Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN OLD FASHIONED, MADCAP, SCREWBALL COMEDY...
This is a terrific, old fashioned, madcap, screwball comedy. Deftly directed by Howard Hawkes, the pace is frenetic from the get-go and never lets up. Starring Cary Grant, as a straight-laced paleontologist, and Katherine Hepburn, as an impulsive and beautiful heiress, this film is simply about as good as comedy gets.
The plot itself is simple. David Huxley (Cary...
Published on 1 Mar 2005 by Lawyeraau

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie but..
the dvd featured no extras or subtitles. The picture quality is also not that great. This movie deserves a better dvd edition.
Published on 17 May 2006 by hoem


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN OLD FASHIONED, MADCAP, SCREWBALL COMEDY..., 1 Mar 2005
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bringing Up Baby [DVD] (DVD)
This is a terrific, old fashioned, madcap, screwball comedy. Deftly directed by Howard Hawkes, the pace is frenetic from the get-go and never lets up. Starring Cary Grant, as a straight-laced paleontologist, and Katherine Hepburn, as an impulsive and beautiful heiress, this film is simply about as good as comedy gets.
The plot itself is simple. David Huxley (Cary Grant), a noted paleontologist, is trying to get a philanthropical grant of money for his museum from a wealthy donor. In his quest for this charitable gift, he runs into Susan (Katherine Hepburn), who, unbeknownst to him, is the niece and prospective heiress to his potential philanthropist's fortune. Once David meets up with this madcap heiress, his life will never be the same.
The film is noted for its highly improbable situations, its rat-a-tat-tat, staccato delivery of lines, its frenetic pacing, and impeccable comedic timing. Toss in a missing dinosaur bone, a little dog with a fondness for such, a domesticated leopard (if there is such a thing), a not so tame leopard, a great cast and script, and voila, one ends up with a great film!
Cary Grant is marvelous as David Huxley, the straight-laced, befuddled man of science who is drawn into improbable situations by Susan. Katherine Hepburn is sensational as Susan, the airhead heiress whose hair-brained ideas just lead to trouble. Of course, Susan falls for David, and the games begin. In addition to Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn, the film has notable performances by Charles Ruggles, as big game hunter Major Applegate, Barry Fitzgerald as the hapless hired hand, Mr. Gogarty, and Walter Catlett, as Slocum, the criminally stupid town constable.
It is with good reason that this film made the Entertainment Weekly list of the 100 best comedies ever made. It is an assessment with which I heartily concur. This is a superlative, vintage film that is well worth having in one's personal collection. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Screwball Comedy At It's Best, 11 Jun 2006
This review is from: Bringing Up Baby [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big Cary Grant/Katherine Hepburn fan so I'm liable to be bias. But what can I say? This film NEVER fails to make me laugh, no matter how many times I see it! This is comedy in it's truest form. The jokes are reeled off at an intense speed and you have to learn to go with the style of speech and comedy quickly or else you miss an equally funny joke whilst you're pondering over the previous one!! According to on-line sources, Katherine Hepburn had never filmed a comedy like this before and had to have tution in comic timing and such. You wouldn't guess it was the first film of such kind that she'd made for the humour and timing is perfect and she plays funny little Susan with an amazing ability. Cary Grant is highly amusing as the object of her affections. I cannot recommend this film highly enough!! 11/10!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would you believe a Howard Hawk's film?, 9 Oct 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bringing Up Baby [DVD] (DVD)
Bringing up baby is as described frantic, fast and noisy. You do not have time to get your breath. All the actors are at their best. There is a story line and a consistency that keeps this movie from being a bunch of one liners.

David Huxley (Cary Grant) is a paleontologist who has an important find. He crosses paths with Susan Vance (Katherine Hepburn) who is not all there but very witty. Susan has a secret "Baby", her pet leopard.

One of the themes is mistaking Baby for another more dangerous leopard that escaped from captivity. Many movies did this with black bags. However bags don't bite. And again every time Carry Grant gets mixed up with Katharine something inevitably goes wrong and this snowballs as the movie progresses. The movie moves fast enough that you may want to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best ever screwball comedy, 26 April 2007
This review is from: Bringing Up Baby [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourite film of all time. Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn gel in such a superb way that from beginning to end the film is a delight and very funny. When it comes to screwball comedies then this is the one that all others should be measured against. Grants playing of the hapless Professor in pursuit of a grant for his museum is masterful. Hepburn matches him step for step as the rich heiress who falls for him and will do almost anything to keep him near her. The scene in the hotel when Hepburn looses the bottom of her dress and Grant walks step for step behind her to cover the embarrassment is priceless. The film is a joy and always cheers me up when I watch it. Everyone who likes comedy should buy a copy of this and encourage everyone they know to watch it. I can give it no higher praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, But Special Edition, Please..., 19 Jan 2005
This review is from: Bringing Up Baby [DVD] (DVD)
Whenever you hear the expression "screwball comedy", Bringing Up Baby immediately springs to mind, being in my view the finest of the genre. The Cary Grant/Howard Hawks collaboration was never better, nor indeed that of Grant and Katherine Hepburn, a big claim considering The Philadelphia Story.
Grant plays the bespectacled curator of a Natural History museum who is having the most important day of his life. Not only is he getting married the next day, but also is expecting the final bone in the museum's centrepiece Diplodocus exhibit AND has to entertain a rich benefactor who is about to donate a fortune to the museum. Enter a desperate series of unfortunate incidents, particularly the arrival of Hepburn and her pet leopard, and his day is in tatters.
The movie offers unlikely but often commented-on titbits of film history. Firstly it contains a scene which utilises (what-was-then) quite innovative special effects - namely a series of shots filmed separately and then composited together to give the appearance of Hepburn and Grant coming face-to-face with a leopard in the same frame. It also marks the only out-and-out comedy role Hepburn ever did and the very last role she was able to perform for RKO pictures - this latter the result of the infamous career hammering engineered by tycoon William Randolf Hearst, an influential enemy of Hepburn's.
Grant is absolutely brilliant as the reluctant stooge to Hepburn's advances, but she gets to provide all the fireworks. Her energetic, relentless, though earnest romantic pursuit of Grant would quite frankly be regarded as stalking in the real world but here heightens the hilarious comedy of errors as Grant's plight becomes more and more complicated.
Such a great, and indeed widely celebrated, film you would think deserves a decent DVD package, but unfortunately the UK only get a vanilla release while the US get a two-disc special edition including commentary from Peter Bogdanovich, documentaries on Grant and Hawks, some Howard Hawks shorts and so forth. Still, the movie alone is well worth the asking price...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic screwball comedy, 28 Feb 2009
By 
Ginevra (Farnham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bringing Up Baby [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably the most perfect screwball comedy ever made. It is brilliantly funny, and moves through the gags with smooth, polished energy. Cary Grant's comic timing is impeccable and in his early movies he actually acts a part that isn't just a reflection of his own persona. Katherine Hepburn is both beautiful, ditzy and hilarious in her portrayal of the essential screwball heroine- the madcap heiress. This film is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Quirky little film., 11 April 2009
This review is from: Bringing Up Baby [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film and can definitely classify it as a 'Screwball comedy'! I orginally purchased the DVD it as part of my Film Studies AS course and was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Neither too long nor too short it is a movie perfect to curl up and watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy classic, 11 Jan 2006
This review is from: Bringing Up Baby [DVD] (DVD)
Still makes me laugh out loud no matter that I've probably seen it about 10 times. Face-paced, great script and full of charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic Genius, 9 Nov 2010
By 
A. Close - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bringing Up Baby [DVD] (DVD)
Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn are perfectly matched in this comic gem. He is a paleontologist and she is the scatty socialite who helps get hin into all sorts of trouble which involves a leopard and various of her relatives. Fast action and very funny, this is a classic of old style comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll be with you in a minute Mr Peabody, 21 Oct 2010
This could teach a few things to modern day comedy writers and actors, and is possibly the finest romantic screwball comedy ever made. It's unsurprising that the film has never been re-made (accepting What's Up Doc), because we don't have actors in the same class as Hepburn and Grant these days. Bringing Up Baby is the romantic comedy equivalent of a heavyweight boxing match, and Miss Hepburn wins this one hands down, although Mr Grant does give her a run for her money...oh and one of the other characters is called Mr Carlton Random. Now that's random.

The American region version is excellent and I don't understand why we haven't got this in the UK as well. The film sits snugly with The Philadelphia Story and we do have the 2 disc version of that over here, so why not Bringing Up Baby as well?

Teach your children well - Make them watch Bringing Up Baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bringing Up Baby [VHS]
Bringing Up Baby [VHS] by Howard Hawks (VHS Tape - 1998)
8.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews