Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars silver linings
"I don't know how you take in all the s*** you receive" sings E on the infectiously upbeat yet often sarcastic "Mr E's Beautiful Blues". Perhaps the answer lies in the light, simple feel of much of this album. A marked departure from the tragic mood that prevailed on "Electro-Shock Blues", E spends much of "Daisies of the Galaxy" with his head in the clouds.
The...
Published on 28 July 2000 by robinparker55@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough good songs
The best songs on this album are as good as anything Eels have done previously, but whenever I listen to it I find myself skipping half the album, something I don't often do. The poor songs are just samey and unexceptional, like Mr E was struggling to finish, and just hammered a few songs together in no time. 4 songs are superb (in particular the simple brilliance of...
Published on 14 Feb 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars silver linings, 28 July 2000
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
"I don't know how you take in all the s*** you receive" sings E on the infectiously upbeat yet often sarcastic "Mr E's Beautiful Blues". Perhaps the answer lies in the light, simple feel of much of this album. A marked departure from the tragic mood that prevailed on "Electro-Shock Blues", E spends much of "Daisies of the Galaxy" with his head in the clouds.
The funereal opener, "Grace Kelly Blues" offers closure, a final cathartic release. A stately brass band pounds out a sombre, skeletal introduction seemingly wandering in from a 1980s Tom Waits album, before giving way to an acoustic guitar and E in a reflective mood. Surveying the world in which he's woken up yet again, he lets loose a silent chuckle and sums up with genuine wonder, "I think, you know, I'll be okay". Somehow it's certain he means it, particularly when the song segues seamlessly into the gorgeous "Packing Blankets", E's voice full of hope and liberation as he sets off on an unnamed path, determined to put an end to "all the troubles you and I have seen".
The open-road imagery of "Packing Blankets" suggests a long hot summer, a theme echoed throughout the album. E's at one with nature, whether studying the daisies pushing themselves up through concrete, or swatting the flies in his kitchen. Even the giant man-made spectacle of a rocket launch leaves him unfazed, preferring to stare beyond "the trophy wives of the astronauts" to the birds that flock all around, unaware of the scale of the disruption they face.
For all his newly-revealed joie de vivre, E's songs still display a rich awareness of the need for human contact and comfort. "Jeannie's Diary" is a heartbreaking tale of unrequited love, albeit with a sly admission of the shortcomings of both the dreamer and the object of his obsession ("oh she's got a dark side too, even murderous..."). "Its a Motherf***er", probably the best song here, evokes the longing and loneliness of a distanced lover (or possibly a recently-abandoned one) with stark simplicity. Album closer (save for the oddball bonus inclusion of the single), "Selective Memory", delivered in a childlike falsetto, is a companion piece to "Manchild", the tender conclusion of "Beautiful Freak". Its regret for the distance between what we want to hold in our mind's eye and the memories that slip away is offset by a naive belief that "if I lay my head down, I will see you in my dreams".
The cute children's illustration on the cover is no red herring, suggesting a nostalgic simplicity. E's given himself a straightforward enough brief: pare the songs down, tighten the production and stick to the standard three minutes. Despite the occasional piece of Beck-ish percussion and grooves, particularly on "Mr E's Beautiful Blues" (a bonus track presumably because it sits slightly at odds with the pastoral tone of much of the rest of the album), its a curiously old-fashioned trick. Yet E gets away with dumbly praising birds, and resurrecting homespun philosophies such as "don't take any wooden nickels, when you sell your soul", mainly because the tone is so affirming. If this sounds twee, he figures, so be it. Sometimes its best to go back to the simple things, filter through the best bits of your selective memory, and remind yourself of the good things. As E probably knows too well, life's too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like Birds, 4 Feb 2005
By 
B. Roche "somethingisrotten" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Another classic album from the group who brought you Beautiful Freak and the wonderful Electroshock Blues. Musically this is a lighter album than Electroshock and less mainstream than Freak as we see the band start to experiment with different sounds and instruments, nothing like a bit of horn. Lyrically Daisies is stock Eels fare, with a variety of songs touching on love, loss and loneliness.
Particular highlights include Grace Kelly Blues - "The Kid at the mall works at hoddog-on-a-stick; his hat is a funny shape, his heart is a brick," - Selective Memory and Something Is Sacred.
Eels seem to go from strength to strength and this album is just another step up the ladder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the music equivelant of a teddy bear, 28 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
The eels are certainly an intersting group. There first album was a mixed bag of songs filled with different emotions. Their second album was rather depressing. This album however is well... happy. Don't let that deter you, though. It is fantastic. From the opener "Grace Kelly Blues" with its supposedly reassuring lyrics ("I'm doing pretty godd as of now") to the forced happiness of the last bonus track ("Goddamn right, it's a beautiful day") this album is a must have. The "sweet" music masks strangely comic lyrics and a fantastic, sad ballad (Its a motherf****r)as well as some very strange songs (I like birds). Indeed "I've got a feeder for you to perch on". So sit back in your chair with a cup of cocoa and relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Musical Equivalent of a cup of tea..., 15 Dec 2004
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Eels were one of those bands who I'd always wanted to get more into, after hearing 'Novocaine...' but for whatever reason, i decided to get this album first. Prt of me is a little gutted i did though, because next to this, anything E and his not-so-merry men have created pails in insignifance.
The very Beatles-esque intro to Grace Kelly Blues fades away to reveal how the rest of this album means to go on...simple acoustic guitar parts, backed with functional basslines and catchy melodies. Tis may not sound like much, but the result really is beautiful in it's simplicity.
Fans of E's other stuff may be incredibly surprised by the albums positive vibe, in contrast to the bleak, atmospheric Beautiful Freak and Electro-Shock Blues. Even more so, when they find out this album was written in direct response to the death of his mother and sister. Interesting...
The best song on this album, probably through no coincidence being the simplest too, comes in Track 4s 'I like birds'. Using an effortless 3 chord progression, chirpy lyrics and a whistled backing melody, the song practically beams out of your speakers at you, unearthing many happy memories you feared lost.
This album will wake you up on a monday morning, restore your faith in life, reassure you through bad times, and make you smile through the good (hence the title of this review...). I recommend any music fan gives this a try, as its appeal is universal. No doubt about it, worth all of its 5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not a beautiful day through mr E's eyes, 22 Mar 2004
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
First of all, can everyone understand this... Mr E's beautiful blues is not the happy song the reviewers have so far desribed. It may have a funky bass line and the lyrics 'God damn right it's a beautiful day' but those lyrics are just mr E being sarcastic. He is as beautifully sad on this song as on previous albums, for example the first verse 'The smokestack is spitting black soot into the sooty sky/ The load on the road brings a tear to the Indian's eye' or 'The clown with the frown driving down to the sidewalk fair/Finger on the trigger let me tell you gave us quite a scare'
But enough of this complaining, this is a beautiful album, but it doesn't quite have the depth of Electro-shock blues. For some the aforementioned album does get a little repetitively depressive, but for me that is where mr E is at his best. The chirpy 'I like birds' is a plus, but the best moments come thick and fast near the end, with emotional songs like 'Jeannies diary' and 'Something is sacred' The only negative thing i have to say about the album is the pointless instrumental 'Estate sale'.
This is an excellent album, as you would expect from Eels, but doesn't quite reach the heights of Electro-shock blues or Beautiful freak. Still, it is definately worth buying for anyone who recognises musical talent in beautiful music and doesn't just say think that if you listen to Eels/Radiohead/Elbow etc you want to commit suicide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than most five star CDs..., 8 Oct 2003
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Not everyone's cup of tea. If you want disco or headbanging rock then look elsewhere !
Really really excellent album - deeply moving, amusing, personal, great lyrics. One of my ten all time favourite CDs.
Some tracks have immediate appeal; others are more subtle and take a bit of time.
At the risk of going off-topic;
- 1st CD Beautiful Freak is also good, especially the first 4-5 tracks. at least 4 stars
- 2nd CD Electro shock blues has some incredibly sad and moving lyrics - brought tears to my eyes reading them. but listening to the CD only the first track made a big impression. Lyrics 5* execution 3*.
- 4th CD Souljacker - variable, 3*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars coooool!, 20 Jun 2002
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
i hadnt really heard much from the eels before listening to "daisies of the galaxy", apart from "novocaine for the soul" and "susan's house" so i didnt really know what to expect. i was pleasantly suprised, its a really...um...dare i say it, happy, album. the fairytale like samples mixed in with mainly acoustic guitars with some meaningful lyrics create a really easy listening effect. i say some meaningful lyircs, because the words to "i like birds" go something along the lines of "if you're small and on a search, i've got a feeder for you to perch on" which i suppose might be meaningful to a budgie, but sadly not to me! But others are quite inspired such as those to "selective memory": "leaning in to hear you, you will whisper in my ear, and everything i need to know i finally hear"
basically, i think this cd tops "electro-shock blues" (apart from the legendary "last stop:this town") and sits along side "beautiful freak" (although i couldnt say about souljacker having never heard it) and is a must for anyones cd collection. the eels have branched many genres with "daisies in the galaxy", and anyone who likes good music will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely breathtaking piece of art., 6 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Before I heard this, I hadnt realy heard much eels. I'd heard a bit from the souljacker album and thats about it. I didnt know what to expect. But within hearing the first couple of minutes of opening song, "Grace Kelly Blues", I new I'd found something special. Every track is mindblowing in its own way. From the atmospheric groves and clever lyrics of "Flyswatter" to the swinging toe-tappin fun of "Tiger in My Tank" and, my personal favourite, "jeanies Diary", this is a mondern day work of genius. It makes you fell all emotions in existance with just a couple of listens. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
This is simply a great album, and although I'm not usually into this style of music - I really like it! Eels are just excellent at producing catchy rhythms and ostinatos. The best tracks are Flyswatter, The Sound of Fear and Jeannie's Diary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touched by genius, 8 April 2005
This review is from: Daisies of the Galaxy (Audio CD)
Simple songs, beatiful songs, happy songs, sad songs.At times stunningly original. The sad songs seem to have more impact than on 'Electro-Shock' because they're in a setting of such innocent sweetness. For me it's a dream of that innocence of childhood we all hunger for in musical form , mixed with waking up to the sadness of the grown-up world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daisies of the Galaxy
Daisies of the Galaxy by Eels (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews