Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "objection, your honour!"
I've had one of these for years. I was just looking one up on amazon to buy one for my Mum, who always comments on the good design (she has arthritis), and I noticed what a lot of negative reviews it had. Wondering what the issues were, I skimmed over them

I have no idea who wrote them, but the idea that you can buckle this thing easily is such rubbish I felt...
Published 10 months ago by Broken iPod owner

versus
45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flimsy.
The legs of this masher are welded on to the mashing plate, instead of all being one piece, and the handle is also not very securely added on. This makes for a weak structure which very quickly buckles and becomes virtually unusable, however much you may like it at first. Don't buy it! Buy instead the Cuisipro Tempo Potato Masher (which I replaced the OXO with), bigger,...
Published on 2 Mar 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flimsy., 2 Mar 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Hunstanton, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
The legs of this masher are welded on to the mashing plate, instead of all being one piece, and the handle is also not very securely added on. This makes for a weak structure which very quickly buckles and becomes virtually unusable, however much you may like it at first. Don't buy it! Buy instead the Cuisipro Tempo Potato Masher (which I replaced the OXO with), bigger, easier and more comfortable to use, made from one very, very solid piece of stainless steel, will last forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but fragile, 9 May 2009
By 
David (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher
Worked very well but rivets at sides small & after a year gave way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "objection, your honour!", 8 Sep 2013
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
I've had one of these for years. I was just looking one up on amazon to buy one for my Mum, who always comments on the good design (she has arthritis), and I noticed what a lot of negative reviews it had. Wondering what the issues were, I skimmed over them

I have no idea who wrote them, but the idea that you can buckle this thing easily is such rubbish I felt moved to type this. I could buckle it by putting my full weight on it, but the metal is about as thick as a butter knife's blade. The idea that a cooked potato could inadvertantly buckle it is either written by someone trying to mash a raw potato, or someone who is deliberately writing a negative review

My wrist has never been full strength from breaking it years ago, and traditional potato mashing always aggravated it. but this allows you to 'punch' potatoes/whatever in the most natural and forceful way. I would recommend it to anyone who cooks potatoes before mashing them. I actually bought mine after seeing Jamie Oliver mash a load of stock up in a saucepan with one and looked for ages before finding one in John Lewis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BUT FRAIL., 12 Nov 2009
By 
George K. D. Murray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
EXCELLENT DESIGN, EFFORTLESS & SMOOTH MASH. BUCKLES UNDER AVERAGE PRESSURE, NOT STRONG ENOUGH, NOR TALL ENOUGH. WITH A UPGRADE, IT COULD BE THE BEST ON THE MARKET.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a piece of junk, 13 Sep 2013
By 
J. Washbrook (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
one of the arms has come out of the handle and i can't find a way of permanently mending it so it is just a piece of jun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASH WITH LESS EFFORT!! - THE BEST DESIGNED MASHER ON THE MARKET, 10 Oct 2007
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
IF YOU WANT A POTATO MASHER WHERE THE SHAFT DOESN'T FEEL AS THOUGH IT'S GOING THROUGH YOUR PALM THIS IS THE ONE FOR YOU.

FOR ANYONE WITH A WEAK HAND OR ARM, THE WELL DESIGNED HANDLE ALLOWS BETTER LEVERAGE FOR MASHING WITH LESS EFFORT.

YOU WON'T REGRET BUYING THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jelly, Devon., 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
Brilliant masher. So easy to use and very comfortable in your hand. Best one I have ever had. Would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Masher Ever!!!!, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
Purchased this for my mum as her old masher broke, she is soooooo happy with this one that every time she has to use it she goes on about how amazing it is :D I also used it to make guacamole last week after I had chopped up the avocado and it worked really well!

Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
Was a present for mother in law who struggled to use a normal masher , she struggles with arthritis and this has done wonders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what I want it to., 22 April 2010
By 
Ms. Kelly Park (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher (Kitchen & Home)
Bought the item as I wanted a bit more grip when mashing potatoes, this does exactly what I wanted it to do. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews