Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh Air...
Anyone looking to add to their Air collection of mellow, Moog-noodling synth pop should keep the plastic in their wallet. The new album is still recognisable as a product of the Gallic duo, but this time they've replaced the chilled with the chilling. The whiff of fluffy nostalgia that the brilliant Moon Safari evoked has been swapped for haunting Pink Floyd'esque...
Published on 7 Mar 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Homogenous
Rarely has a soundtrack been a better companion to a movie than in the case of Air's music and Sophie Coppola's directorial debut The Virgin Suicides. The stylishly sleek electro-lounge of the French duo was destined to be used as a film score someday, but it's as if Coppola's dreamy portrayal of teen angst and emotional complexity - an adaptation of Jeffrey Eugenides'...
Published on 5 July 2009 by Guy Peters


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh Air..., 7 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Virgin Suicides (OST) (Audio CD)
Anyone looking to add to their Air collection of mellow, Moog-noodling synth pop should keep the plastic in their wallet. The new album is still recognisable as a product of the Gallic duo, but this time they've replaced the chilled with the chilling. The whiff of fluffy nostalgia that the brilliant Moon Safari evoked has been swapped for haunting Pink Floyd'esque guitar solos over gothic minor chords. As a soundscape of the alienated adolescent soul this album has all the nape tingling angst of Portishead and Radiohead whilst still retaining an almost coy, childish simplicity.
I am a great fan of artists who work on the fringes of the mainstream and manage to avoid the formulaic approach, evolving with each new album. Virgin Suicides is certainly a departure from their back catalogue, but since it is actually a soundtrack rather than a new body of work we may well see a return from the dark side on their next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated and haunting collection, 16 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Virgin Suicides (OST) (Audio CD)
This is a fine album, quite different to any of their other material, and therefore it is easy to see why many listeners may be put off by the unexpectedly dark vibes on show. Opener 'Playground Love' is wonderful, at times trippy and mysterious, at others funky, yet retaining the same tragic feel as is seen throughout the album. Other highlights include 'Dirty Trip', 'Highschool Lovers' and the finale 'Suicide Underground', which ends with a chilling passage from the film. Overall, a stylish, original album that may not appeal to Moon Safari fans but will certainly be adored by lovers of real music...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic, 2 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Virgin Suicides (OST) (Audio CD)
If you like "Playground Love" (and who doesn't?) then you will adore this album. Its melancholy, skunked-out grooves are not only deeply moving as a background track but simply breathtaking. Put it this way, if the movie's even a third as good as this soundtrack, we're in for a treat. Brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deeply meaningful, 8 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: The Virgin Suicides (OST) (Audio CD)
I hadn't really heard any of Air's previous work before I watched 'The Virgin Suicides' but after hearing the haunting soundtrack and the eerie melodies that were so fitting to the film I just had to go out and buy this. It is captivating within itself and is an album that truly makes you think. As a soundtrack it works very well as it is filled with haunting tracks that just make you want to listen again and again.

It will take you back to poignant times in your life and really make you think. I find the tracks so haunting and deep that while listening to them you can really reflect on your emotions and feelings. Although it can sound rather sinister in places it is filled with beautiful tracks which upon listening to reveal their darker themes. A very fitting soundtrack to a wonderful film- you can listen to it on its own or with the film but whichever you choose it will have an impact on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Homogenous, 5 July 2009
By 
Guy Peters - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virgin Suicides (OST) (Audio CD)
Rarely has a soundtrack been a better companion to a movie than in the case of Air's music and Sophie Coppola's directorial debut The Virgin Suicides. The stylishly sleek electro-lounge of the French duo was destined to be used as a film score someday, but it's as if Coppola's dreamy portrayal of teen angst and emotional complexity - an adaptation of Jeffrey Eugenides' successful novel - could only have existed with this music. Her ultra-precise, sensitive and visually intriguing style of story-telling finds a like-minded companion in the designer-pop of Air: their use of space, minimal beats, analogue keyboards and minor key chords gives the movie a modern and trendy, yet timeless quality that creates an effect an assembly of then contemporary rock songs wouldn't have provided. Just like the movie's tone is consistent, yet never tangible enough to pinpoint, so does Air's music usually retain a mystifying quality, an unwillingness to give away the emotional depth that might be buried beneath the layers of meticulously stacked sound blankets. The difference between an album like Moon Safari and this one is that the music serves the movie - despite the fact it's also an integral part of it and is even to a large part responsible for its success - and that Godin and Dunckel were already given the images to which the music needed to be set. As such, the soundtrack is less 'substantial' and less concerned with telling structured stories than their debut album, which despite all other categorisations was still a pop album with "songs". Apart from opening track "Playground Love" - which is a wonderfully executed piece of pensive dream-pop that sounds like Sparklehorse covering mid-70s Pink Floyd, with guest vocals by a certain Gordon Tracks and an appropriately cool tenor sax solo by Hugo Ferran - there aren't any real 'songs' on the album. Instead, you get short mood pieces that help creating the necessary vibe - usually the same one. Even though it's hard to put one's finger on it, the entire movie (one of the most stunning portrayals of growing up girls that must've been created) oozes an atmosphere of chilly unease, a need for more humanity and these instrumentals accentuate just that. With their stock of keyboards, drums, bass, guitars and (occasionally) string arrangements, the two create music that's sometimes funky and sometimes instantly memorable (you're not gonna get the movie's main theme out of your head), but always pensive and the minor-key aural equivalent of a misty mountain morning. As such, it's hard to point out highlights (apart from "Playground Love") and not very likely you'll enjoy the soundtrack all the way through. Just like the movie would be totally different without this score, the score lacks substance without the visuals. It's a bit like hot chocolate sauce - delicious when sampled, but only fantastic when you have it with ice cream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like good music..., 10 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Virgin Suicides (OST) (Audio CD)
This soundtrack is amazing. AMAZING. Forget about 'Moon Safari', forget about the film, forget about life and just enjoy. I didn't know much of Air before I heard this(besides 'Sexy Boy', which I thought was a nice idea but ultimately a bit too cheesy). Anyway this soundtrack makes me want to buy everything they've ever produced, despite what assorted 'Moon Safari' fans say here about it being far from their best work.
I have one criticism of this soundtrack, which is that some of the tracks are way too short. Air could have made a 60 minute extravaganza here without a lot of effort and a 74 minute masterpiece with a bit of extra work, that's how good the tracks are. As it is, you get 40 minutes of exceptional work - And a work is what it is, this is no french pop album...It reminds me of Pink Floyd in quite a few places, with hints of ambient Aphex Twin and Godspeed You Black Emperor. So think excessively ambient prog rock, with sprinklings of electronica and a generally dark theme throughout.
Basically if you like music, you need this album. It's a great chill-out album, but don't expect it to be just that - the drumming on some of the tracks is fantastic and the epic quality of the whole album just pervades the room you play it in, demanding attention. It's dreamy but gothic, progressive but never over-ambitious, always sublime and if you like the film...so much more than just a soundtrack. You'll know what I mean if you get to hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Suicides (OST) (Audio CD)
Only recently have I become attracted to electronica, and even then I refer electronica that piques one's interests; something that blends into other genres.

This soundtrack is mesmerising, and though I've never seen the film, having read what happens I can imagine it working perfectly in tandem. I was directed to this album through a different source, that being Q Magazine's review of Lana Del Rey's debut album. That review pointed out that this soundtrack's haunting yet disturbingly romantic themes can be heard as an influence on Del Rey's album, and I definitely agree.

Air created a stunning album in the form of this soundtrack, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and broody, sucks you into a velvety world of wonder, 10 Sep 2003
By 
J. E. Hanlon "corpse_bride" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virgin Suicides (OST) (Audio CD)
Listening to this album is like drowning, except you really don't want to come up for air (air, geddit?). Dark and swirling guitars, beautiful great rolling percussion - from start to finish it's like a hypnotic soundscape that will capture and transfix you. I've had a lot of "favourite" albums in my time, but this one has outlasted all of them. It's like nothing Air have ever done before and surpasses any other soundtrack I've ever heard. Best of all, the whole composition just flows so beautifully that it's easy to get sucked in and then be spat out at the end feeling like not just your ears, but your very soul has been privileged by the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast service and vinyl in very good condition. My friend was very happy with this gift and fascinated by the beauty of the cover :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love anything from AIR, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Suicides (OST) (Audio CD)
This is another must buy by Air, but it won't please all, as there a couple of tracks that some might go ugh??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Virgin Suicides (OST)
The Virgin Suicides (OST) by Air (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews