Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Let's Talk About Girls..."
Salvo's 2009 enhanced CD reissue of The Undertones wonderful debut album (30th Anniversary) differs from last year's Sanctuary reissue of the same in a few ways worth pointing out.

Here's a detailed breakdown (67:38 minutes):

Tracks 1 to 14 make up the 1st pressing of their debut LP "The Undertones" on Sire Records SRK 6071 initially released in May...
Published on 2 April 2009 by Mark Barry

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The true New New w@ undertones
good gun Band at the time when I MY SELF was 17 .not my thing but good. for the young people who never got into the Harvey // see the time was spot on for the lads BUT NEVER WAS GOING TO BE THE CLASH OR PISTOLS AND THE PINS .THANKS FOR THE TIMES OF 1976_77 BEST TIME OF OUR LIFE. ) FROM BILLINGHAM TEESSIDE DICKIEMINT FRIEND OF S L F
???
Published 5 months ago by Terry Dickenson .DICKIEMINTBI...


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars The true New New w@ undertones, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Undertones (Audio CD)
good gun Band at the time when I MY SELF was 17 .not my thing but good. for the young people who never got into the Harvey // see the time was spot on for the lads BUT NEVER WAS GOING TO BE THE CLASH OR PISTOLS AND THE PINS .THANKS FOR THE TIMES OF 1976_77 BEST TIME OF OUR LIFE. ) FROM BILLINGHAM TEESSIDE DICKIEMINT FRIEND OF S L F
???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great band, great album., 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Undertones (Audio CD)
This album is up there with the best in Punk Rock / New Wave. The best album from Ireland if you ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oooh baby baby what can I do - but buy this CD, 4 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Undertones (Audio CD)
A really great Lp with the original (and best) packaging. Great to see the b sides at the end as well. My only complaint is that the version of Here Comes The Summer is not the Original as stated in the track listing. Oh well, Can't have everything I suppose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Mar 2010
By 
T. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Undertones (Audio CD)
Quite simply amazing.

One of the best albums I now own and can't get enough it. If you love the raw sound of guitar and drums you will love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite albums ever. Power pop from Ireland., 11 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Undertones (Audio CD)
Man, I have loved the UNDERTONES since, I'm not sure, about 1980 or so. They played once in San Diego, 1981 I think. I had to work late but I sent several relatives and friends and they all said it was like a BEATLES concert (ok, mini) in that the people were all into it and happy and jumpin' around.
There's nobody like this band. Pure power pop. Well written pop songs with strong guitars and that quirky Fergal Sharkey vocal. You gotta get over that or you just can't like this band. Their first two albums, this and Hypnotised, are classic UNDERTONES. And the bonus trax which include non-lp singles (and more?) fit right in with these first two albums. I don't come to this band from the pop part, I come to them from their punk association. Many U.S. punx I've known over the years don't consider them to be punk at all because they're nothin' close to hardcore. And, in fact, they proudly have that pure pop sound. Course, their lyrical content continues to fascinate me given they were a Northern Ireland band and could, obviously, have had very political lyrics. Instead we get some of the greatest teen/love/yearning lyrics with strong guitars in very strongly musically written songs.
Does a band stand the test of time? This one has for me. I get as happy listening to this album today as I did then. Well, of course, they didn't have this version with the bonus trax. Thank goodness for CD reissues and the good habit of adding non-lp songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated Undertones, 14 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Undertones (Audio CD)
Funny how after many years something you remember only a little about comes back, and you think that was really good stuff, especially for one who at the time thought that punk-like stuff was stupid. But the more I listen, the more the lyrics amuse, and it's a good thing that CDs unlike vynils don't wear out, as it's permanently in my car CD player. It's that good. Some of the tracks are very short, but that adds to the quality in my view, and they are all worth listening to and tell their own message of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i just cant get over this!!!, 4 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Undertones (Audio CD)
this album is amazing-truly amazing.if you like music at all youll love this.i have seen the undertones twice in concert (in 3 months)they were,are,and will always be the greatest band of all time.the album blends in well-each song following a song suits following it if you know what i mean!! this is my favourite album and the only other album i think comes close to this is the artic monkeys debut alb.(or any other undertones 1 4 that matter)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rock on!, 16 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Undertones (Audio CD)
This boxed set shows a remarkable band who many people may nto have heard of. i must admit they are not my favourite band however you can't deny that classic songs like Teenage kicks and jimmy jimmy really make this a good album to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Undertones CD, 14 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Undertones (Audio CD)
Disappointed with the CD as the band was described as being one of the top 100 British groups.
There is such a "sameness" about the beat in every song that it makes you feel as though it
lacked imagination by the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undertones
Undertones by Undertones (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews