Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars .....different?
Compared to Oasis' earlier albums (Definately Maybe and What's The Story) it's bad. If you want the original Oasis, don't expect much. But on its own, it's a great album.
The best songs on the album are Where Did It All Go Wrong, Roll It Over and Gas Panic. Roll It Over might as well be "Champagne Supernova part II". Where Did It... is another classic...
Published on 10 May 2000 by xh0u9016@liv.ac.uk

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The What Might Of Been Album
This is the closest thing to their experimental album, and the one they had to make.
Without a dout there was something here, Gas Panic, Roll it over, Who feels love all great progressive tracks that sounded unfinished at times.
Who said Oasis made the same old music. This should of been there finest hour but falls short. But at least they had the balls to do...
Published on 20 April 2011 by jam


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars .....different?, 10 May 2000
By 
xh0u9016@liv.ac.uk (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
Compared to Oasis' earlier albums (Definately Maybe and What's The Story) it's bad. If you want the original Oasis, don't expect much. But on its own, it's a great album.
The best songs on the album are Where Did It All Go Wrong, Roll It Over and Gas Panic. Roll It Over might as well be "Champagne Supernova part II". Where Did It... is another classic Oasis track, a strong tune.
The only ones I'm not keen on are I Can See A Liar and Who Feels Love. I Can See... isn't bad, but it's let down by a lack of variety. Who Feels Love is just a bit strange to me - too far from the original Oasis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars despite the critics, 29 Dec 2009
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
Despite the critics to this album, the tracks are extremely catchy once you have heard them a few times. The true oasis fan will appreciate this album, but it probily wont appeal to the commercial audience.Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONTROVERSIAL, 24 Dec 2010
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
Ok I am gonna be a bit controversial here and excuse the pun in the word play but for me this album is head and shoulders above anything Oasis have done. I think they peaked with this album. Ok so there aren't a bunch of hit singles on here but the songwriting is really strong, they have stripped out a lot of that Mancunian angst in Liam's delivery that was starting to become tiresome and repetitive. The album kicks off with the truly superb F***in In The Bushes ... which is just about the rockiest hookline that the band have ever produced. That is followed by Go Let It Out ... I can't for the life of me understand why this didn't sell in bigger numbers when released as a single. The laconic swirling Who Feels Love follows next, a superb track and I wish Liam sang more tracks in this style. We then trip into good old Oasis style rock and roll with Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is .. which harks back to their earlier sound. Little James is a superb track and you don't need to be an Oasis fan to appreciate that this is just a great piece of work. We then move on to Gas Panic ... a personal favourite from the album that I used to listen to a lot in the car. Where Did It All Go Wrong is a song that wouldn't be out of place on Be Here Now .... its just a great song, well written and well sung by Noel. Noel then features again on Sunday Morning Call and if he ever needed evidence that he could make it on his own, those two tracks are all the proof he needs, it is a great song, with a superb blend of guitars. I Can See A Liar also has a feel of early Oasis but again with less of the angst in Liam's vocal delivery. The album closes with its longest track, Roll It Over and I would say its the only one on the album that retains any sort of hint of a homage to the Beatles.

Say what you like about the early ground breaking albums, for me, this is their best album by a country mile. I played it in my car on the way to and from work for about 8 months and there are more tracks of this album than any other in my iPod Oasis playlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Two Songs Stop This Being Five Stars, 7 July 2008
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
It is a real shame. No, I'm not talking about the 'demise of Oasis', but I'm talking about this album. The shame is that it is so underrated as an Oasis album. It doesn't deserve the amount of criticism it received when released.

The thing is with this album is that it is much better than Be Here Now. Although the singles of that album were the best thing about it, the rest of the songs were devoid of any inspiration. However, many of the songs tackle Noel coming off drugs, the big comedown on the heydays in the nineties and even one about Liam's son.

There's no 'Live Forever' or 'Don't Look Back In Anger'. Don't expect any of these sort of stadium anthems because your not going to get any. The lead single 'Go Let It Out' is probably the nearest thing to the big anthem on this album. But that's the thing. The album is not about big anthems. Instead, psychedelia is brought to the fold, and while initially many of the songs may seem dull, give them time because they grow on you. The production is absolutely brilliant and not over produced like Be Here Now. The lyrics are probably the best Oasis have come up with. 'Gas Panic' is genius and is one of the best things I've ever heard from Oasis. Yes, 'Little James' has pretty uninspired lyrics but only for part of it and it is a sweet tune, not the disaster that I'd heard people say it was.

To be honest, there are two songs that are missable. Ironically, it's the two rockers 'Put Your Money Where Yer Mouth Is' and 'I Can See A Liar'. Lyrically dull and musically dull aswell, it is certainly not something that would make it on to 'Definitely Maybe'.

The songs don't hit you like the ones on 'Morning Glory', but they are more slow and hypnotic ones. You can't casually listen to this album, you need to give it its full attention, and if you do that, them I'm sure you'll find the brilliance that I found in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you may think..., 29 Nov 2003
By 
Stephen Grindrod (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
The album kicks off with possibly the most original Oasis track ever written. 'Fuckin In The Bushes' opening drumbeat means that the album starts off with a bang, aided by some angry shouting, typical of the Gallaghers rock 'n' roll attitude. The lead guitars in the chorus are very effective and the rhythms are excellent. This is a blatent mission statement from Oasis showing that they mean business. The only downside of this track is that the production work is a little shabby, on the one hand making it more ragged and aggressive, but on the other hand taking away some of the quality of the track. However, overall this is another fantastic opening album track from Oasis.
Number 1 single 'Go Let It Out' follows and, whilst it's not the best Oasis single ever released, it is still a great track. Not as powerful as 'D'you Know What I Mean?' but still having the feel-good charm of 'Roll With It' and 'Shakermaker' and containing a classic "ugh" from Liam after the 1st chorus, 'Go Let It Out' builds up so much that it explodes with an crescendo of Liam's amazing vocal and another of Noels fantastic solo's. It may not be 'Live Forever' but don't underestimate 'Go Let It Out', it's a brilliant track.
So far so good. 'Who Feels Love?' is a fantastic psychadelic George Harrison style track. Very spiritual in lyrical content and nice use of backwards guitars. Again, not quite up to the standard of former glories, but we can't keep comparing everything Oasis do to the 'Definitely Maybe' and 'Morning Glory' days. Although it was maybe a bit too bland for radio airplay as a single, this is still a solid track.
'Put Yer Money Where Yer Mouth Is' is the first of the "weaker" tracks. Having read some reviews, this is classed as an "up-tempo rocker", which is true, but for those expecting 'Headshrinker' or 'Bring It On Down', you will be disapointed. The lyrics are the fundamental flaw but to be honest the music isn't that great either. To be honest, there are worse songs out there. However, for me this track doesn't cut the ice.
One thing worth noticing about 'Standing On The Shoulder Of Giants' is the contrast of lyrical quality. 'Where Did It All Go Wrong?', 'Who Feels Love?', 'Sunday Morning Call' and especially 'Gas Panic!' are fine examples of the excellent lyrics Noel is able to write. However, songs such as 'Put Yer Money Where Yer Mouth Is', 'Little James' and 'I Can See A Liar' suffer somewhat from bad lyrics. Liams 'Little James' is possibly the most tragic of these 3 as the 1st and 3rd verses are beautiful, very reflective and touching from Liam. Personally, in my opinion I think that the "nursery-rhyme-like" 2nd verse lets the song down though. However, Liam isn't stupid, he knew what he was writing and he probably intended for it to sound somewhat innocent and childlike to link in with the twinkling piano and choir. They almost pulled it off, and part of me respects them for it. However, the other half of me can't help feeling a little bit dissapointed that such a huge rock 'n' roll band are writing lyrics such as this. Lyrics aside the vocals are superb and the music is near perfect, although by the end of the album those church-choir effects are a little annoying, as they appear again in 'Sunday Morning Call'.
'Gas Panic!' is dark, sinister and cold and sounds like a more emphatic and glorified version of 'Fade-In Out' (one of 'Be Here Now's finest tracks). The claustrauphobic acoustic intro erupts into a grandious of rock, with lyrics crafted by Noel about the paranoia of cocaine psychosis, the perennial aftershock to the cocaine theme of 1995's title track 'Morning Glory' ("My family don't seem so familiar and my enemies all know my name"). The harmonica enhanced guitar solo is the icing on the cake. Best track on the album.
Close behind in second place is the classic 'Where Did It All Go Wrong?'. Noels vocal is the best since 'Talk Tonight' and 'Don't Look Back In Anger'. Again, brilliant lyrics and a great ending of guitars. Very powerful.
'Sunday Morning Call' is another Oasis great, although the previous track seems a more attractive proposition as a single release. The beauty of the lines "it's ok, it's alright" and the imensely powerful outro of "Will It Ever Work Out Right?", dealing with similar themes as 'Where Did It All Go Wrong?' Another beautifully crafted track.
'I Can See A Liar' is, musically, a classic Oasis rocker with a riff and guitar solo to rival some tracks from 'Definitely Maybe' and has another strong vocal from Liam. However, once again the lyrics falter. But could you really imagine Liam singing deep, thoughtful and meaningful lyrics to such a raucous tune?
'Roll It Over' is the most disappointing track on the album for me. While the verses are slightly emotive, the bridge is awful and the chorus a bit of a non-event. Some compare it to 'The Masterplan' and 'Champagne Supernova', a huge exagerration in my opinion, relying to heavily on Beatles licks, and with poor lyrics for the bridge and chorus.
A mixed bag, generally good though. Tracks 6, 7 and 8 deal with some of the problems the band has face, mainly the rock 'n' roll lifestyle and the come down off drugs. These are possibly the most personal tracks Noel has ever written. He seems to be getting a lot off his chest which, while not as good as the first 2 albums, makes this Oasis' most important album. It allows the band to put the past mistakes and drrug problems behind them, the parting with Bonehead and Guigsy is cast aside and this acts as a transition between the old Oasis line-up and the new one. Not brilliant, patchy in places, but when its good, its very, very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suppose we're all experts now, eh?, 11 Mar 2013
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
I find it highly amusing and annoying that people, then and now, feel compelled to slate this album. While anyone's certainly entitled to give a low score relating to anything, be it Movies, Music, Computer Games etc, they better give some damn good reasons as to why! It seems "Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants" has been given the black sheep treatment of Oasis' entire canon, be it previous or subsequent outings.

When an album containing 10 tracks opens up with 3 genuine peaches "F***in' In The Bushes", "Go Let It Out" and "Who Feels Love?", a 1 or 2 star score should be off the table. Granted there are less than inspired moments, and frankly, some duffers also. "I See A Liar", "Roll It Over" and the Liam penned "Little James" come to mind, the latter being a concession by Noel to give his younger brother his time to shine. For better or worse, there'd be no Beady Eye without it.

It can be argued that this album contains Noel Gallaghers most poignant, humane lyrics and melodies, and that's including his "High Flying Birds" solo efforts. Three songs reflecting cocaine abuse ("Gas Panic", "Sunday Morning Call") and end of the britpop era emptiness of "Where Did It All Go Wrong?" Even to the daft Doors-esque singalong of "Put You Money Where Your Mouth Is", it's safe to say that the album is far from terrible.

"Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants" provides a snapshot of a time when the booze, cocaine and parties had stopped and reality was setting in for one troubled songwriter and a legion of stubborn and confused "fans". It seems at least one man saw the bigger picture, and provided argueably his most emotional and heartfelt songs about loss and longing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The What Might Of Been Album, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
This is the closest thing to their experimental album, and the one they had to make.
Without a dout there was something here, Gas Panic, Roll it over, Who feels love all great progressive tracks that sounded unfinished at times.
Who said Oasis made the same old music. This should of been there finest hour but falls short. But at least they had the balls to do it. Take off a couple of tracks and maybe of put on lets all make believe then you might of had a solid album. Tough album to review because there are 8 out of 10 tracks that are good, this would'nt appeal to say a Bon jovi fan because there are hardly any commercial songs, then again Bon jovi fans don't quite get it. do they?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album proves that Oasis are best in the world, 1 Nov 2000
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
Another classic album from the Gallagher brothers proves that Oasis are, without a doubt, the best Rock and Roll band in the world. Different from the last three of their albums - its more reflective. 'Who Feels Love' is the best song of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest albums to date..., 3 Oct 2000
By 
adam_owls@yahoo.co.uk (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
One of the finest albums to date, Oasis have definatley gone for gold here and in my view the have got it! Soem superb lyrics and catchy beats makes this the best Oasis album to date.
Kicking off with the all mighty F*#kin in the bushes and getting greater and greater thoughout the album.
A must for all music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece in modern rock!, 28 Sep 2000
This review is from: Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants (Audio CD)
Oasis has taken a huge step towards several things. One, it shows that Noel Gallagher can not only write, but sing, and help produce. Ever since the boy band and teeny bop craze, no rock band will ever reach true deserved stardom, but if only people listened to real music, this album woudl definitley be at the top of the charts. This gives modern rock a new meaning and can really be defined as a potential signture piece of 90's rock, this rivals WTSMG as their best album, at least that's what a spotty drugged up teen from the US thinks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants
Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants by Vince Hill (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews