Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Is Yours
Scarface is one of those rare, rare film experiences you'd be hard-pushed not to enjoy. Brain De Palma's 1983 remake of the 1930's flick had all the ingredients of a classic: a great script, a defining soundtrack and a leading actor in his all-time prime. Al Pacino's performance as Cuban gangster Tony Montana has now almost received iconic status among film fans. Few...
Published on 8 Mar 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good
I did like this movies very much loads of violence but if you like gangster movies I do recommend it
Published 3 months ago by Alia Toama


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Is Yours, 8 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Scarface is one of those rare, rare film experiences you'd be hard-pushed not to enjoy. Brain De Palma's 1983 remake of the 1930's flick had all the ingredients of a classic: a great script, a defining soundtrack and a leading actor in his all-time prime. Al Pacino's performance as Cuban gangster Tony Montana has now almost received iconic status among film fans. Few would deny that Pacino's take on cocaine-snorting Montana is not one of his career best. Scarface is seen nowadays as one of the top gangster films, maybe not in the same ilk as say The Godfather, but still a thoroughly entertaining piece of cinema. This 2 Disc Special Edition, although not loaded with features, still should be part of any respectable DVD collection out there.
For those unfamiliar with the story, Scarface follows the path of Tony Montana, a charismatic Cuban refugee, who arrives in Miami looking for the American dream. Tony's up-front and tough personality makes him go right to the top of the cocaine underworld. However, no one, as they say, stays at the top forever. There are consequences to his success, and as Tony learns, money and power can't give you everything. A special mention should go to Michelle Pfeiffer, who superbly plays Tony's love, in what was her first major film role.
The sound and picture quality was in my eyes the highlight of this DVD package. The new digital transfer was near flawless, and the comparisons between this and the old VHS are unbelievable to be honest. Hearing Pacino talk so clearly in that hilarious accent of his was a delight and the famous 'Say Hello To My Leetle Friend' ending blows you away with all the sound.
The extras shown on disc 2 are not in abundance, but what you get here is quality not quantity. You have some decent documentaries with recent interviews with Pacino, De Palma and scriptwriter Oliver Stone. I must stress they are not very long, but don't let that put you off. You get some really fascinating information about the making of the film (including Stone's trip to South America!), that more than satisfied me.
Scarface is a tremendously powerful, violent and moving film which is made by a really talented team on and off camera. It is loaded with famous scenes throughout which Pacino makes his own, once you see Scarface you'll never forget it. If you are wanting to own a genuinely brilliant piece of 80's cinema, you have came to the right DVD package. Do yourself and your collection justice. You won't look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital copy code works, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi to everyone wondering whether the digital copy of this movie works. I can confirm that even though it says on the slip in the case that it expires on 05/09/2012 I have just put the code n to itunes 27/03/2013 and it worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People's reason's for not liking this movie..., 23 Sep 2011
I'm not going to review this moive as everyone knows it's an oustanding film. I would like to just quickly comment on that the picture quality and 7.1 dts sound is stunning. It would of been nice in some night time scene's to see abit more attention to detail with grain's and dark black's. But that is very, very slight complaint. Extra's are good not oustanding but very solid.

However, this moive review is really to question the people that have discredited this movie. The people who rate this poorly state that it is over the top and too violent etc etc. But if they actually had a brain cell, they would realise that the whole point of the film, is for that very reason. Going from the music, to the fashion, to al pacino's voice, to the violence, that cocaine is like gold. The whole movie is a metaphor for the time in Miami in the 80's, time of excess.

Find it quite embarassing for people to slag of an oustanding movie, when they havent got a clue in the reasons why it's a so called 'bad movie'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say Hello To My Little Friend, 29 Nov 2004
By 
RiDdLe (South East England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Having been released in 1983, Scarface may be a dated movie by todays standards (this is very clear in the horrendous 80's pop music and bright hawaiian shirts used throughtout) but it still, to me, ranks among the greatest and most influential movies of all time.
Al Pacino stars as the unforgettable Tony Montana, a Cuban refugee who starts off dishwashing, but guns his way to the very top of Miami's cocaine empire. He plays the part really well: being ruthless and also coming up with some brilliant lines which orignially came from the film: "every dog has his day" being one of many that springs into mind.
The '18' certificate is deserved, though. If ever anyone wanted a lesson on how to take drugs, they would need to watch this movie as had drugs are used throughout, aswell as the bloody violence (the chainsaw scene being up there) and constant swearing.
Being very influential, this movie has been the main inspiration for Grand Theft Auto Vice City. Even Diaz from the game is a carbon copy of a chainsaw wielding bad guy from the film. Snoop Doggs album "every dogg has its day" is also influenced by the movie, with a quote from the movie appearing in the album.
This is one of those movies which just have to be seen. At 2 and three quarter hours, its not short, but the movie never drags and the final scene ranks among the government lobby shootout scene from The Matrix, the beach landing in Saving Private Ryan and the russian roulette scene in The Deer Hunter as one of the best and is perfect in summing up Tony Montana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tony Montana: The Rise and Fall of a Nortorious Gangster, 25 Dec 2003
"Me? I want what's coming to me... The world, Chico--and everything in it." - Tony Montana
"Scarface" was a box-office flop when it first came out and was literally trashed by almost every film critic that you can think of. Many years later, it's considered a classic and some say it's one of the most influential gangster movies to ever to be made. There's real power that cannot be denied that is held within this amazing masterpiece that has one of the highest replay values I've ever experienced. I can NEVER get tired of this outstanding gangster epic, and it is a grand event that stands out from most crime sagas--and most films althogether.
Tony Montana came to America with nothing, with the exception of a dream to become a somebody; a successful and powerful somebody. He turns to a life of crime and slowly but surely becomes a well-established gangster. However, Tony becomes greedier and more consumed with power as the days go by, and it's only a matter of time before he starts to want it all. His "wanting it all" leads him to his ultimate demise that will consume his fate. This is a story about starting with nothing and then having everything--only to lose it all in then end.
Words cannot even begin to describe how passionately I feel about this movie. This is a crime saga that has layers of character and story. It isn't just a senseless bloodbath with mindless violence around every corner. No, this movie has a certain path and structure. Al Pacino literally makes the role of "Tony Montana" his own and never loses sight of it for a second. I can't think of another character that is "impersonated" in the real world more than Pacino's "Tony Montana." The film is brilliantly written by Oliver Stone (who deemed this movie as his farewell to cocaine), and is perfectly executed by director Brian DePalma. This film had an amazing cast and crew behind it, which made it the success that it is today.
This Two-Disk Anniversary Edition is fully packed with some great extras. One of the main things that is so great about the DVD is the incredible audio and picture transfer that is COMPLETELY superb in contrast with the older version. While it's easier to note the difference in picture with a bigger (and perhaps even a widescreen) television, you should still be able to tell the difference and come to the conclusion that this new transfer is much better than the original. Extra features included are deleted scenes, documentaries, a "TV Version" montage that is absolutely priceless, and a hip-hop feature that shows interviews with some of today's hottest rappers and how they deem this movie as a "ghetto classic." While the DVD could've had a few more extra features, it is in no way disappointing.
"Scarface" is a timeless classic that seems to get bigger and bigger as the years roll by. It's a rare breed of film that can never be duplicated in a successful manner. I find it truly amazing how a film started off so weak when it first came out only to become the legend that it is today. If you have not seen it yet, I highly recommend that you give it a viewing as soon as possible. It is, and forever will be, one of my absolute favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!, 8 July 2004
Well on of Al Pacino's greatest films ever.Plenty of action in this.Great storyline.A classic.One of the best accents ever as well.This film rocks from start to finish.
This film is a great conversion from the even older version about an American involved in the Mafia.It keeps true to the old version and is even better!
The extras on this DVD are great and at moments funny.You get to see when Scarface was put on TV and all swearing had to be cancelled out (there is ALOT of swearing in Scarface)!There's also interviews and even a hip-hop section!
Briefly:This film is great and if you don't mind swearing and violence then this film is for you!If you get quezy at the sight of blood or can't stand swearing then avoid this at all costs.Still a fab film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars say hello to my little friend!, 29 Mar 2004
Scarface, introduces Antonio Montana (Al Pacino), a Cuban immigrant with an untraditional perspective on achieving the American dream.
Montana starts as a low level thug, who works his way up the organised crime chain.
Slowly he begins to create a reputation for himself, however his determination is never far apart from his rashness and overconfidence.
Despite being nearly three hours long this films does not seem to drag, for this credit must be given to both Pacino ability to carry the film with a memorable performance and the script itself
Despite being contoversial at the time for its violence, there are far more violent and disturbing films available on DVD (Last house on the left springs to mind)
The films greatest strength is the acting of Pacino who provides some memorable lines.
His character was reasonably complex, just when a viewer begins to feel sympathy for him, he makes everyone remember why gangsters don't make good friends.
Al Pacino gives an unforgettable performance as Tony Montana.
From the start he begins to set his sight on bigger and better things, eventuallty reaching the top of the crime world.
Scarface is really a must see film if you have any interest at in crime/gangster style films or if you are a Pacino film.
If you have seen Pacino's other gangster films such as Carlito's Way, Donnie Brasco and the Godfather trilogy - I guess you probably have seen this one as well, but if you have not then i thouroghly recommend this. I bought the orginal version on DVD - not this special edition however the quality of the film itself can easily justify a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top film!, 18 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be one of the greatest gangster movies ever made, which follows the rise and ultimate downfall of Tony Montana a young Cuban who chases the American dream and finds it to be a nightmare. The fact that the film has been described as violent, cold and morally bankrupt is the very reason to watch this masterpiece, which pits Montana against the system he so succinctly describes in saying "first you get the money, then you get the power, then you get the women". The huge backdrops, buildings, awful clothes and terrible music seem to magnify what a small and helpless character Montana is in the scheme of things. Al Pacino does a fantastic job playing the ambitious Montana, and does it with such gusto you believe he is Cuban. The supporting cast are great, notably Robert Loggia. On my first viewing of the film I was so moved by it, that the dialogue has permanently seared itself into my brain. If you love a quotable movie, this is it. The film hijacks the TWA advertising blurb "the world is yours" for all the wrong reasons, which is repeated throughout the film especially in my favourite scene where Montana looks up to the night sky and see an airship emblazoned with the words. And finally you should really try Montana's chat up technique, its guaranteed to deliver you with a slap in the face, as my mate discovered in pub the other day. As the drug dealer said in Deep Cover "buy it!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a one man show!, 27 Jan 2004
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] (DVD)
Scarface has to be one of my favourite films ever made.I love gangster films and this is right around the top of the list of the best ever made.Al Pacino gives the best performance in any film at anytime ever made and i will argue it to the grave.Many may think this is all that salvages the film but it is far from the only saving grace.All the characters interact brilliantly with each other and all give award winning performances.The script is just amazing you will be quoting lines from scarface for the rest of your life.Just a brilliant all round movie.Very gritty and doesn't go along with the happily ever after end.It shows the real decay that takes place with drug abuse and shows the american dream gone too far.The dvd could be better more interviews from Pacino himself would be much appreciated on what is his best ever performance.I advise all to buy you won't have any regrets if you like gangster films especially but if you just love good films im sure you will love this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinematic Masterpiece Which Shows Crime Does Not Pay, 29 April 2005
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
When i watched this movie i sat in total disbelief at the pure beauty of it and when it ended i stood up and clapped as the cinematic class of this movie had pushed it into my top 5 movies of all time. I have watched all the good and excellent gangster movies but this one stood out like no other.
It stood out for a reason. The reason was that it seemed more closer to modern day and didn't just involve italian mob members it involved the crinimal underground of the miami shoreline. The cocaine driven crinimal underworld is corrupted when Cuban Tony Montana trys to work his way out of poverty to be the ruler of the crinimal life in miami. He eventually makes it to the the top by being one of the most ruthless gansters ever depicted on film.
The music is unique and very fitting for the 80s setting given to the film. The music is weird when you first hear as you feel astonished like your in the 80s but you soon get used to it and then love it. It is the basis of what the award winning 5 star game Grand Theft Auto: Vice City used for its soundtrack.
This film is not for the faint at heart as directer Brian De Palma 3 times had the film rejected because it had and X-Rated certificate. He literally had to take the people who give the certificates out to court.
I am writing a scarface review so i am going to have to say it "say hello to my leeetle friend". That is but one of the classic lines in this film and after it you will be thinking that same line over and over agin.
The reason you will not hear this film praised with any awards like academy awards and golden globes is because the critics hated its very grusome betrayal of gangs in miami. Ths is a stupid reason for not praising it as brilliant as after extensive research oliver stone (screenplay) found many stories in miami about chainsaw murders and mass murders.
Al pacino is easily my favourite actor of all time. I loved him in the Godfather and Donnie Brasco but in this he really does excell himself and make a point that he should be definitely held side by side amonst the best actors of all time. Al pacino is envied by the biggest of hollywood stars about this movie as many actors like Bruce Willis and Tom Cruise always do impressions of mob leader Tony Montana
Although grotesquely brutal this movie could teach kids good lessons that crime does not pay as when he gets to the top of the underworld his life coorupts through cocaine and he ends up killing the ones he loves and watching ones he loves die in crossfire.
The Special edition version of the film is worth buying over the original one disk version as it costs the same and you get the interesting techniques used to create this stunningly interesting epic movie.
This film is a remake of the original scarface which if you happen to stumble across is worth buying as it has a different storyline and is acted brilliantly and has some memorable scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarface [VHS]
Scarface [VHS] by Brian De Palma (VHS Tape - 1999)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews