Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars106
4.6 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Corer|Change
Price:£6.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2012
great for coring apples (unsurprising really), goes in dishwasher and holding up well to almost daily use so far. like the oxo products in general, always seem really good quality even though they are usually bit more expensive than equivalent products. sometimes tricky to remove core afterwards but think this would be a problem with most corers
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
Easily takes the cores out of apples. I have to make desserts with apples regularly, and I sffer with arthritis. This tool takes out all the hard work. Excellent product
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Having battled with a (free) plastic thing which broke my fingernails before it broke, this is a superbly well-made, comfortable to use, and efficient product.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A simple rule for the kitchen - always use the best tool for the job, and the humble apple corer is no exception.

And the OXO Good Grips Corer is exactly that... the best tool for the job. Here is why:

- Very strong stainless steel, which does not flex or bend
- Sharp (but not dangerous) cutting head, slightly bevelled, which avoids bruising your fruit
- Large handle for a good grip; especially helpful if you have painful finger joints
- Built to last; mine is two years old and looks new

Don't waste £2 on a rubbish corer, invest £5 in the last one you will ever need to buy.

Five stars.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
I have seen some mixed reviews for this item but I am very happy with it. We use it predominantly for apples and find it quick and easy to use, and it also avoids the mess you normally get. It is a reasonable price and washes well in the dishwasher. As some reviewers have noted, there is the odd time that it does not core out the whole core, e.g. when using on an apple that has a curved central core, but for us, this has not been an issue as this only tends to happen at the end of the core - we either use the corer to remove any missed core, or use the end of the knife, and this is easy to do and still a lot less hassle than just using a knife.

Ours has stood up to nearly 6 months of regular use and washing in the dishwasher now, it has even seemed to have encouraged my 2 teenage children to eat more fruit (as they sometimes would not eat apples if they had to core them with a knife).

Update December 2014;

Have been so pleased with this corer that I have just purchased another.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 November 2013
Absolutely does the job. The handle is easy to grip and maintain purchase, it is sharp enough to go through any apple, and I found no problem in pulling it back out again with the core intact. Getting the core out was simple enough - just a push on one end and it just fell out. Quick, no mess, and simple - does exactly as promised.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
Great product - it's a pretty bog standard apple corer that has a little serated bit at the top that you drive through the apple and remove the core in one easy motion. Getting the core out of the corer a little tricky sometimes but no biggie. It takes away a relatively generous amount of apple but nothing too wasteful. It's got a nice big handle and feels pretty sturdy. I use this practically every morning when making a smoothie and it works well.

Very useful as well to think 'I need an apple corer' one day and then get home from work the next day to find this has been delivered. Great service.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was exactly what I wanted. I have bought oxo products before and this is just as good.
I have the corer with the slicer but I wanted to make baked apples so this was perfect and what I needed.
It worked like a charm. Washed in the dishwasher perfectly. Seems sturdy and strong.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
This is a fantastic kitchen tool. From first handling the corer, you can quickly tell it is sturdy and will last quite a while. The strong stainless steel handles stress very well without showing any signs of bending, and the grips feel cleverly engineered. There are also no sections on the corer sharp enough to cut you; the serrated end is sharp enough to slice through fruit or vegetables but blunt enough to be touched without worry.

I first used the corer to core some potatoes for an interesting baking recipe, including normal and sweet potatoes. I thought the normal baking potatoes were tough to core until I cored the sweet potatoes (needless to say, a great arm workout), however this is where the grips on the corer really shined.

Being an avid fan of apple-based desserts, I look forward to putting this corer to good use for a long while to come. Don't settle for a cheap alternative - spend a little extra with this and you'll be thanking yourself. A must have for any kitchen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This works really well as an apple corer but I also wanted to remove the watery middle bit from cucumbers and this fits the bill and does exactly what I want.

Nice grippy handle and a reasonably sharp cutting edge means this is easy to use and does the job it is supposed to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)