Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jaws - the return
A fairly decent film with some genuinely gripping action sequences. Had this not been a sequel then I feel it would have been much better received, but the crew were always going to suffer by being compared to the original. Some excellent suspense builders, notably the teenagers hanging out in the harbour and the desperate swim by Eddie for the safety of his dingy. As in...
Published on 24 April 2003 by K. Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Yet Bloodless Sequel
Dvd Info.
Running time 111 minutes, Trailer for Jaws 2,3 & Revenge, Making of Jaws 2.

Trivia.
1)In one of the boat scenes a man is clearly seen reading a Jaws novel by Peter Benchley.
2)Roy Scheider didn't want to film Jaws 2 but having recently walked away from the Deer Hunter project, Universal agreed they would overlook his exit from that...
Published 12 months ago by Timelord-007


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Yet Bloodless Sequel, 6 Feb. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jaws 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
Running time 111 minutes, Trailer for Jaws 2,3 & Revenge, Making of Jaws 2.

Trivia.
1)In one of the boat scenes a man is clearly seen reading a Jaws novel by Peter Benchley.
2)Roy Scheider didn't want to film Jaws 2 but having recently walked away from the Deer Hunter project, Universal agreed they would overlook his exit from that picture as long as he commited to filming Jaws 2, Scheider agreed but was resentful at being forced to shoot the movie & clashed with director Jeannot Szwarc frequently.
3)Murry Hamilton's scenes were shot first as his wife became very ill at the time of production so he could be released from the mvie early to be with her.
4)Original director John D.Hancock was fired & replaced by Jeannot Szwarc.
5)Jeannot Szwarc other directing credits include Somewhere In Time, Supergirl & several episode's of Smallville.
6)Steven Spielberg & Richard Dreyfuss were asked to direct & star in Jaws 2 but both declined due to there participation of starring & directing Close Encounters Of A Third Kind.
7)In a deleted scene Mayor Vaughn is the only one who votes in favour of Brody keeping his job hinting the mayor is starting to believe Brodys theory that another shark is terrorising Amity Island.

Review.

Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water.

4 year's after the shark attack at Amity Island another great white shark has entered the waters of seaside resort Amity Island to create terror for the citizens who live on this Island once again.

Chief Martin Brody is suspicious of another shark terrorising Amitys water's after finding a body in the sea & a half eaten whale on the beach.

Brodys warnings to the mayor Larry Vaughn & developer Len Peterson are ignored & deemed crazy leading to Brody eventually being fired from his role as chief of police due to causing mass panic on the beach which may get the sued & give the seaside town bad press.

But when Brodys son Michael who disobeying his father after being grounded goes out to sea to spend the day sailing with his friend's on his boat the group are subjected to being terrorised by the great white shark prompting Brody to search for his son & confront his biggest fear of trying to kill another great white shark & this time with no Quint or Hooper, Brody must attempt to kill the shark alone.

Timelord Thoughts.

This is a decent well made sequel that once again features Roy Scheider as Chief of police Martin Brody, Lorraine Gary as his wife Ellen & Murray Hamilton as Mayor Larry Vaughn.

Roy Scheider gives another very good performance as chief of police Martin Brody gives the movie some much needed gravitas & Scheider in his scenes were he loses it with the Amity committee are brilliant to watch, Roy Scheider is a very underrated actor & deserved more praise than he got for his acting.

This sequel has a good story & the sequences of the kids being terrorized by the shark create great tension & atmosphere.

What let's this sequel down somewhat is it's bloodless & far less gory than the original film.

Nothing in this film makes the viewer jump out like the original film did as director Jeannot Szwarc is no Steven Spielberg & one of the most interesting shark attacks is a deleted scene featuring the helicopter pilot which is cut from the final cut of the movie but can be viewed fully on You Tube.

(Note the deleted helicopter pilot features a edited deleted scene but You Tube contains the full version of this scene).

With a tighter pacing & slightly gorier shark attacks this could've equaled it's predecessor but alias it only achieves at being a decent competent follow up.

The best of the sequels but not as good as the classic original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jaws - the return, 24 April 2003
This review is from: Jaws 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A fairly decent film with some genuinely gripping action sequences. Had this not been a sequel then I feel it would have been much better received, but the crew were always going to suffer by being compared to the original. Some excellent suspense builders, notably the teenagers hanging out in the harbour and the desperate swim by Eddie for the safety of his dingy. As in the original,the soundtrack adds to the suspense. A worthy follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ONLY decent Jaws sequel, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In the wake of Steven Spielberg's original game-changer there came many, many imitators, most of which were so lazy that they were just named after whatever leviathan might be eating people on that occasion (Orca, Piranha, Great White, Alligator) and they were all absolute garbage (although Orca does have some decent melancholic pathos). Jaws 2 seems to have been degraded by the flurry of imitators, but that doesn't mean it's a bad film. It's actually quite good.

Three years after Martin Brody destroyed the original shark another (with a rather cool Phantom of the Opera burn across its 'face') has come to Amity Island and is gobbling-up the locals. No one wants to listen to Brody's suspicions, leaving him to deal with it all on his own. His two sons, meanwhile, go out sailing with a bunch of friends and are terrorized by the shark when it paralyzes their flotilla.

Many critics have compared Jaws to a teenage slasher movie, which I think is unfair. That particular sub-genre didn't really take-off until the release of Halloween, which came out 4 months later. Plus the teenagers in this movie are actually likable and have decent characterization. Even the stuck-up Mayor's son is good character. In a modern movie he'd die horribly as creating unlikable fodder is a common way for lazy writers to encourage blood-lust in the audience.

However, the movie is very, very short on blood, which is one of its biggest faults. These shark attacks are far too clean and sterile. The first movie had way more, why not this one? Jeannot Szwarc is no Steven Spielberg, and struggles to build tension and suspense. His effort is "not bad", especially during early scenes such as the dead whale, and body in the surf, but the poor editing of the action scenes suggests he couldn't capture much on camera and left it to the editors (Verna Fields did not touch this film) to put it together any way they could. Brody is somewhat demoted to a sideshow character in the second half as the teenagers shout and scream at the circling dorsal fin. A better balance of scenes could have been found here.

John Williams' score is a step-down from the first, though still a good score in its own right. It's just a pity that the movie has only ever been released in Mono as the music could use a decent, spacious remastering.

I feel that if a different, more prominent and skilled 70s director had taken control of Jaws 2 (such as John Frankenheimer or William Friedkin) then we might have ended up with a tighter, more exciting film. As it is, Jaws 2 is merely a respectable sequel before the excruciating awfulness of the further two that followed.

The DVD looks horrible and the film needs a strong remastering. The sound is in Mono only, but there are a few decent extras. Universal should put this out on Blu-ray, but they need to do some work on it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THERE'S A GOOD SHOCK AT THE END, 28 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Jaws 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This for me is where jaws should of ended, if you can forget jaws 3 & 4 then you would have a great double feature. Jaws without a doubt is the best shark film ever made, in a way this should of been it, but no they had to make three more sequel's, it's not like the Godfather or the rocky saga, which has grounds for sequel's I mean what are the chances of one family being attacked four times?. jaws 1 and 2 attacked the family, jaws 3 the son and jaws 4 the mother, I thought Michael Myers(Halloween) was bad, but this family of sharks are just pure evil.

Jaws 2 start's four years after the first, with once again a great white shark terrorising the small town of amity, and when the holiday makers begin to disappear, you guessed it, only one man Chief Brody(Roy Scheider) knows the truth. I did enjoy the film mainly because john Williams did the music, which made the film feel like a sequel, plus the shark attacks were very good but with less blood, mainly because the director wanted you to use your mind ie sometimes the thought of what's happening can be more scary than when you see what's happening, plus I thought the ending was very intense, a good film, but to be honest with you a film we could of done without.

***FEATURES BELOW***

Making of
Keith Gordon Featurette
John Williams Featurette
The French Joke
Deleted Scenes
Storyboards
Production Photographs
2 Trailers
Jaws 3 & 4 Trailers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much better if you don't compare it to Jaws!, 12 Mar. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jaws 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If Jaws had never been filmed, this would no doubt be held in much higher regard. It is a fairly decent film. It's very similar to Jaws in that it is set in the same place (in fact, I'd say "Amity Island" is brought more to life in this film), with many of the same characters and a very similar (character-driven) plot and filming style.

True, it doesn't have Robert Shaw or Richard Dreyfruss(and therefore lacks their pedigree and humorous interplay), and half of the central characters here are kids (of mixed acting ability -- I'm referring to you "Sparrow-Girl!"), but Brody (another excellent performance from Roy Schieder), Ellen, the Mayor and (not forgetting) Hendricks, are as watchable as in the first film, and the shark action itself (some great attacks here) is fairly good too. The ending scene is a little silly, but (thinking about it) it was in the first film too!

Compared to Jaws 3 & 4 (which are both dreadful attempts to cash in) and all the clones that followed afterwards (Alligator, Piranha, Killerfish), this is the only film that manages to truly evoke the spirit of the original and doesn't (in my opinion) fall too many miles short. To watch a decent creature feature with quality acting and a story that is about more than just blood and guts is so rare (especially nowadays), that this shouldn't be dismissed outright simply as it isn't as good as Jaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underated sequel., 3 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Jaws 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This film always gets underated in my opinion.
The First is the best by a mile and probally the greatest film of all time.
don't compare the sequel to the first.
Robert Shaws character obviously wasn't gonna be in this one.
shame that dreyfuss wasn't in it either. Luckely Roy Scheider is in it.
Without Sheider this film would have been awful.
This would have only been a 1 star or 2 at most without scheider.
The film only works as Scheiders character Brody is the only intresting character in the movie.
Roy is one of my favourite actors of all time. its like he really is Brody. From start to finish
this movie only builds tension threw Brody's fear. without him like the sequels that followed just didn't work.
I also like the supporting cast from the original the mayor played by Murray Hamilton and Brodys wife Lorraine Gary.
It has some great set pieces - oh the helicopter scene!!!!! but its only a film. The only part I actually thought they should have taken
out of the movie was the part when they help Michael back on the boat and the shark looks like its running along on
a roller coaster track and it's mouth bends it looks very tacky in that bit. But the rest of the film is pretty good. especially the showdown with Brody and the shark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JAWS 2 review, 4 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Jaws 2 [DVD] (DVD)
i thought jaws 1 was an amazing film. it gripped humans fear for water and for sharks so tight, that after people saw this film hardly anyone went to the sea for a swim. so what does the film company do? they make a sequel. JAWS 2. i didnt really think that JAWS needed a sequel. it did just fine on its own. but that said, i liked JAWS 2. it may not have been as good as the 1st, but it was certainly better than 3 and 4. the thing i like about the film i that it does bring the same feel as JAWS 1 did. people had gotten over JAWS so they decided to go back to th beach but when JAWS 2 was released, people stayed away from the water again. the filmhas got some very decent shark attacks in it for example, the scene when there is a woman water skiing and you just see the sharks giant fin come up behind her and starts to chase her from under the water, i thought that was intense. i like how the shark died too, but i wont spoil it for you guys. roy scheider was great as always in the movie but it isnt the same without richard dreyfuss and robert shaw. i realy enjoyed JAWS 2, i thought it was a great sequel. id give it 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy sequel to a monster classic, 15 April 2010
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws 2 [DVD] (DVD)
How do you seriously produce a follow up to one of the greatest films ever commited to film? This is probably one of the questions asked by Zanuck & Brown and Universal Pictures back in 1977.
JAWS 2 surfaced in June 1978 on the back of a killer promotional trail. The novel was a huge bestseller and was also backed up by a myriad of short trailers and superb promotional poster showing a new killer great white towering of a blonde female water skiier.
JAWS 2 has a stellar cast including Roy Scheider, Lorraine Gary & Murray Hamilton. My only small criticism is that Lorraine Gary gets very short screen time which is a shame as she makes a great contribution. We get some amazing "set pieces" in this film including a fantastic attack sequence on a water skiier and ski boat. The second half of the film concentrates on the relentless attack by the shark on a stranded group of teenage sailors.
This film is directed very well and the script is also well written. It contains soem genuinely scary moments and John Williams once again provides a top class music score.
My rating: 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Sequel, 20 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Jaws 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The best sequel in the Jaws series opens in Amity, three years later and the story is now centred around the teenagers of the town. Most of them are out on the ocean in sailboats enjoying themselves until Chief Brody realises that following an explosion on a boat, all is not what it seems. This time, however, it proves difficult to convince the town hall folk to take him seriously.

The tension is high and the suspense sometimes unbearable. Although still not as good as the original, this sequel is still a classic thriller that packs a wollop! All the original cast return, minus Richard Dreyfuss and Robert Shaw and director Steven Spielberg, who was busy making 1941 at the time. John Williams provides an even superior (how is that possible?) score to his classic original! Now can we please have the Blu-Ray version??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK - Seen Better, 15 April 2003
This review is from: Jaws 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The problem with this sequel is the fact that JAWS is probably one of the best films ever made. Putting that aside, this sequel doesn't do too bad. I only gave it three stars - I took one off because it shows the shark way too much, and subsequently takes the suspense out of the film. I took another point off, simply because the film just isn't as good as the first one. But then again, Steven Spielberg directed the first one, and didn't do any of the other ones, and it shows. All in all, this film IS watchable, and I would recommend it if you haven't seen it before, but it's not a classic. The 3rd and 4th ones are a joke, but this isn't bad, when being compared to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jaws 2 [VHS]
Jaws 2 [VHS] by Jeannot Szwarc (VHS Tape - 2000)
£13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews