Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars39
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2000
Anyone looking to add to their Air collection of mellow, Moog-noodling synth pop should keep the plastic in their wallet. The new album is still recognisable as a product of the Gallic duo, but this time they've replaced the chilled with the chilling. The whiff of fluffy nostalgia that the brilliant Moon Safari evoked has been swapped for haunting Pink Floyd'esque guitar solos over gothic minor chords. As a soundscape of the alienated adolescent soul this album has all the nape tingling angst of Portishead and Radiohead whilst still retaining an almost coy, childish simplicity.
I am a great fan of artists who work on the fringes of the mainstream and manage to avoid the formulaic approach, evolving with each new album. Virgin Suicides is certainly a departure from their back catalogue, but since it is actually a soundtrack rather than a new body of work we may well see a return from the dark side on their next release.
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2000
This is a fine album, quite different to any of their other material, and therefore it is easy to see why many listeners may be put off by the unexpectedly dark vibes on show. Opener 'Playground Love' is wonderful, at times trippy and mysterious, at others funky, yet retaining the same tragic feel as is seen throughout the album. Other highlights include 'Dirty Trip', 'Highschool Lovers' and the finale 'Suicide Underground', which ends with a chilling passage from the film. Overall, a stylish, original album that may not appeal to Moon Safari fans but will certainly be adored by lovers of real music...
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2000
If you like "Playground Love" (and who doesn't?) then you will adore this album. Its melancholy, skunked-out grooves are not only deeply moving as a background track but simply breathtaking. Put it this way, if the movie's even a third as good as this soundtrack, we're in for a treat. Brilliance.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2007
I hadn't really heard any of Air's previous work before I watched 'The Virgin Suicides' but after hearing the haunting soundtrack and the eerie melodies that were so fitting to the film I just had to go out and buy this. It is captivating within itself and is an album that truly makes you think. As a soundtrack it works very well as it is filled with haunting tracks that just make you want to listen again and again.

It will take you back to poignant times in your life and really make you think. I find the tracks so haunting and deep that while listening to them you can really reflect on your emotions and feelings. Although it can sound rather sinister in places it is filled with beautiful tracks which upon listening to reveal their darker themes. A very fitting soundtrack to a wonderful film- you can listen to it on its own or with the film but whichever you choose it will have an impact on you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2009
Rarely has a soundtrack been a better companion to a movie than in the case of Air's music and Sophie Coppola's directorial debut The Virgin Suicides. The stylishly sleek electro-lounge of the French duo was destined to be used as a film score someday, but it's as if Coppola's dreamy portrayal of teen angst and emotional complexity - an adaptation of Jeffrey Eugenides' successful novel - could only have existed with this music. Her ultra-precise, sensitive and visually intriguing style of story-telling finds a like-minded companion in the designer-pop of Air: their use of space, minimal beats, analogue keyboards and minor key chords gives the movie a modern and trendy, yet timeless quality that creates an effect an assembly of then contemporary rock songs wouldn't have provided. Just like the movie's tone is consistent, yet never tangible enough to pinpoint, so does Air's music usually retain a mystifying quality, an unwillingness to give away the emotional depth that might be buried beneath the layers of meticulously stacked sound blankets. The difference between an album like Moon Safari and this one is that the music serves the movie - despite the fact it's also an integral part of it and is even to a large part responsible for its success - and that Godin and Dunckel were already given the images to which the music needed to be set. As such, the soundtrack is less 'substantial' and less concerned with telling structured stories than their debut album, which despite all other categorisations was still a pop album with "songs". Apart from opening track "Playground Love" - which is a wonderfully executed piece of pensive dream-pop that sounds like Sparklehorse covering mid-70s Pink Floyd, with guest vocals by a certain Gordon Tracks and an appropriately cool tenor sax solo by Hugo Ferran - there aren't any real 'songs' on the album. Instead, you get short mood pieces that help creating the necessary vibe - usually the same one. Even though it's hard to put one's finger on it, the entire movie (one of the most stunning portrayals of growing up girls that must've been created) oozes an atmosphere of chilly unease, a need for more humanity and these instrumentals accentuate just that. With their stock of keyboards, drums, bass, guitars and (occasionally) string arrangements, the two create music that's sometimes funky and sometimes instantly memorable (you're not gonna get the movie's main theme out of your head), but always pensive and the minor-key aural equivalent of a misty mountain morning. As such, it's hard to point out highlights (apart from "Playground Love") and not very likely you'll enjoy the soundtrack all the way through. Just like the movie would be totally different without this score, the score lacks substance without the visuals. It's a bit like hot chocolate sauce - delicious when sampled, but only fantastic when you have it with ice cream.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2001
The music from 'The Virgin Suicides' is really beautiful. If one band manages to put together instrumental harmonies with well-placed and well-played synths, from time to time adding lyrics as well, it is Air.
And 'The Virgin Suicides' is the band's best release, which demands a lot! The main theme is repeated exactly on the spots of the CD where you long to hear it again.
Beautifully introduced with 'Playground Love', sung by Gordon Tracks, and ending in the somber 'Suicide Underground' which will bring back memories to those who have seen this poetically sad film.
A masterpiece. And I was never even a fan of electronic music before. Then came Air.
Truly a masterpiece...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Only recently have I become attracted to electronica, and even then I refer electronica that piques one's interests; something that blends into other genres.

This soundtrack is mesmerising, and though I've never seen the film, having read what happens I can imagine it working perfectly in tandem. I was directed to this album through a different source, that being Q Magazine's review of Lana Del Rey's debut album. That review pointed out that this soundtrack's haunting yet disturbingly romantic themes can be heard as an influence on Del Rey's album, and I definitely agree.

Air created a stunning album in the form of this soundtrack, and I highly recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2003
This soundtrack is amazing. AMAZING. Forget about 'Moon Safari', forget about the film, forget about life and just enjoy. I didn't know much of Air before I heard this(besides 'Sexy Boy', which I thought was a nice idea but ultimately a bit too cheesy). Anyway this soundtrack makes me want to buy everything they've ever produced, despite what assorted 'Moon Safari' fans say here about it being far from their best work.
I have one criticism of this soundtrack, which is that some of the tracks are way too short. Air could have made a 60 minute extravaganza here without a lot of effort and a 74 minute masterpiece with a bit of extra work, that's how good the tracks are. As it is, you get 40 minutes of exceptional work - And a work is what it is, this is no french pop album...It reminds me of Pink Floyd in quite a few places, with hints of ambient Aphex Twin and Godspeed You Black Emperor. So think excessively ambient prog rock, with sprinklings of electronica and a generally dark theme throughout.
Basically if you like music, you need this album. It's a great chill-out album, but don't expect it to be just that - the drumming on some of the tracks is fantastic and the epic quality of the whole album just pervades the room you play it in, demanding attention. It's dreamy but gothic, progressive but never over-ambitious, always sublime and if you like the film...so much more than just a soundtrack. You'll know what I mean if you get to hear it.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
The band's sound is very characteristic, being more introspective, a mysterious tone and quite instrumental. It's that kind of music to relax the mind, rest. There are many variations, giving the idea of a complete, concise, integrated work. The tone is calm. In this album there are some narratives as well. This album although a soundtrack, reminiscent of the the other album of the band "Moon Safari". Valid! Note 7.5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
I bought this album right after watching the movie. It creates a certain atmosphere and is definitely as far as you can get from a hit parade. Almost entirely instrumental and almost meditative. I have mostly listened to it as I wake up in the morning 20-30 minutes of lazy listening in the twilight zone as I regain consciousness. Very enjoyable time of my day. Like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)