Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Animated Movie Ever!!
As far as i'm concerned this movie doesn't put a single foot wrong. The dialogue is as sharp as ever, the songs are near perfect and to top all this they actually had a brilliant storyline, unlike another popular cartoon show recently put on the big screen. I would rate this film among my top twenty favourite movies, the kind of thing you can come back to again and again...
Published on 21 Aug 2007 by R. Lucas

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled shipments
This is the second time I've tried to buy this but on both occasions it has been cancelled as it is about to get shipped. Yet to see if I've still been charged, even if I haven't been I'm still very unhappy at this continuous shipment cancels!!
Published 3 months ago by Unhappy customer


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Animated Movie Ever!!, 21 Aug 2007
By 
R. Lucas "Nowhere Man" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
As far as i'm concerned this movie doesn't put a single foot wrong. The dialogue is as sharp as ever, the songs are near perfect and to top all this they actually had a brilliant storyline, unlike another popular cartoon show recently put on the big screen. I would rate this film among my top twenty favourite movies, the kind of thing you can come back to again and again and again.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Brilliant!!!!!!!!!, 15 Mar 2006
By 
M. P. Valentine "theteamster" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut cannot be recommended enough!
For our four little heroes, politcal correctness simply has no place in their little part of Colorado.
After worming their way into an R-rated Canadian film of their very own hereos Terrance and Phillip (they blackmailed a tramp to act as their Guardian). The boys little minds appear to have been warped with endlesss swearing and disrespect. So what do the lads' parents decide to do? - well Kyle's mother really - they declare WAR on Canada! Well it's not a real country anyway! (the film will confirm) Terrance and Phillip are soon arrested after being tricked by Conan O'Brien when they appear on his show to promote and defend their film. The story then shifts to HELL, where Satan and Saddam Hussain plot to use Terrance and Phillip's plight, to take over the world. (Saddam was killed by a pack of Wild-Boars) The story concludes brilliantly via a purely selfish sacrifice.
Look out for 'The Mole' a French freedom-fighter who hates being grounded; Cartman's updated big-band remix of "Kyle's Mom's a bitch!" in D-minor; Saddam's endless lust for Satan and Big Gay Al's 'super' return.
This Cartoon Musical will be tough to beat. The songs are outstanding! Stephen Sondheim has been quoted as declaring it the best musical in years! Buy-it folks M'kay!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What would Brian Boitano do? He'd buy this, that's what!, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a South Park fanatic, I've been eargerly awaiting the UK release of this great film, however this looks unlikely for the time being. I'm reviewing the Blu-ray other than the film itself.

I'll start off by adding, this release is region free and can be played on Region B Blu-ray players.

Subtitles include: English, French and Spanish.

Ultimately, it is presented in English 5.1 Dolby TrueHD

Some people elsewhere on forums have speculated whether or not the release comes with a slip-case, mine however did not, but it's subjective as to which seller you purchase this from I gather.

At first I was slightly skeptical on how South Park would fare on Blu-ray. However, the picture and sound quality is most certainly a grand improvement from the DVD, and is well worth the investment (under 10) and has very few albeit brilliant special features. These being, several trailers (TV spots, teasers etc), the "What would Brian Boitano do?" music video and an audio commentary with Matt and Trey themselves (which was recorded in 2009, specifically for this release I imagine) spanning the whole length of the film (as opposed to the five-minute commentaries on the season releases). The audio commentary, whilst fascinating and enlightening is slightly disappointing as the duo behind the brilliance seem to have forgotten working on the film and often bring crew members in to help refresh their memory, plus another gripe being Matt Stone having the incentive to constantly add "like" to after every other word that interjects from his mouth.

On a final note, I'm going to warn buyers about purchasing the 2013 re-release of this product (most efficently, if you're planning on paying more for it), as to my disbelief I recieved the 2009 release as opposed to so the latest re-release.

In essense it's a very worthy release and is a must for any South Park fans out there. Please note, don't expect groundbreaking special effects and all that jazz. It's delightfully ruthlessly in-your-face crude, juvenile, political, outlandish and sheerly obscene. It's South Park in High-Definition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satire at its finest, 3 Feb 2003
This review is from: South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
For each television series of South Park that passes year after year, it would seem to be getting more and more surreal, downright bizarre and occasionally so puerile you would imagine that the creators Matt Stone and Trey Parker could sink no lower. Somehow, they do. However the sentiments of this 1999 film is not only as different as it's possible to get from its TV equivalent, it also displays all the traits of an all-time classic musical. The songs performed are nothing short of wonderful and would delight lovers – and haters - of musicals alike.
Let's be totally honest: it is also one of the rudest films of all time, introducing the world to a whole new lexicon of swearing, insults and crude, colourful language. It is, naturally, very, very funny.
But it is not just the swearing and trademark makeshift animation that escalates this film to cult status. The plot is nothing short of magnificent (and, writing in 2003, eerily prophetic). Without giving too much away, the four lads in the film (Cartman, Kenny, Kyle and Stan) sneak into a cinema to watch a smutty film starring two Canadian comedians, Terrance and Philip. The effect it has on their behaviour sends their parents up in arms, and a full-scale war with Canada develops. Satan and a dead Saddam Hussein feature, the latter having been killed by a pack of wild boars.
Not only was 'South Park' as controversial as it got a few years back, the furore surrounding this film at the time perfectly mirrored its plot within. Such is the cunning and near-genius of Parker and Stone. But it is not just a juvenile cuss-fest - its anti-war, anti-censorship, pro-family message, as well as its shrewd political commentary about race relations and the American military, makes it absolutely exemplary. It is a liberal's dream, a bigot's worst nightmare and, although it may not be one of modern cinema's crowning achievements, it sure feels like it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To all those who dislike it..., 2 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I read someone's comment towards this movie after they rated it with just 1 star (this person was anonymous). It is perfectly fine to rate with as many stars as you wish, as that is what this service is for. But you cannot be hypocritical in saying you used to like South Park before this movie! I'm sorry but i do not think it is possible to like south park and then hate it after seeing the movie. The movie is as south park as the episodes but better, with a storyline that all south-park lovers have enjoyed - so, either you've clearly never liked south park. or you're saddam hussein relative!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars South Park Bigger Longer and Uncut, 1 Aug 2004
By 
Sam Herrett (United Kingdom,England) - See all my reviews
This is the best comedy in the world,South Park is the best animation and it features 4 mixed up kids Stan,kyle,Cartman and Kenny.
The dvd has bonus features such as Music video "Brian Boitano" and lots of trailers.
South Park rules but the movie is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest film of all time, 13 Feb 2006
This review is from: South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
You're probably looking at the title of my review and gasping with disbelief - "surely not THE greatest?".
However I'm totally serious; this is the most brilliant movie I have ever seen. The story is truly hilarious, the in-your-face blasphemy is perfectly executed and it is pure genius how the crazy songs fit with the crude animation. The satirical jokes, sight gags and political messages go together hand in hand to create real perfection.
You will never, ever see a movie made like this again. Not only because it would probably be banned before it came out, but because it is just plain impossible to rival it.
I could watch it again and again without getting tired of it. I love this film, and would recommend it to ANYONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, hasn't aged a bit., 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
It's been twelve years since this movie came out and before rewatching it recently I didn't expect it to be quite as good as I remembered. I was wrong. "South Park: Bigger Longer & Uncut" is as good today as when it was first released. The satire is spot-on and the songs are both hilarious and well composed ("Blame Canada" was nominated for an Oscar).

This movie is South Park at its very best -- perhaps even perfection. It's one of the funniest movies ever made. If you haven't seen this movie yet - don't wait any longer. If you've already seen it, watch it again! I've already watched it once more since rediscovering it a few weeks ago. It's a movie you can watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should watch this..., 3 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
SPTM is art in its purest form: shocking, bourgeois-sensibility-shattering, satirical and deeply subversive.

Watching the film is pure, joyous catharsis: one is allowed to laugh at jokes deemed far too 'insensitive' or 'racist' or 'politically incorrect' by the Socialist fascists (no - not an oxymoron) in Washington and London.

Just - watch the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars south park bigger' longer' fantastic' and uncut, 29 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
The best cartoon ever made.I have to say this is a classic movie,i've seen lots of funny movies but this is one of the funniest dvds that stands on my shelf rude,crude but great.I cant say there is anything in this movie i don't like lots of bad language yes but it is a funny film. .My friend loves this movie and my other friend said its the best so if someone tells you about this movie watch it.One of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut [DVD] [1999]
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews