Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gob-stoppingly Good.
With influences as winning as 'Carrie' and 'Grease' in the blender, this full intention of a ready made 'Heathers' for the 90s was as good (and better) an idea than most anything the teen market had out during the decade's tale end. After all, mixing deceptive identikit high-school students with a wonderful 'Body Snatchers/Puppet Master' plot imbued with a startling and...
Published 5 months ago by ScottPaul ScottPaul

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Jawbreaker" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With 'US' Title...
Be aware that if you want "Jawbreaker" on BLU RAY and you live in the UK - there's a problem.

This American-Only BLU RAY on Image Entertainment is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Check your player's Region Coding first (needs to accept A, B and C areas) before...
Published 9 months ago by Mark Barry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gob-stoppingly Good., 13 July 2014
This review is from: Jawbreaker [DVD] (DVD)
With influences as winning as 'Carrie' and 'Grease' in the blender, this full intention of a ready made 'Heathers' for the 90s was as good (and better) an idea than most anything the teen market had out during the decade's tale end. After all, mixing deceptive identikit high-school students with a wonderful 'Body Snatchers/Puppet Master' plot imbued with a startling and brilliant dose of 'The Breakfast Club' made 'The Faculty' the best horror of the 90s period, and for me, the best alien film bar none. If that film was under-appreciated, underrated and bewilderingly received with much trepidation, the hate imbued for writer-director's 'Jawbreaker' by the few critics who bothered to see it is nothing short of staggering, not least the lunatic consensus which decried it not only of the 90s worst films, but "the distinction of being the single worst film of 1999"! This in a year of 'American Pie', 'Magnolia', 'Payback', 'Scream 3', 'Wild Wild West', 'The Sixth Sense', 'Confessions Of A Trickbaby' and several others! but critical snottiness known no bounds.

But away from the slippery and nonsensical slope of disdainful cliques worse than the girls portrayed in films like 'Jawbreaker', Darren Stein has created a memorable, bitchy, witty, glossy and exciting black comedy that, while not necessarily relating to real life outside its strikingly multicoloured candy bubble, nor to viewers past thirty years of age either (which makes me wonder why such critics bother utilising an opinion which can only go one heavily weighted way) shows an innate grasp of its material and what it wants to do with it. Opening with a birthday prank gone horribly wrong, by way of the bone derived candy ball of its US title, queen bitch Rose McGowan in a nicely shaded performance-she's nasty, but funny, too, her dim-witted cohort Julie Benz coming out with the vilest put-downs in a startling realisation that dense can equal dangerous if it's allowed to flower, and the very lovely and conscious-driven Rebecca Gayheart debate in a disturbingly short space of time to say nothing to the police, and go to school like nothing's happened, whilst leaving their best friend in the car boot till they decide what to do with her body.

McGowan's teen witch gets off horribly on having a new niche to fill her way, and then gets to go all Frankenstein and make over a geeky "nobody" who stumbles upon their cover-up (Judy Greer, another future star) to help keep their "bloated boo boo" concealed, but Frankenstein's have a habit of running amok, or derailing, and Rebecca's nice girl Julie increasingly tries to do that, now outside the clique, but drawn to sweet Chad Christ's drama student.

Despite being little-seen and little loved, though there's lavish praise from 'Rolling Stone' on the case cover, Stein has imbued his sly little piece has since rightly attained cult status, and not least cos of who he attracted to it from adult players: Carol Kane is the high school head, Pam Grier a politely intimidating police investigator in swathes of black (how she must burn up!), plus 'Carrie' stalwarts William Katt and PJ Soles in a mainly blink-and-miss-it cameo, and even Marilyn Manson (and I can't understand why he'd want a less plastic Pete Burns alter-ego to hide behind). Even the dead girl it revolves around makes for a stunning copycat Denise Richards in 'Wild Things' swimming pool moment. All these things, the biting jokes, the swerving plot itself, the gleeful playing of all concerned, even the credits showing the manufacturer of the revolting confectionery of death and fantastic finale make this 'Jawbreaker' gob-stoppingly great smart fun, it's still as cool as when I first caught it from a video store (we had them once!) all those years ago.

A sweet/sour brightly packaged look at youth-filled America where the ugly resonates just as strongly underneath, where fitting into something horrible is everything to survive high school, and that certainly is true of much of America. A surprising amount of extras accompany this to make it even sweeter, including a filmography, director's commentary and a swift behind the scenes featurette. Not much pricier than a bag of confectionery today, and less likely to damage your teeth or your jaw. Candy for the sweet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cult Classic, 9 April 2012
This review is from: Jawbreaker [DVD] (DVD)
Jawbreaker staring Rose McGowan, Rebecca Gayheart and Julie Benz is one of the slickest and most deliciously entertaining teen movies of the late 90's. However at the same time this film does cater to a niche audience and will not be enjoyed by everyone.

The plot revolves around three girls who have a tradition of pulling a prank on their friend Liz for her birthday, only this year's prank goes wrong when Courtney (McGowan) accidentally kills Liz by gagging her with a jawbreaker. One of the girls, Julie (Gayhart) wants to come clean about the whole thing, but clique leader Courtney refuses to tell anyone what they have done and instead hatches a plan to make it look like Liz was the victim of a perverse sexual encounter gone wrong, shattering Liz's good girl image. However, their plan is thwarted by high school outcast Fern Mayo (Judy Greer) catches them moving Liz's body so in an effort to keep their secret Courtney promises to make Fern "one of them" in exchange for her silence. And things spiral out of control from that moment on.

The plot is very ludicrous but the film is executed in such a brilliantly unique way that it just about works. Much of this is down to Rose McGowan who is having the time of her life in the role of bitchy queen-bee Courntey Shayne. The supporting cast is great, especially Julie Benz who is hilarious as the ditzy sidekick and Judy Greer as geek turned chic Fern Mayo. But McGowan owns the movie and it's a thrilling ride watching her go from one despicable act to the next as she attempts to keep herself out trouble whilst remaining on top of the high school social ladder.

This is not a film that was made with a lot of money or big movie stars, it was made with a lot of love by people who are obviously big fans of the teen movie genre. The casting of McGowan, Benz and Gayhart reflects this. They aren't teenagers (they don't even look like teenagers) but in the same way that Grease famously cast actors in their 30s and 40s to play high school students, Jawbreaker's cast gets away with it because you get swept away by their performances. I don't think anyone other than Rose McGowan could have lead this movie and you don't for one second care that she isn't a teenager.

However, where a lot of teen movies fail, Jawbreaker succeeds in portraying a films which acts as a metaphor for high school life. The idea of a jawbreaker works really well and gives the film some depth as the underlying message is that (like a jawbreaker) high school is tough to get through. This metaphor is further extended to characters, particularly Courtney, who has a sweet and sugary exterior but beneath the surface lies something very dangerous. It may sound bizarre that such a movie does have something to say about high school life, but it does and I think by doing so it gives the film slightly more depth than your average high school movie.

While this film is never going to win any awards, I feel that at the same time it has been unfairly judged in the past. This is a good film and I think that many viewers (and critics) have been put of by the slightly silly plot. Yes, the plot is ridiculous at times but that is all part of the charm - the film is dark at times, very satirical and very bitchy however it does have a message, it does have a (sort of) happy ending and will make you laugh. It's a dark, satirical look at high school life in a similar way to that of Clueless a few years earlier only with slightly more of an edge. And while this is not a film that requires you to constantly be thinking about the plot, what this film has to say is obvious in its execution. While not as true to high school life as films such as Mean Girls, the stereotypes and issues of high school are all present in this film. While some people have taken this film far too seriously (leading to may negative comments about the film) it knows what it wants to do and it does that very well. A lot of people say that this film is trying to be like Heathers, and maybe it is but Jawbreaker holds it own amongst films of a genre where it really has all been done before by adding its own style and flare, a killer soundtrack and some great performances by the lead actresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, edgy, not too dark, came on time = very happy :), 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jawbreaker [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome movie came before estimated delivery, For a while i've been getting bored of my dvd collection because i've seen them all a 100 times lol, so i kept my eyes peeled for new movies but i just wasn't into them so i began looking back at older movies (not to old though), and i came across this one it seemed interesting, cool and funny and different i checked out the trailer first though on youtube and it's save to say you can expect alot from the discription, trailer and the movie it's self, i wanted a movie for older teens to mid 20's, i don't like things that are dark or well crap, this movie is edgy, unpridictable, and fun and funny the story is brill, and it stars rose mcgowan fantastic on charmed, julie benz (love her on buffy and angel) and even though all the high school students in this are not teenagers and don't really look like teen students it still works and doesnt actually look silly, I would definatly recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Jawbreaker" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With 'US' Title..., 19 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Be aware that if you want "Jawbreaker" on BLU RAY and you live in the UK - there's a problem.

This American-Only BLU RAY on Image Entertainment is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Check your player's Region Coding first (needs to accept A, B and C areas) before making an expensive mistake...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jawbreaker [DVD] (DVD)
amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Jawbreaker - The Film That REALLY Sticks In The Throat!, 26 July 2013
By 
S. J. Barlow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jawbreaker [DVD] (DVD)
Often referred to as a 'cult classic' (here, roughly translated as big, fat flop at time of release) Darren Stein's desperate attempt to fuse cinematic body parts - part teen movie, part high-school romp, all black comedy - fails to work on any level, mainly because it is too busy plagiarising from practically every other movie in the genre. This 'Heathers' wannabee tells the story of the lengths a group of high school mean girls will go to in an attempt to cover up the death of friend, whom they accidentally kill with the titular candy. You can have in-jokes and genre cameos till your blue in the face but nothing can distract away from the fact that the characters are unbelievable, the script clumsier than a prom queen with a broken heel and the 'humour' actually more unpleasant than it is funny. The musical version is allegedly heading for Broadway in 2014 but it will take more than a musical slap on the back or a tuneful Heimlich maneuver to clear the throat of this asphyxiated comedy turkey. Oh, and the movie stars Rose 'Charmed' McGowan, though I cannot imagine she would thank anyone for reminding her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original, dark and intelligent, 2 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Jawbreaker [DVD] (DVD)
This film reminded me of a cross between Heathers, Shallow Grave and Clueless - altogether a worth watch. The cast are excellent and there's cameos from Marilyn Manson, Tatyana Ali and The Donnas. The thing which really stands out in the film though is the creative surreal shots of 3d style art works. Definitely worth a rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death by candy, 16 Oct 2005
This review is from: Jawbreaker [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really great movie. I am the sort of person who takes movies seriously - i went round for weeks after watching scream thinking i was going to be killed by a psycotic killer! Anyway, the movie is basically about 3 girls who kill their best friend by stuffing a Jawbreaker down her throat on her birthday - NICE - and they try to cover it up. this is until Fern Mayo (naise) comes along and it all ends in tears - for courtney shayne (Rose McGowan). The Movie would be a 12 if it wasn't for all the F words in it. ah well . Its a MUST WATCH movie And The cast is great. But - i thought i was going to die from choking on a jawbreaker but i haven't yet so no need to worry ! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A highly entertaining dark comedy, 16 Mar 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jawbreaker [DVD] (DVD)
I can understand why some people don't particularly like this movie, but I personally enjoyed it immensely. Of course, I enjoy anything featuring Rose McGowan, but the movie itself is actually a lot of fun. If you tend to take movies seriously and have trouble suspending your disbelief, this movie isn't for you, and a short description of the movie should easily convince you to take your cinematic interests elsewhere. I happen to like over the top movies about high school life, and Jawbreaker takes the stratification of high school society, something we are all acquainted with in one form or another, and runs with it. Rose McGowan plays Courtney Shane, considered by some to be "Satan-in-heels." She is your ultimate clique controller, operating the controls of high school popularity and approachability with the help of faithful and reliable henchbabe Marcie Fox (Julie Benz) and two goody-goodies who somehow manage to stay cool despite hobnobbing with their social inferiors from time to time. Rebecca Gayheart (who finds herself in the odd situation of being rather invisible whenever McGowan shares the screen with her) plays Julie Freedman, and she is in fact complicit in the unusual death of Elizabeth Purr, sweet little angel and fourth member of the ruling babes of Reagan High School. Courtney, Marcie, and Julie celebrate Liz's 17th birthday by disguising themselves, sneaking into her room, tying her up and gagging her, throwing her into the trunk of their car, and eventually letting her go to enjoy the hilarity of their innocent little prank. Wouldn't you know it, something goes awry. The insanely large jawbreaker that Courtney stuffs in her mouth before taping it closed manages to work its way down Liz's throat. With their friend dead, the three girls must take action quickly to avoid detection; Courtney is a natural at evil plotting and quickly enacts a plan. Unfortunately, class geek Fern Mayo happens along and overhears the big secret, prompting Courtney to take drastic action; in return for Fern's silence, she will transform Fern into the beautiful, popular girl she has always wanted to be. Julie wants no part of it, but her own guilt and complicity leads her to do little more than go schoolmarm and reject her more evil compatriots.
This movie does raise issues about high school life, but it does not attempt to make some meaningful statement about it . The common stereotypes are presented but not dwelt on. Those who would not understand how nice, sweet Fern could be enticed into going over to the dark side were obviously not among the nerds and geeks of their own graduating class. Even though Courtney was hated as much as she was loved, the vast majority of her peers wanted to be like her, immensely popular, beautiful, intimidating, and awe-inspiring. Sure, she is selfish, evil, and uncaring, but that's part of her charm. I personally prefer her to Julie, who pretends to be something she is not and blames Courtney alone for an act she herself played a large part in.
Don't even try to think about this movie; you're not supposed to learn anything here. This is entertainment and nothing more, and I for one was greatly entertained. The ending leaves a little something to be desired, but all in all this is a marvelous dark comedy. Rose McGowan makes this movie cool all by herself, but the kicking soundtrack is more than ready to assist in this endeavor whenever it is called upon, which is quite often. The music is almost a character in and of itself, beautifully assisting in the creation of whatever atmosphere is required for each scene, and its incessant energy never allows for a moment of drag as the story works itself out. There is quite a bit of profanity in the script, and it is this much more than the all-too-brief nudity that earns this one its R rating. Rose McGowan's sizzling partially nude scene is perhaps the shortest in the history of cinema, here and gone before your DA--- reaches its ---MN. I seem to take delight in praising movies of this type, and I take extreme delight in praising this one. My best advice to the prospective viewer is this: if the movie sounds stupid to you, you probably won't like it. Otherwise, sit back and enjoy the candy (jawbreaker as well as eye candy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Miss AL Holloway (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jawbreaker [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, this movie isn't going to win any awards, but it is great fun nonetheless. It is a highscool film which I think is like a mixture of Heathers, Mean Girls and perhaps a little bit of She's all that.

It is a very funny film if you like dark humour, and easy to watch. Sometimes you don't need your films to be intellectually challenging and just want to relax and have a laugh, this is a film I can watch again and again. It may be a guilty pleasure but it's one I am not ashamed of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jawbreaker [DVD]
Jawbreaker [DVD] by Darren Stein (DVD - 2005)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews