Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go out and Buy it
As an Irishman who is sometimes a little cautious about some of the "Irish" music available, I am hard to please when it comes to Albums like this. However, the Chieftains never fail to please. In short, when a Canadian friend asked for an example of Irish Music at it's best - I posted her this CD. Enough Said !
Published on 22 July 2000

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well run dry
The Chieftains have done a remarkable job over the years of convincing the mainstream public - ie. those not conversant with Irish music - that they are 'the real thing'. Celebs have queued up to endorse them, originally in sleevenotes, and then by performing with them - and thus mark themselves out as people who know rootsy authenticity when they see it.

But...
Published on 28 July 2010 by gille liath


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go out and Buy it, 22 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
As an Irishman who is sometimes a little cautious about some of the "Irish" music available, I am hard to please when it comes to Albums like this. However, the Chieftains never fail to please. In short, when a Canadian friend asked for an example of Irish Music at it's best - I posted her this CD. Enough Said !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good variety, 19 Mar 2001
By 
Larry Rowson (Albany, Or USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
Good traditional with a good combination of instruments. The variety of the selections is great. Solid all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In two words - Buy It!, 9 Sep 2000
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
A little over two years ago, I purchased my very first Irish music CD - Music At Matt Molloys. We then visited Ireland and heard a LOT of pub music. I now have over 100 CDs and I rate "Water From The Well" second only to "Music At Matt Molloys". This is a great compilation of typical Irish traditional tunes. My only advice is - get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent album, 13 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album they have created that magic yet again.A real combination of traditional tunes and vocals, i am sure that everyone who listens to this album will end up tapping their feet at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well run dry, 28 July 2010
By 
gille liath (US of K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
The Chieftains have done a remarkable job over the years of convincing the mainstream public - ie. those not conversant with Irish music - that they are 'the real thing'. Celebs have queued up to endorse them, originally in sleevenotes, and then by performing with them - and thus mark themselves out as people who know rootsy authenticity when they see it.

But in fact, the Chieftains are as much a high-concept band as the Pogues, and the music they play has never been traditional. They merely take that music and use it, as others do, as a base - in their case, for quasi-classical Chamber Orchestra arrangements (admittedly performed with great proficiency).

It's years since I've bought or listened to them but, reading these reviews, I hoped they might genuinely have gone back to basics with this one. But no - still much the same old Chieftains. The only thing that's changed is I have grown less able to tolerate the archness of it all.

This is a bitty, miscellaneous-seeming album. It has its moments, but does no more than hint at what the music is capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars water from the well, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
got this in Ireland a few years ago but I lost it when I changed my car was gutted but happy again now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good purchase, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
A good album but in my opinion would have better if it was purely instrumental, however the Cheiftains never fail to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Find!, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
This CD is even better than I expected. I bought it for myself and have been transported back 40 years to Fleadh Cheoils of m youth. Highly recommend it to anyone with a interest in traditional Irish music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enduring quality., 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
The album confirms the value of good music played well. I first saw The Chieftains in the seventies at the Royal Albert Hall in London and have followed the development of their music since. An oasis of dignity in a harsh modern world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water From The Well (Audio CD)
great cd great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Water From The Well
Water From The Well by The Chieftains (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews