found that Doc is in mortal danger from Burford "Mad-Dog" Tannen.

Rounding out what turned out to be a hugely popular trilogy, Back to the Future Part III restored the core essence heart of Part 1, whilst simultaneously tying up all the threads with a fully formed story. More sedate in its telling {not hard following on from the manic pacing of part 2} part 3 fuses science fiction malarkey with, well, Western malarkey. All played out with the usual array of clever jokes and series reprises, only in a Wild Wild West setting. An interesting point to note is how the roles of Doc & Marty have been reversed from the first film, here Marty is the maniacal plot axis, whizzing around getting into scrapes as Doc ambles around in love, courtesy of the delightfully classic looking Mary Steenburgen as Clara Clayton. Thomas F. Wilson returns for villain duties as Tannen, a Western bully villain pulled straight out of many a classic oater from way back in the day, and Lea Thompson & Elisabeth Shue ensure the "past" is not forgotten.

When Robert Zemeckis and Bob Gale started making Back To The Future in 1985, could they have envisaged that they would make three films and end up with a steam engine time machine in the Wild West? Possibly not, but as part 3 hurtles {literally} towards its suspense laden finale, two things are for certain. One is that they wisely closed the series down with a surefire coda winner. Two is that between them they crafted one of the most entertaining family trilogies to have ever graced the screen. No doubt about the fact that part one is the uniformly class act of the three, but parts two & three themselves reward groups of all ages. Great Scot indeed. 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect round off to the trilogy making you wish for a 4th, 30 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Back To The Future: Part 3 [VHS] [1990] (VHS Tape)
In recent years films have brought more technology to the screen in forms of special effects and even bigger budgets. True comedys however seemed to have been lost in the teen market of such films as American Pie which by all means is a funny film, with predictable jokes but it is missing the cleverness and all round family comedy of a set of films like Back to the Future. In Bttf3 the film brings a perfect ending to the trilogy. This film uses a more comical aspect compared to the 2nd film with marty (Michael J Fox) having to go back to the wild west to save his friend doc from death at the hands of mad dog (biff from part 1 +2). He has not only got to achieve this but along the way he has to survive "bumping" into his irish relatives, wearing that cowboy outfit, not to mention the hat,having a showdown with a familar enemy and much more. Leaving you with a very enjoyable film that you will want to watch over and over again. A film for all ages that will make you praying they would reunite for a 4th installment. Outatime? not anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "It's A Science Experiment!", 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Filmed back-to-back with ‘Part II’ in 1989, this was a gruelling schedule but one that enabled the faithful involvement of all major cast and crew to conclude a story spanning 130 years and provide a refreshing and new twist on things. All our favourite characters return in their various guises, the enjoyment and passion is still there, the action is spectacular and exciting with nods to the B-movies of the Old West and the story offers the chance to explore new morals and relationships before we say goodbye for the final time.

What makes this a satisfying conclusion and 3rd outing is the new timeline we are treated to rather than another trip to the 50s or 00s. We go back 100 years now and have the chance to see Hill Valley in a whole new light. A truly remarkable set built from scratch gives us a new Hill Valley and we have the classic iconography from the Wild West to be played with as Marty and Doc traverse the era in an attempt to return to 1985. The plot is very simple this time, but it is the characters of Doc and Clara who shine this time, letting Fox take a little breather from being the main man and allowing Christopher Lloyd to show his fine acting as an emotional and thoughtful man rather than just a comedic. eccentric scientist. The relationship between him and Steenburgen add a bit more depth to this film and carry along emotional rights and wrongs of what time travel entails for those involved in something that dictates their own destiny.

But away from the sentiment, there is also a barnstorming finale to top off the trilogy which is full of breath-taking stunt work and tight camera angles that capture all the danger and excitement that comes straight from the adventure movies of the 1950s as Doc and Marty traverse a speeding train in more ways than one in a tense, never-shredding conclusion that hooks you and has you cheering on our heroes for a true spectacular send-off to their Western adventure.

With an authentic soundtrack to accompany an authentic looking Western town, it retains lots of recycled themes and jokes from the previous films such as Marty meeting his “mother” in a delirious state and the confrontations between Tannen and his manure-induced fate, but these are welcome moments that are never dwelled upon and just remind us that this is a fun film and nothing too serious. Using the name Clint Eastwood in many references to the legendary actor also brings a smile as Marty represents the man who would symbolise the very world he is travelling in, yet more clever and warm nods to pop culture from Robert Zemeckis.

For some people it may be TOO different a world from that of the 1985 original, but look beyond the time-travelling narrative and this final film expands the world of Marty McFly in a way the cast and crew never expected to happen when making the original, and because of that nothing is forced and egotistical about the sequel and following conclusion. It continues the thrill, the spectacle and enjoyment of the original in a larger scale to give us something we haven’t seen before and it’s a very fitting and very deserving send-off that wraps up the story of Marty McFly and Doc Brown in a way that makes you swell with pride as the credits roll.

This film, and the trilogy as a whole, is a journey you want to thank Zemeckis and the cast for in letting you accompany them on. But, much like the DeLorean, you simply can’t wait get back into the DVDs and Blu-rays and re-visit the past (and future) over and over again because this genuinely is a timeless series that will never age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is going on?, 10 Aug 2010
This is a second-hand Japanese copy. I didn't want this. If you are going to sell second-hand Japanese copies then this should be in the item description.
Update...
OK, I returned the DVD and they sent me a new Japanese copy. I give up. There is no running time on it so I don't know if anything has been edited for the Japanese viewer. I would recommend another source, not Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Back to the future, 27 April 2010
By 
Rachel Watt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD came from Japan, so it took ages to arrive despite my paying extra for 1st class delivery. There was nothing to tell me it had to come from Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Excellent thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Western Fun, 17 Jun 2014
Possibly the best thing about the Back to the Future trilogy is the fact that while every story is different, there are some similarities to connect them. This continues with Part III, set in 1885. This is possibly the funniest of the trilogy, many of the jokes originating from Marty's name choice of Clint Eastwood. There is however, an annoying supporting character added called Clara Clayton. She's quite annoying and the story would have worked much better without her inclusion. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good end to the story., 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film really rounds off the story well and had some good jokes in it. Quite a good way to round the whole thing up by going back 80 years to the beginnings of the town where it all took place. I hope they don't try to make another one as they left the end with a possibility. Enjoyable, funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Stewart Hartopp (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
hi just thought I would write a quick review, brought this for my daughter as she had not got this one .she loved it and is now part of her collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made my trilogy complete., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These films are timeless and had never been seen by my Grandsons. Great for wet days during long school holidays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back To The Future: Part 3 [VHS] [1990]
Back To The Future: Part 3 [VHS] [1990] by Robert Zemeckis (VHS Tape - 1992)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews