Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'd only be Madness NOT to get this!, 16 Oct 2003
This review is from: Divine Madness (Audio CD)
This album contains all of Madness' gratest hits, which makes it the best in the world! seriously, i love madness, and if you do, well, you'd already have this! There's also a DVD of all the re-mastered videos of these songs. check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun ska-pop music with depth, 16 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divine (Audio CD)
Superficially, Madness seemed to be a lightweight pop group who had a lot of fun, but some of their songs had a lot of depth. I've seen them compared to the Kinks - both groups having (in their different eras) offered interesting insights into London life. This is high praise indeed so although I wouldn't quite put Madness on the same level as the Kinks, their music has far more to offer than you might think.
Between 1979 and 1983, Madness had fifteen UK top ten hits and two UK top twenty hits. Taking their group name from a Prince Buster song, their first hit (The Prince) was a tribute to him and their second hit (One step beyond) was a cover of one of Prince Buster's songs. They later had another cover hit with It must be love (Labi Siffre) but wrote most of their own material.
Their biggest UK hits were House of fun (UK number one) and Wings of a dove (UK number two - an original song, not a cover of the old gospel standard), but they also made the UK top five with My girl, Baggy trousers, Embarrassment, Grey day, It must be love, Driving in my car, Our house and The sun and the rain.
After one of their members quit in 1983, the hits generally became smaller although Madness continued to make great music. They disbanded in 1986 but have re-formed intermittently since then. One such reunion (with the original line-up) recorded a new album in 1999, which yielded the UK top ten hit Lovestruck and another great song, Johnny the horse, both featured here.
Their first hits compilation was titled Complete Madness and their second was called Utter Madness. Between them, these two volumes (both available on CD) contain every UK hit of the eighties, however minor, but do not cover their 1999 comeback. This compilation covers their whole career and contains all the essentials and some of the minor hits. If you just want one Madness CD, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many years on, and Madness still remain an outstanding group, 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Divine (Audio CD)
For a group in the mid-ninteen eighties, Madness gave a new zany and fun style to music. To this day, they are all still fun songs and the band remain great. They even made a small comeback last year with a brand new album but what can it show now? Divine Madness remains a brilliant collection of Madness songs. Highlights include the oh-so-famous Our House, the great Baggy Trousers and and other greats such as Waiting for the Train that Never Comes and Driving in My Car. If your a newcomer to Madness, I'm not sure if I suggest their new works bacause the old stuff shows what they're really made of. A great CD of mid-1980s songs by a brilliant group that still deserve to be going strong today. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine Madness, 12 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Madness (Audio CD)
All the classics, it took me back to my youth. Great CD. If you are over 35 and under 50 get it on you Ipod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll remember more than you think!, 1 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Divine (Audio CD)
The 80's. Not that long ago, was it? It's all coming back now..shoulder pads, big hair, silly make up. 70's parties? How last century! The 80's are the new novelty item we can laugh about and thank god we got through alive. And at your 80's party, what tunes will you have your guests shaking their Miami Vice-style behins to? Wham!, Spandeu Ballet, Dexy's Midnight Runners? How about something to get them all moving like it's 1982 again? Bang on Divine Madness and bring tears to their eyes as they remember dancing to "House of Fun", "Driving in my car" "Our House" and snogging to "It must be love"! Song after song is a encapsulated memory of those heady days 20 years ago. And now it's digitally remastered to bring the tunes into the new millenium (or something) and as a special treat, they've banged on "Lovestruck" and "Johnny the Horse" from their latest album "Wonderful". so you can keep well up to date. Go on! Dig out your puffball skirt or your Armarni Yuppie suit and braces and have your 80's party...and buy Divine Madness to complete the look. You'd be mad not to...ho ho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Stuff, 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Divine (Audio CD)
Well what can I say! This is one of the best albums I have ever heard, and that's a fine achievement. A whole bunch of hits gathered together from various albums, all of similar quality. One which does stand out from the rest is the brilliant "Embarrassment", which depicts the bands "meathead" following which lowered their estimations from some people in the early 80's. And the inclusion of two songs from the new album "Wonderful" is a great idea, and both are of great quality. They should, however, included "The Communicator" from that album, as it is a real throwback to true Ska. This, and "Wonderful", are must buys for any real music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this cd is ONE STEP BEYOND the rest on the market!!!!!, 4 July 2001
By 
eye_am@somepub.co.uk (Mad town, Hykeham, Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Divine (Audio CD)
Once upon a time there was music. And then there was Madness! Of all the events of the twentieth century the release of divine madness will go down in folklore as one of those moments beyond words. People will ask 'where were you when Divine Madness was released?'. The CD quite rightly, was praised by the institute of dieting horses due to its kilo-cutting powers. Who would forget those hazy nights dancing the nutty dance into the early hours of the morning? I alone have shed pounds in the last few minutes. I earge you, nay demand you, the people of the world to go out and purchase this disk. Heck, you could even buy three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Madness Classics, 15 Mar 2014
By 
John Moore "John Moore" (Dorset. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine (Audio CD)
This is a excellent cd. great memorable tracks on this great cd. Madness were a great group that made many people happy with there music compared that most of these tracks were released from during the 1980's when Britain was ruled by "Thatcher's" government and the misery we all underwent by that government it was great to have Madness around who gave us so much to cheer us all up. great music from a band of great merriment. the music never dates and will still be as popular as years go on. we got a lot to thank Madness for a true great band of musicians and terrific great music so please enjoy Madness....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love madness, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine (Audio CD)
Love madness already got on vinyl this had more songs and only one with the Michael Caine song, very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine (Audio CD)
One of the best bands of all time - every track a great one and I never get tired of listening to Madness. Happy memories of the 80's, but this music is virtually timeless. My teenage kids love it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divine
Divine by Madness (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews