Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like Birds
Another classic album from the group who brought you Beautiful Freak and the wonderful Electroshock Blues. Musically this is a lighter album than Electroshock and less mainstream than Freak as we see the band start to experiment with different sounds and instruments, nothing like a bit of horn. Lyrically Daisies is stock Eels fare, with a variety of songs touching on...
Published on 4 Feb 2005 by B. Roche

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough good songs
The best songs on this album are as good as anything Eels have done previously, but whenever I listen to it I find myself skipping half the album, something I don't often do. The poor songs are just samey and unexceptional, like Mr E was struggling to finish, and just hammered a few songs together in no time. 4 songs are superb (in particular the simple brilliance of...
Published on 14 Feb 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIGH, 5 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Thats the first word that comes to mind here. *sigh* This is a beautiful album. It has meaning, melodies and melancholy all in one happy little package. That may be a contradiction - but then thats half the point.
There are several tracks on this album, I say without shame, that if you listen to the words, will make you cry - and I'm not of a soppy persuasion either. I like Birds and Jeannes diary - but then I like all of them.
if you are a fan of good music then this is the one for you. And get their other albums too, cause they both kick butt too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the music equivelant of a teddy bear, 28 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
The eels are certainly an intersting group. There first album was a mixed bag of songs filled with different emotions. Their second album was rather depressing. This album however is well... happy. Don't let that deter you, though. It is fantastic. From the opener "Grace Kelly Blues" with its supposedly reassuring lyrics ("I'm doing pretty godd as of now") to the forced happiness of the last bonus track ("Goddamn right, it's a beautiful day") this album is a must have. The "sweet" music masks strangely comic lyrics and a fantastic, sad ballad (Its a motherf****r)as well as some very strange songs (I like birds). Indeed "I've got a feeder for you to perch on". So sit back in your chair with a cup of cocoa and relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shher class, as usual., 7 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Eel's previous two albums, Electro Shock Blues and Beautiful Freak, had such a sad and moody feeling, that Daises, at first listen at least, was of some surprise to me. While it's not an uplifting album, it has moments of "jollieness." The bonus track, Mr. E's Beautiful Blues, has a nice happy beat while the lyrics are filled with irony; changing from "the girl with the curls and sweet pink ribbon in her hair, crying 'cause her Daddy just don't care" to "uh huh, damn right it's a beautiful day." On the whole, though, Daises is one fine album and is arguably their best to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an uplifting, life-affirming masterpiece, 8 Mar 2000
By 
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
The Eels previous two albums were flawed but beautiful. This is simply magnificent. Not one of the the tracks sounds like an album filler and Daisies of the Galaxy has a great coherence to it. Since I got a copy, I've been playing it incessantly. DotG combines life-affirming, joyous tracks like Tiger in My Tank and Mr E's Beautiful Blues with delicate, romantic gems such as Wooden Nickels and Jeannie's Diary. Add in the quirky humour of 'Birds' and the perverseness of writing a gorgeous, fragile ballad and calling it Motherf***** and you have an album I defy anyone not to adore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The simple songs are the most beautiful., 14 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Before this album i saw the Eels as being a decent lo-fi band who would cruise along without really doing anything spectacular. DOTG changes everything. From the opener "Grace Kelly Blues" to the bonus track and single "Mr E's Beautiful Blues" there is not one weak track. It's incredible how good an ear E has for a catchy tune. Songs like the single and "Flyswatter" will have you strutting your stuff, while others like "It's a Motherfucker" and "Jeannie's diary" are amongst the most moving tracks you'll hear all year. Superb stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
xxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eels, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
for a second hand cd at a fraction of real cost was very pleased with the quality and even the case wasn't too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Daisies of the Galaxy, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
This was bought as a gift for my nephew who has some strange but original tastes in music. I was very happy to purchase this for him as I think Eels are a fab and unique band with a talented for writing some fantastic songs. I had a listen and think the title track is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marries their first two albums perfectly, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
This album really does combine the sound of the first two Eels albums to create a very impressive collection. There are some classic songs on here - Sound of Fear, I Like Birds, Flyswatter - which link beautifully in with the more introspective songs like Grace Kelly Blues and Selective Memory. A real feel-good album is polished off with the hit single Mr E's Beautiful Blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!!!, 22 Sep 2008
By 
C. Taylor (Flintshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
This is the album that got me into the Eels and an album that would have to be one of my desert island discs. The whole album is haunting, charming, songwriting at its best. The standout point for me is towards the end of the title track, 'I'll pick some daisies, from the flower bed, of the galaxy theatre, while you clear your head......I thought some daisies might cheer you up' followed by a spine tingling ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daisies of the Galaxy
Daisies of the Galaxy by Eels (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews