Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars silver linings
"I don't know how you take in all the s*** you receive" sings E on the infectiously upbeat yet often sarcastic "Mr E's Beautiful Blues". Perhaps the answer lies in the light, simple feel of much of this album. A marked departure from the tragic mood that prevailed on "Electro-Shock Blues", E spends much of "Daisies of the Galaxy" with his head in the clouds.
The...
Published on 28 July 2000 by robinparker55@hotmail.com

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars boring and flat
this is all eels slow plaintive songs and apart from one or two tracks , sucha s birds, the tunes are nonexistent and/or boring. there is better eels stuff available. yawn.
Published 20 days ago by Captain Kirk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
This is simply a great album, and although I'm not usually into this style of music - I really like it! Eels are just excellent at producing catchy rhythms and ostinatos. The best tracks are Flyswatter, The Sound of Fear and Jeannie's Diary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an uplifting, life-affirming masterpiece, 8 Mar 2000
By 
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
The Eels previous two albums were flawed but beautiful. This is simply magnificent. Not one of the the tracks sounds like an album filler and Daisies of the Galaxy has a great coherence to it. Since I got a copy, I've been playing it incessantly. DotG combines life-affirming, joyous tracks like Tiger in My Tank and Mr E's Beautiful Blues with delicate, romantic gems such as Wooden Nickels and Jeannie's Diary. Add in the quirky humour of 'Birds' and the perverseness of writing a gorgeous, fragile ballad and calling it Motherf***** and you have an album I defy anyone not to adore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shher class, as usual., 7 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Eel's previous two albums, Electro Shock Blues and Beautiful Freak, had such a sad and moody feeling, that Daises, at first listen at least, was of some surprise to me. While it's not an uplifting album, it has moments of "jollieness." The bonus track, Mr. E's Beautiful Blues, has a nice happy beat while the lyrics are filled with irony; changing from "the girl with the curls and sweet pink ribbon in her hair, crying 'cause her Daddy just don't care" to "uh huh, damn right it's a beautiful day." On the whole, though, Daises is one fine album and is arguably their best to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIGH, 5 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Thats the first word that comes to mind here. *sigh* This is a beautiful album. It has meaning, melodies and melancholy all in one happy little package. That may be a contradiction - but then thats half the point.
There are several tracks on this album, I say without shame, that if you listen to the words, will make you cry - and I'm not of a soppy persuasion either. I like Birds and Jeannes diary - but then I like all of them.
if you are a fan of good music then this is the one for you. And get their other albums too, cause they both kick butt too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The simple songs are the most beautiful., 14 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Before this album i saw the Eels as being a decent lo-fi band who would cruise along without really doing anything spectacular. DOTG changes everything. From the opener "Grace Kelly Blues" to the bonus track and single "Mr E's Beautiful Blues" there is not one weak track. It's incredible how good an ear E has for a catchy tune. Songs like the single and "Flyswatter" will have you strutting your stuff, while others like "It's a Motherfucker" and "Jeannie's diary" are amongst the most moving tracks you'll hear all year. Superb stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Freaks, 21 Dec 2000
By 
knowledeayton (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Following the difficult, complex 'Electro-Shock Blues', eels returned to a more basic format (if such a word can be used to accurately describe their music) and produced probably their most wholly satisfying album yet.

The tone is less downbeat than before, and at times almost childlike, a feeling reinforced by the picturebook sleeve artwork and by tracks such as 'I Like Birds', in which E sings 'It's alright if you act like a turd, 'cause I like birds'. However, on other tracks he piles the irony on with a trowel, not least 'Mr E's Beautiful Blues' (tagged on, oddly, as a 'bonus'). That said, few better singles were released during 2000.

There are obvious exceptions to the (superficially) jolly mood, particularly 'It's A Motherfucker', which executes the neat trick of giving a downright dirty title to an exceptionally pretty song, and the equally lovely 'Selective Memory'. However, they don't alter the fact that 'Daisies...' as a whole leaves you with something approaching a warm glow, particularly if you're familiar with their rather grim past. Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Variety Perfectly Executed, 22 Jan 2004
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
I will start by stating that this album is unlike anything i have ever heard, though many influences pulling from many genres is apparent none to date have made such a fusion of inventiveness as is on show here. Each track on this album is a gem in its' own right, however initially this album has to be listened to, attended to for its' full glory to be realised. The lyrical quirkiness is a defining part of this package despite much of the dark subject matter and obvious repercussions of E's own personal tragedies (the death of his sister and mother during or prior to the period of recording). Songs such as 'Tiger In My Tank', 'Jeannie's Diary' and 'Grace Kelly Blues' are each so beautifully unique and individual despite sitting pefectly within this collection of unbelievably strong songs. If you appreciated Mr E's Beautiful Blues then you won't exactly have any clue what to expect but i think you will be pleasantly surprised. Anyone else would do well to give it a listen, if it's not your 'cup of tea' at least it will be an experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the perfect remedy for electro shock blues, 2 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
its been a rough ride for E, singer and the brains behind eels. their first album, beatiful freak laid teh foundations for a successfully commercial career, but family deaths meant their follow up, electro shock blues, was a downbeat and haunting experience, lacking the big hit single that the charts demand. daisies of teh galaxy however, is a far cleaner, more refreshing sound. recorded mainly in E's house, with most of the guitar sounds coming from a banjo played through a sound module, this album is the sweet smell of teh rain after the storm. "flyswatter" and "birds" being two of teh standout tracks, although there are no weak spots on this album. And just when you fear that we may be regressing into weepy teritory, "Mr. E's beautiful blues" crops up at teh end to blow the clouds away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is this the breakthrough album? Surely it deserves to be., 1 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
E lost his blackness (well, most of the time) in favour of a lighter, more poppy sound. Does that mean they backed off on the quality issue? No! They even managed to shake off the slightly pedantic air that sometimes harrased BF and ESB. The only thing that's shame about it it's that it's so short. (Could go on forever). Also listen to Mr e's Beautiful Blues single, as it has a non- album track on it, whiwh I quite dig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He's gotten over the suicides and break-up's, thank God, 1 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Another great album. Voice more and more like Beck, mixed with tripped-out-childhood psychadelia like Mercury Rev and the Cardiacs.
Psychologically less affected than the previous two albums but a majestic attempt at musical closure.
Better arrangements with influence from Peter Buck (REM) and, I think, some ex-members of American Music Club.
Has stayed continuously on my CD for two days now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daisies of the Galaxy
Daisies of the Galaxy by Eels (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews